We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An OK hotel in a great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of King Solomon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King Solomon Hotel
Ranked #58 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Willow Street, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An OK hotel in a great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The King Solomon hotel is located in a great location. The rooms are large and comfortable. Front office staff was on the whole welcoming and accommodating. The lobby is undergoing renovations with a new marble floor being installed. The breakfast was the typical large Israeli buffet (in past visits there was an omelet station, but this visit it was missing). Room cleanliness was OK but not great. This is one of the better hotels in its price range and location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan17584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    94
    78
    28
    17
See reviews for
54
57
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Like other reviewers I would say this hotel is dated yet clean and the largest room we had at any of the hotels during our trip.

We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly and prepared to get what ever we needed. The staff in the restaurant were helpful but we thought that the breakfast was not as high a standard as it could have been. It all looked a little bit old.

However we were out from morning until night as Jerusalem is beautiful and the hotel is perfectly located for a gentle walk to the old city or the main shopping districts.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the old city - otherwise you get the building opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aunty-MacMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Would review it a 3.5 if I could. Dated hotel but clean enough. Internet works most of the time. Front desk & doorman were okay - not particularly friendly. Breakfast staff was very accommodating & good choices plentiful. Spacious rooms & nice Old City View. Stay for the location & reasonable price. A/C fixed after our request.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it is a great location and a reasonable price. We were not disappointed. The room was just fine with plenty of space and breakfast was quite good. There is so much within walking distance and we were very happy with our choice

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This certainly is a dated hotel like everyone says. But I felt it was clean and well located. The walk to the Old City is not too far. Kosher hotel. Very good breakfast that they really work at keeping stocked. I stayed at the higher rated Eldan last year, and I liked the King Solomon better. Yes, the Eldan is two blocks closer to the Western Wall Plaza, but I was very unimpressed with their service and breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auroracham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed at the King Solomon for 6 nights. It's in a good location if you're spending time in the old city (20 minute walk), and on a main road if you want public transport or cab.

Breakfast buffet was excellent, great variety.

Front desk staff was generally responsive, but if you're not insistent you will wait longer than you should.

Room was average, clean and comfortable, nothing spectacular about them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road, can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seamus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

The location is great, it was easy walk to the old city which is where we spent most of our time. The hotel itself was a let down. Everything is outdated by about 40 years, I felt like I was walking into the 70s! Harvest gold sinks, toilets, and showers and strange dark faux marble panelling greet you in the bathroom. The single fluorescent light in there does nothing to illuminate the horror show shower. The building may be the ugliest in Jerusalem and its strange architecture catches the wind so that you hear a screaming noise when there's more than a breeze. The carpets are worn and the decor is lacking. The pool is nice but small and the poolside atmosphere is anything but relaxing. I would definitely look elsewhere when looking for a four star experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Eldan Hotel
#22 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#20 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Prima Royale
#23 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nachla'ot
Prima Kings Hotel
Prima Kings Hotel
#25 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Solomon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Solomon Hotel

Property: King Solomon Hotel
Address: 32 King David St, Jerusalem 94101, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — King Solomon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Solomon is your hotel in Jerusalem. In a tranquil neighborhood, surrounded by gardens, located on King David Street, the most prestigious street in the country, you’re moments away from both the most luxurious shopping of Mamilla mall and the magical old city. Located on the city’s most prestigious street, the hotel is surrounded by tranquility. Across the street is the Montefiore windmill and its picturesque, romantic park. Another charming garden sits directly in front of the breakfast veranda and down the block is Liberty Bell Park-ideal for a picnic and a playground for your kids. In the other direction lies the open air promenade of Mamilla lined with upscale shopping and cafes. Once done, come marvel at our lobby boasting the famous Frank Meisler sculpture Jerusalem Fountain and our tall ceilings and art laden columns and grab a drink at our lobby lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your King Solomon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Solomon Jerusalem
Hotel King Solomon
King Solomon Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing