We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff who wishes they could renovate.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mount of Olives Hotel
Ranked #76 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Excellent staff who are super friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately, this East Jerusalem hotel has a very difficult time getting building/renovation permits because of the political situation. So many rooms have older facilities that aren't as nice.

In the morning, there's a very tasty and beautiful breakfast spread. And you can also ask the kitchen to prepare dinners.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Mount of Olives Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

As a group we wanted to stay at the Mountain of Olives for reasonable price. For this reason it's a good hotel. The breakfast was very goed. Fresh en goed quality food. The service was very good, people were attend. For 40 shekels you can have a taxi down to Old City. It's about 8 euro. For 5 shekels - a bus, that brings you to Damascus gate. If you look for a not expensive hotel at The Mountain of Olives its a good option.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Swetlana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is a very affordable stay in a clean hotel with really nice staff. I stayed during Ramadan though and it was super noisy all night plus they were fully booked so my room was on the lower floor with no view and right next to the noise. I donʻt know if it is typically so loud, but their is 24 hour meal joint right next door and cars have to beep to alert other cars they are coming up the narrow Mount of Olives road so that is what you are hearing all night long. On the other hand, getting up and walking down the Mount of Olives from this hotel was one of the most enjoyable moments of my trip so I guess it was still worth it.

Room Tip: I dont know which one, but I know there must be so rooms with killer views because you can see it fr...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I traveled with a group of 40 people. The location is good---10 minutes walk to the Old City.
The hotel is pretty basic, but clean. The food is great--homemade, fresh and simple. People are friendly. One thing made me wonder-- they only serve coffee from the machine, and its disgusting. But there is a coffee shop just across the street, and very friendly Mustafa makes great coffee and serves fresh orange juice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the western side are quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elinabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I booked 4 nights at this hotel and guess my expectations were too high.
I thought that the location was good, which i do not deny it is, but getting to the Old City is a 15 minute walk down a VERY dteep hill, or 40 NIS in a taxi (which adds up after a while) - or there is the bus, but the services I was told are limited and cease around 10pm.
The room was adequate but the neighbourhood was very noisy at night with dogs barking, fire crakers being set off for 30 minutes at a time. Needless to say, if you are looking to sleep - forget it!
There is one restaurant opposite the hotel - and one place that serves shawarma - but that is it.

The breakfast was extensive & the staff were helpful.
I did change my hotel half way through my stay as sleepless nights whist travelling is not good.
If you want a cheap hotel, close to the sights, consider this hotel - but be warned of a sleepless night ahead.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LondonTravelbug1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for three nights while exploring Jerusalem by day tours and on foot. Our double room was perfect, clean and spacious enough for two. I liked the extra counter space in the bathroom, lcd tv and desk. Breakfast was amazing with so much to choose from.

Since we were out all day touring, we chose to have dinner in the hotel each night and the chef prepared our meal just for us complete with soup, salads, bread, main course and dessert for 50 Nis ($13) great food!

They have laundry service that we used our last day there. The location is perfect and the people are friendly. I would definitely stay there again. You can't beat the price and the service for any budget!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andrea d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This was a basic hotel but the service and the location made my stay. The front desk people were helpful and the breakfast was awesome and the price was excellent. I could see old Jerusalem from the room and it is within walking distance to Lions Gate and Via Dolorosa and Western Wall. Across the street is a nice rooftop cafe with a view of Old Jerusalem also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. You might have to have two twin beds but it is worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenv1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#80 of 101 in Jerusalem
164 reviews
Christian Quarter
Addar Hotel
Addar Hotel
#89 of 101 in Jerusalem
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Commodore Hotel Jerusalem
#56 of 101 in Jerusalem
167 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#59 of 101 in Jerusalem
126 reviews
Zion Hotel
#79 of 101 in Jerusalem
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount of Olives Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount of Olives Hotel

Address: 53 Mount of Olives Rd, Jerusalem 91190, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: £44 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mount of Olives Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mount of Olives Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Of Olives Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing