We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount of Olives Hotel
Ranked #73 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An interesting experience.”
Reviewed 26 December 2012

The Mt. of Olives hotel is a complex experience. Situated atop its namesake, the hotel is close to any number of the major attractions visitors to Jerusalem will want to see. The prices are reasonable, and the staff is great; with area knowledge, help arranging taxis, and a good grasp of English, as well as a few other languages, they are very helpful.

But if you were lookng for a more traditionally 'western' hotel experience, prepare to be slightly disappointed. Hommous and grilled eggplant and onion replace the more common (albeit rather boring) sliced ham and yogurt with musli. Smoking is par for the course. The arabic women WILL push you out of the way for coffee. And the mosque is very close, so better be to bed early.

Transportation wise, it's easy to walk into town and you'll be glad you did, because there is a lot to see up there. But forget about walking back. After a long day in the souks of the old town, the last thing you're going to want to do is to climb that hill. Take a taxi for 30 NIS or better yet, take the Arab bus 75 from the station outside Damascus gate. 5 sheckles and you're good, service stops at 9 or 10.

I'm giving this place a 3, but it's a just barely, and if it weren't for the service it would be a solid 2. If you are picky, I just wouldn't reccomend it; shell out the extra sheckles for better digs. But for a price-worthy accomodation within a stone's throw of the Old Town, Mount of Olives Hotel gets my vote.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chappychoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    27
    31
    18
    8
See reviews for
10
40
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
814 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This hotel is situated up on the Mount of Olives in Arab East Jerusalem. Whilst not centrally located near the old town, every morning we got the #75 bus that dropped us outside Damascus gate within 10 - 15 mins for 5 NIS. Taxis at night back to the hotel cost us between 35 - 45 NIS from the centre. Too far to walk especially at night.
The hotel was rather tired but we paid a very good price for Jerusalem at about £43 GBP per night for 5 nights. The room had an ensuite old bathroom but no TV.
Friendly hotel with a large buffet breakfast on offer every morning. Additionally free WI - FI.

We were surprised to find that the hotel was right next to one of Jerusalem's attractions - Mosque of Ascension which is on the site of Jesus' s ascension and contains his alleged footprint!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chepaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This is a little known gem! I am a white American who felt completely welcome and safe at all times. PLUS the views from some hotel windows and even the sidewalk in front of hotel is spectacular. You can see east wall of Temple Mount area and 50% of golden dome (because new apartmnents close-by block the view. But you can go across the street to Mustafa's roof top restaurant and see everything while enjoying a soft drink. Church of Ascension Shrine is next door and Pater Noster is 1/2 block away.

Amenities include: hot daily breakfast, free computer room, free wi-fi (used by my smartphone to save data), English speaking front desk staff 24/7, day tours can be arranged, which I did, taxi's everywhere or take the 65 or 75 city bus to Damascus gate terminal (near Garden Tomb also) and rub elbows with the locals. I walked down the steep hill on various paths to Mt of Olives shrines and the Temple Mount itself and took a bus or taxi back up! I was there 9 nights alone and felt safe all times. Oh yes, free use of safe in room for valuables!

Room Tip: I think they are all the same....2 twin type beds. But if you don't like room for siome reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed for two nights. The reasons for choosing Mount of Olives hotel were the location and the price. The location is great with a superb view of the Old City. The staff is really professional, polite and helpful. Not even a tiny mistake from their side. The breakfast was interesting with local dishes. We had tea and coffee free all day which was nice and free Wi-Fi (which some of the big posh hotels charge ridiculous amounts for).

On the downside, the rooms were really basic (not even a TV) with old shabby furniture. There were ants, cockroaches on the floor and hair in the blankets. the bathroom was close to falling apart.

All in all, if you only need a place to sleep over and want to spend all of your day sightseeing, this place can be OK. If they only refurbished, they would get a great rating from me...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikolaRasic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Great value for money in a very nice location, but difficult to find. The local area is a bit loud and chaotic, but people are very helpful. Staff is very friendly and the rooms are comfortable. For those of you who worry - no, it is not dangerous here.

If you like a beer or hard drink, bring your own as it is difficult to find in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koalyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Friendly and helpful staff. The location is simply the best in Jerusalem... Fantastic view of hte city and unique atmosphere. The rooms are clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel is located quite nicely on top of the Mount of Olives, and the breakfast was nice and large and very good value for money. However, when we arrived, our reservation had not been registered, although we had exchanged several emails and a confirmation from the owner. He had forgotten to pass it on to the reception apparently. We were lucky and the nice guy at the reception gave us the last room. The room was ok, but very shabby (like the whole place), the beds highly uncomfortable and carpet very old and used. It was ok but no comfort.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagro77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#76 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Palatin Hotel
#56 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#54 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#29 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Christian Quarter
Addar Hotel
Addar Hotel
#84 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount of Olives Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount of Olives Hotel

Property: Mount of Olives Hotel
Address: 53 Mount of Olives Rd, Jerusalem 91190 , Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mount of Olives Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount of Olives Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Of Olives Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing