We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality, fairly clean rooms, but unsafe area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mount of Olives Hotel
Ranked #77 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Maroochydore, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hospitality, fairly clean rooms, but unsafe area”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our first impression of the hotel was favourable - the guys working at this hotel were so friendly and helpful!

The hotel itself was quite old and smelled faintly of smoke. Our room was old, but fairly well kept and clean. For the price, it seemed like a great value.

The free wireless internet advertised was not working and there were no public computers to use. This was disappointing as we were counting on this to make last minute plans. We made do with the maps provided at the front desk and set out to explore the Old City. It took about 40 minutes to walk there from the hotel, mostly down a steep hill. The walk was brutal, but we were happy to save the 40 shekels the taxi driver offered.

We left the Old City late and arrived at the top of that steep hill after sun down. Imagine our horror when a couple of young men were waiting for us at the top and started coming towards us with the intention of attacking us. It put us in a very bad position as the path we walked was walled and there was nowhere to go. At that moment, an SUV came up the hill and the driver and his family sat there to make sure we were safe when we explained that the men were trying to hurt us. The guys just stood there! We got up the stairs to the deserted road and began to run. Thankfully we are both good runners or else I don't know how the night would have ended. We felt a bit safer when we saw two men walking towards us. Turns out they were with the guys chasing us.

We somehow made it back to the hotel. Really put a damper on the trip and made us realize just how vulnerable we were in the area.

The other downsides were the prayers being broadcasted at night. The rooms have very thin walls so you will wake up. The locals stay up very late and make a lot of noise. Horns honking, etc. They were all men out, so we felt confined to our room after dark.

While we met many lovely people in the area, there was a lot of hostility directed towards us which was very disappointing. I honestly expected more from the community. We had to cancel our second reservation there and go to a safer hotel in the Jewish section. I would have loved for this hotel to be as good as many of the reviews suggested, but I cannot recommend it sadly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank X1011XVsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    29
    31
    18
    8
See reviews for
10
41
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here with a friend from 2nd March 2014 for a week. The hotel was very helpful and picked us up from the airport using the local taxi service from At-tur (note that Israeli taxis will not drive to this hotel).

The checkin process was straight forward and the guy behind the reception was very helpful. Breakfast was extra but the food / cooking was very high quality (buffet style breakfast) with lots to choose from. Exactly what you need if you plan on taking a long day's stroll around Jerusalem (as eating out every day can become very expensive).

The local area seems intimidating at first but it's really a fantastic community. Everybody is very helpful. There's a shop directly across the road which is open 24/7 (I think!). There's also a fantastic small restaurant in the alley way just adjacent to the hotel - very good hospitality.

You can hear the adhan (call to prayer) in the middle of the night etc, but come on guys - you're in Jerusalem - make the most of it... this is what travelling is all about.

As for religious sites, the hotel is literally a one minute walk from the chapel of ascension and Pater Noster church. On the Mount of Olives, you'll have probably the best view of Jerusalem anywhere in the world. Facing the other direction from certain points in At-tur, you can see the Palestinian desert.

The room was fully functional, hot shower, cleaned daily with all basic commodities. Considering you will be out of the hotel most of the day, this is completely fit-for-purpose and reflects the money you pay (Israel is not a cheap country - and pricing is very 'fluid'!)

Travel tip: if you come out of the hotel and turn right, then walk around 150 yards (to a bus stop), take the shared taxi into Jerusalem - it works out much cheaper, and use the money you save to get a taxi back. You shouldn't pay more than 45 shekels for a taxi back to the hotel from Damascus gate.

I would highly recommend Mt of Olives hotel to anybody and if I am lucky enough to visit the Holy Land again, I'll definitely be staying there.

Room Tip: Call in advance so they know you're coming - I have a feeling they gave us a good room doing thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This was the most expensive and by far the worst accommodation we had in Israel. The room was freezing and the heater was broken. There is no wifi in the rooms. We were told that breakfast was not included. All this for 60€ a night? On top of that the room looked out onto the street and this of course meant no sleep since honking horns seems to be a fun way to pass the time driving at night. The traffic jam outside our window at 6am was the last straw for us, we literally packed up and ran away from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
471 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Easy hotel to find but got to pay a taxi to get up the hill to avoid a long slog. Taxi is £5 a pop. The staff here are friendly enough without exactly laying out a red carpet. For Israel it is quite cheap but compared to other parts of the world what you gt for your money is pretty poor o be honest. If you're lucky to have a view over the old city I'm sure its great but I had a view onto a terrible looking concrete building. I'm amazed that no one else seems to mention the fact the hotel is situated about 20 meters from a mosque with its call to prayers. This happens almost every morning at about 4.45am and again at 5.30am. My room was about 10 meters from the loudspeaker and trust me, even with earplugs you will be awoken. The surrounding neighborhood is within the Arab district and can be slightly intimidating at night when youths are running around, diving into pickup cars and zooming off as (probably celebratory) gunshots go off(this happened two nights running and if you're from a Western background it can be quite intimidating (so get a cab rather than walk late at night). The rooms are very basic with next to no amenities, soap and a towel is what you can expect. The hotel is slightly stale, not very clean and worst of all has paper thin walls so you can hear your neighbors talking with ease. The bathroom and bedroom are tiny. Breakfast is in the local style which is great if you're used to it but the tastes are a bit much for a Western palate first thing in the morning with strong garlic in some of the salads. Breakfast is relatively cheap though and you can stock up on a hearty meal before heading out for the day. You may prefer to get something in town though. The rating is simply because the hotel was in a poor condition and very poor value for money compared to what you'd expect anywhere else, however if you come with very low expectations then it may suffice as a 'budget' offer. I wasn't impressed though.

Room Tip: Ask to be put well away from the mosque loudspeaker or you can kiss goodbye to good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crazy_Jim_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Friendly, well-informed staff greeted me as soon as I arrived in this easy-to-find hotel. Of course, the downside is the location: right at the top of a long schlep up the Mount! However, it was easy to get a bus or taxi and the view is absolutely breathtaking. Surely the best of any accommodation in Jerusalem. Basic breakfast was filling and served at a handy time. My room was clean and recently renovated - the best state of any I stayed in during my trip. Recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view over Jerusalem. Absolutely stunning. Incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

If your looking for a budget hotel this is a really good option. Very clean, no frills accommodation. Helpful friendly staff,good choice of breakfast and you can order and pay for additional meals The bedroom was a decent size and it has the use of a safe which is free of charge. It is situated on the hill overlooking Jerusalem We had a front bedroom which gave us terrific views but you do get a bit of road noise. Didn't stop us sleeping though after a daily trudge round the city. The walk down to the city is lovely but I think most people would bus back as we did. The bus stop is only yards away and as you go from one terminus to the other one at Damascus gate you can't go wrong The buses are very frequent but do stop by 10 o'clock at night. Apart from the Church of Ascension there is nothing in the immediate area except one or two restaurants You need to go down the hill. If you just want somewhere to rest your head at the end of the day you can't go wrong with this hotel

Room Tip: The front bedrooms have an amazing view of Jerusalem old city. There is a main road outside but it g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naomih885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We are from Finland. The cold wasn't problem for us. View from hotel was amazing! Breakfast very good and a lot of choices.
We will stay there again, when we will go to Jerusalem.
And thanks a lot to hotel administration and staff for nice staying in Jerusalem!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ONAtalia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#79 of 101 in Jerusalem
163 reviews
Christian Quarter
Addar Hotel
Addar Hotel
#87 of 101 in Jerusalem
275 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#57 of 101 in Jerusalem
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zion Hotel
#75 of 101 in Jerusalem
146 reviews
Commodore Hotel Jerusalem
#54 of 101 in Jerusalem
166 reviews
The 7 Arches Hotel
#70 of 101 in Jerusalem
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount of Olives Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount of Olives Hotel

Property: Mount of Olives Hotel
Address: 53 Mount of Olives Rd, Jerusalem 91190, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mount of Olives Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mount of Olives Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Of Olives Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing