We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A terrific hotel with great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of David Citadel Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A terrific hotel with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

My wife and I are staying at the David Citadel Hotel in. Jerusalem for the fourth time. The Hotel keeps getting better. The staff is there to cater to your every need. We want to thank Munir, a hotel manager for his professionalism . We also appreciate our waiter Said and a restaurant manager, Ahmed, who greeted us with hugs upon our return, remembered our likes and provide us with the best, friendliest service possible. The hotel is also undergoing an updating of their rooms which will make a great hotel even better. It must be noted that the property has the best location in all of Jerusalem.

Room Tip: This time we chose size over view as we have been to property before. With that said, there is nothi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you so much for posting this kind review.
We are proud to provide the high level of service to our guests, and are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will forward your kind comments to Said and Ahmed at breakfast.
We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,310
    307
    119
    64
    42
See reviews for
653
383
70
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I have stayed at the David Citadel from Thursday August 21 to Saturday August 23rd. 2014, with my family.
The hotel has a beautiful location overlooking the old city.
The rooms are specious. The cleanliness without a fault, the service superb.
We really enjoyed every moment and recommend the hotel full heartedly.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you for your heartwarming review, your comments are greatly appreciated, and will be forwarded to our entire team with great pride.
We hope to welcome you back for many future enjoyable experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel with my friends recently, I recommend this hotel to you all because we really loved it & enjoyed our time there. The service there is excellent also, especially the breakfast from said ( the waiter) he was vey nice & friendly,, so the biggest thanks goes to him.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nur a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
On behalf of the entire staff, I wish to thank you so much for these warm words.
I will defenetly pass your kind comments to our team members- especially to Said at breakfast.I am so happy you enjoyed your stay,and hope to host you and you clients again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

i stayed at the hotel it was the nicest experience i ever had in a Jerusalem. The Executive lounge manager Revital Carmeli was extremely nice and helpful, very well presented and great for the first impression. The lounge is amazing, much nicer then the old one. It is Elegant large spacey, unbelievable.

Room Tip: alcove deluxe to the old city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coach98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you for such a rewarding review. We do try to exceed expectations and provide the very best service, so it’s really good to hear we’ve succeeded.
I will forward your comments to Revital at The Executive Lounge with great pride.
We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

it was my first visit in israel, but for sure not the last one.
hotel is located in the best way possible. minutes away from city center, old city and the beautiful mamilla mall.
amazing view of the old city from the large rooms. however, balcony was rather small.

service in the hotel is the best i've had in years. all staff members are always with a smile and willing to assist.

sadly, concierge team try very hard to promote businesses and srevicemen who are not the best.
i don't know if they get any benefit from it. the guy at the desk made reservations for us at the SEA DOLFIN restaurant which wasn't so good. also, my wife wanted to cook an appointment to get her haid done at the hotel's hair salon but he convinced her to go to a place outside from the hotel, where she was overcharged!
same happend when we wanted to call a taxi, but the doorman offered us to wait a few minuted for him to get a friend of him to pick us up and he totally over-priced us.
the only exepation is Nicole- a true proffesional!

other then that- receptionist are nice and welcoming, same goes for front desk manager Munir- super nice guy!
same goes for Yardena, hotel's manager. she did all she can for us to feel welcomed.

we came to israel in a difficult time, and even had the siren go on while we were in jerusalem.
security staff made uf feel very safe and secured, even just by seeing them walking around the hotel and guarding the entrance.
my wife spoke with two young gentelmen from security staff- Shahar and Ran who ensured her there is nothing to be worried about- and they were right! we had a great time inspite of the war in Gaza.
also, we were told by Yardena that in addition to the regular staff there are two more security guards sleeping in the hotel every night incase backup is required.

thanks to the great location and staff, we will be back to israel and to this hotel without hesitating.

Room Tip: old city view, top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review.
Thank you for the great comments.
I regret your stay with us was anything less than perfect , and happy you enjoyed some of what we have to offer.
As we learn from all comments, I can assure you we will check your comments thoroughly.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a better experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two days at this hotel (on weekend), and we hoped to enjoy our stay since the price is VERY high, but we were all disappointed.

- We asked to turn off fridge system on Shabbat, because we wanted to use it since we're religious but not to be charged, at reception they say "it's ok, already deactivated" . During checkout, they argued with us for 1 hour that we must pay all drinks we supposedly have taken. After calling the manager everything was solutioned (besides the headache they gave us).

- Staff NOT FRIENDLY at all.

- We were charged $50 each for a 'business lounge' (we wanted to), and we've got old and hard bread with a bit of cheese, another waste of money.

In a few words.. We've been in better hotels and much cheaper ones. You really only pay for the location (20 min walk to the Western Wall), NOTHING ELSE, for $2400 you can go to a real 5-star hotel and enjoy.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo1838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I loved my staying at this hotel. Most notably, the excellent service I got from Said, the waiter. Especially, when he served me breakfast with a big smile that I am sure came from his heart. This, and the location of the hotel combined to create a great eating experience for me which guarantied my return to the hotel next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
On behalf of the entire staff, I wish to thank you so much for these warm words.
I will defenetly pass your kind comments to our team members- especially to Said at breakfast.
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay,and hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#11 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Property: David Citadel Hotel
Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#11 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, SG Tradimax LTD, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing