We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solidarity Mission”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
David Citadel Hotel
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Solidarity Mission”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed here for three nights as part of a Solidarity Mission. I tend to choose less expensive hotels than this, but since it was where our group was based it was convenient.

We didn't really spend all that much time in the hotel since we left right after breakfast every day and got back for a fairly late dinner. The room was comfortable and clean, the bathroom luxurious with both a shower and a tub. The climate control and TV worked fine though it would have been nice to have CNN and not just Fox News.

The dinners we were served were excellent. Breakfast was a little disappointing -- I am used to Israeli hotels having a bigger spread, and waiters for coffee were sometimes hard to flag down.

The last night of the mission I decided to skip the dinner off premises and order room service. Although they have both a meat and dairy room service menu, when I called I was told that they were only serving dairy. I must admit that the pizza was good, however. The printed prices are shockingly high but if you charge it to your hotel bill the VAT comes off so that knocks it down by 18%.

Location is withing a reasonable walk to both Jaffa Gate and the Ben Yehuda pedestrian mall so it's very convenient.

I don't think I would stay here again if travelling independently but for a group it's a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
My sincere thanks for such very lovely compliments.

We appreciate your loyalty as being part of the solidarity mission, and hope to have the chance to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,385
    320
    124
    66
    43
See reviews for
702
402
72
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

This is a comfortable, centrally located hotel with views of the old city.
We spent a few days in David Citadel. We quickly discovered the Mamila mall across the street. You walked through or shopped or ate in the mall on your way to the old city. The staff at the hotel were attentive and helpful. The rooms were nicely appointed and clean. The lounge area with a view of the old city was a great place to relax your feet. I will definitely consider it on our next trip to jarusalem.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beale_St_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Many thanks for such high compliments, and for taking the time to write it.
I will forward your remarks to the entire staff with great pride.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My wife and I are staying at the David Citadel Hotel in. Jerusalem for the fourth time. The Hotel keeps getting better. The staff is there to cater to your every need. We want to thank Munir, a hotel manager for his professionalism . We also appreciate our waiter Said and a restaurant manager, Ahmed, who greeted us with hugs upon our return, remembered our likes and provide us with the best, friendliest service possible. The hotel is also undergoing an updating of their rooms which will make a great hotel even better. It must be noted that the property has the best location in all of Jerusalem.

Room Tip: This time we chose size over view as we have been to property before. With that said, there is nothi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you so much for posting this kind review.
We are proud to provide the high level of service to our guests, and are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will forward your kind comments to Said and Ahmed at breakfast.
We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I have stayed at the David Citadel from Thursday August 21 to Saturday August 23rd. 2014, with my family.
The hotel has a beautiful location overlooking the old city.
The rooms are specious. The cleanliness without a fault, the service superb.
We really enjoyed every moment and recommend the hotel full heartedly.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you for your heartwarming review, your comments are greatly appreciated, and will be forwarded to our entire team with great pride.
We hope to welcome you back for many future enjoyable experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel with my friends recently, I recommend this hotel to you all because we really loved it & enjoyed our time there. The service there is excellent also, especially the breakfast from said ( the waiter) he was vey nice & friendly,, so the biggest thanks goes to him.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nur a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
On behalf of the entire staff, I wish to thank you so much for these warm words.
I will defenetly pass your kind comments to our team members- especially to Said at breakfast.I am so happy you enjoyed your stay,and hope to host you and you clients again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

i stayed at the hotel it was the nicest experience i ever had in a Jerusalem. The Executive lounge manager Revital Carmeli was extremely nice and helpful, very well presented and great for the first impression. The lounge is amazing, much nicer then the old one. It is Elegant large spacey, unbelievable.

Room Tip: alcove deluxe to the old city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coach98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you for such a rewarding review. We do try to exceed expectations and provide the very best service, so it’s really good to hear we’ve succeeded.
I will forward your comments to Revital at The Executive Lounge with great pride.
We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

it was my first visit in israel, but for sure not the last one.
hotel is located in the best way possible. minutes away from city center, old city and the beautiful mamilla mall.
amazing view of the old city from the large rooms. however, balcony was rather small.

service in the hotel is the best i've had in years. all staff members are always with a smile and willing to assist.

sadly, concierge team try very hard to promote businesses and srevicemen who are not the best.
i don't know if they get any benefit from it. the guy at the desk made reservations for us at the SEA DOLFIN restaurant which wasn't so good. also, my wife wanted to cook an appointment to get her haid done at the hotel's hair salon but he convinced her to go to a place outside from the hotel, where she was overcharged!
same happend when we wanted to call a taxi, but the doorman offered us to wait a few minuted for him to get a friend of him to pick us up and he totally over-priced us.
the only exepation is Nicole- a true proffesional!

other then that- receptionist are nice and welcoming, same goes for front desk manager Munir- super nice guy!
same goes for Yardena, hotel's manager. she did all she can for us to feel welcomed.

we came to israel in a difficult time, and even had the siren go on while we were in jerusalem.
security staff made uf feel very safe and secured, even just by seeing them walking around the hotel and guarding the entrance.
my wife spoke with two young gentelmen from security staff- Shahar and Ran who ensured her there is nothing to be worried about- and they were right! we had a great time inspite of the war in Gaza.
also, we were told by Yardena that in addition to the regular staff there are two more security guards sleeping in the hotel every night incase backup is required.

thanks to the great location and staff, we will be back to israel and to this hotel without hesitating.

Room Tip: old city view, top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofra A, Hotel Management at David Citadel Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review.
Thank you for the great comments.
I regret your stay with us was anything less than perfect , and happy you enjoyed some of what we have to offer.
As we learn from all comments, I can assure you we will check your comments thoroughly.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a better experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,441 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#10 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#3 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,742 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
988 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Citadel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Citadel Hotel

Property: David Citadel Hotel
Address: 7 David ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9410119, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — David Citadel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Citadel Hotel, with a majestic view of the Old City, is within walking distance from the city center and is situated directly across from the Alrov Mamilla Avenue and other major attractions. The hotel boasts 384 impeccably designed suites and guestrooms, fine cuisine, a luxury gym and a holistic innovative spa, year-round heated pool, and private Executive Lounge. The hotel's exquisite modular banquet halls and reception rooms host a variety of social and business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your David Citadel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Citadel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing