We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
Ranked #24 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“bad hotel”
Reviewed 23 April 2011

stayed for one night (which is enough)
i got a room which the view from the window was the inside corridor of the hotel
you can not leave the drapes open because the room is in the corner of the floor and facing the inside corridor
so when you stay in the room you don't get to see the sunlight and you you leave the drapes close
when eating breakest ' there are a lot of groups so that you feel like eating in a market
the service in the lobby i could only describe as chaos.
the hotel is situated far from the center of jerusalem' so at night its diffuclt even for an israelian to leave and get back to the hotel
i' for one will never return to this hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeevIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Manager at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Dear Dan Jerusalem Guest,
I would like to thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write a review.
Please be assured that we have acknowledged your comments and they are being thoroughly examined. In response to your comments, please allow me to explain that there are 505 luxuriously appointed guest rooms in the hotel, including 62 suites and 45 executive rooms. Some rooms have spectacular and unique panoramic views of the Old City, and some enjoy views of the hotel's lavish grounds.
Being the newest member of the Dan hotel chain, the utmost is being done to upgrade the hotels services to a level that one expects from a Dan Hotel. This includes the level of the rooms, facilities and courtesy from our entire staff.
With hope to transform your impression of the hotel I look forward to the opportunity of hosting you at the Dan Jerusalem in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    341
    156
    68
    49
See reviews for
312
258
49
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
veraz
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

I stayed at Dan Hotel while travelling on business to Jerusalem. Overall it was a very pleasant experience. The rooms were clean and fairly updated. Nice pool area. If you are not going out to dinner, the lounge/bar area has a fairly good selection of food. Breakfast was outstanding! One of the biggest selections I have ever seen! I was also really impressed with the gym - it had pretty much any cardio equipment you can think of. For a quick lunch there was a little "hole in the wall" falafel place right a little past the bus stop - definitely recommend! Some things that I thought could be better: internet access - lots of issues and pricey. My co-wroker went walking around in the area where Hebrew University is and got stopped/questioned by the police for whatever reason and then asked to go back to the hotel. So my conclusion is ask the consierge before going for a run or a walk about areas that are safe or acceptable to do that. Maybe that's why they have such good selection of workout equipment at their gym :). Location is pretty close to Old Jaffa, but it's definitely a cab ride that is not cheap. There are other hotels (including another Dan branch) that are a lot closer. I wouldn't consider it to be within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We spent 5 nights at this hotel last month. Of all the hotels in our three weeks in Jordan and Israel, this was the least impressive. I cannot comment on the rate because it was part of a private package. We were not part of a tour group. This hotel was probably very nice several years ago, but it is in dire need of a renovation. I understand that this is in progress but unfortunately it is not reflected in the state of the rooms. We saw 3 rooms. The first 2 had shabby and stained furnishings. Couches were torn and the towels were as thin as paper. Walls are paper thin so you can expect to hear everything in the room next door. The renovated rooms on the Executive floor are better. Hopefully the whole hotel will reach this standard when the renos are complete.
The hotel is seriously lacking in service. When we arrived, the woman at the outside entrance desk was busy on her cell phone. She did not even acknowledge our presence let alone welcome us to the hotel. There was no one to assist with luggage. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful but there were too few of them and they seemed overwhelmed. The public spaces are very nice and the views of the old city are lovely. That
being said, service in restaurants is
very inconsistent and at times nonexistent. We ate in the hotel every day and had the opportunity
To observe the wild fluctuations in the level of service. Hopefully the Dan group will be able to instill a more service oriented attitude and practices in its hospitality staff as time progresses. It is worth noting that at breakfast, the buffet significantly improves after the tour groups have departed (after 8 am) the choices are improved and more fresh items are available. Breakfast quality was also lowest on the weekend. All in all we were disappointed in this hotel. It is too far from major sites and there are no restaurants nearby. The hotel does have a nice pool and spa facilities but they are not enough to make up for all the negatives. This was the least enjoyable hotel of our trip-we expected more from the Dan group.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pirouette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Manager at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2011
Dear Dan Jerusalem Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review. We greatly value your feedback and appreciate your favorable descriptions of the hotel's luxurious Spa facilities, as well as our public spaces and the quality of the breakfast buffet.
Please be assured we have acknowledged your criticism of your arrival to the hotel, and all the service aspects mentioned will be thoroughly examined.
Having recently joined the Dan hotels chain we are doing our utmost to upgrade the hotels services to a level that one expects from a Dan Hotel. This includes the level of the rooms, facilities and courtesy from our entire staff.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Dan Jerusalem in the near future to witness the transformations at first hand.
Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

This hotel is fantastic value for money, it used to be a Hyatt and has all the trimmings of that group. The hotel has an amazing lobby and beautiful sweeping views across Jerusalem old city. The concierge is extremely helpful and the staff are very friendly. The hotel is about 3 km's from the old city but there are courtesy shuttles that go in the morning, otherwise its about $10. I have stayed at many more expensive hotels in jerusalem and this is my favourite for the value for money and also the interesting mix of people that stay here.

The kids love the hotel there are large areas for them to run around in, a great pool and an outdoor play ground which provided endless entertainment.

I would highly recommend this

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarrod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LECH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2011

I have been staying here for the last 4 years (my son lives very close to the hotel).
I must say that the last time I stayed here on September I have noticed a change, but now this is a brilliant bargain. I was given an upgraded room overlooking the old city with new furniture, and LCD, the bathroom & other amenities have been newly designed with Dan hotels standard and logo. The lobby is new and looks very nice, but the best thing is that the service level is up by 200% at the reception & at the lounge, even the gym was upgraded with new equipment.
Breakfast was amazing with a huge variety of all that Israeli breakfast can offer.
I hope that the price will stay reasonable because for now this is the ultimate bargain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with old city view
See more room tips
Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank davlinLech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
219 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We've been to the Dan Jerusalem in its previous incarnations - the Hyatt and the Regency - and have never been overly impressed. But we are big fans of the Dan chain and we figured if anyone could turn this hotel around it'd be Dan. We got a great price for full board ($300 for a couple for Shabbat) and we really liked it. We were worried that it'd be run down (the hotel's been around for a while) but it "cleaned up" nicely - carpets weren't worn (in most places), public areas looked good, rooms were updated. We had a de luxe room facing the Old City with a nice terrace and a great view. Room was pretty spacious, bed very comfortable, bathroom clean. There were no robes, which was a shame, but no complaints otherwise. (The hotel wanted to upgrade us to an Executive room but we actually turned down the offer because there is no bathtub in the Exec rooms - what's that about???) The real jewel in the crown, however, in this hotel is the food, which is outstanding (as it is in most Dan hotels). Great variety, quality and abundance. Loads of salads and vegies. We'd definitely come back to this hotel (even though I suspect we'll never get such a great rate again). And, by the way, the hotel is home to a terrific gym and spa - possibly the best in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Staff were professinosal and courtieuos. Rooms were nice and spcaious with comfy beds. Views were stunning towards the old city. It was a bit out of the way so you needed a car to get places.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBriti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#21 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#17 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Jerusalem Hotel

Property: Dan Jerusalem Hotel
Address: 32 Lekhi, Jerusalem 9785622, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#18 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#20 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#25 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dan Jerusalem Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the slopes of Mount Scopus, The Dan Jerusalem Hotel provides breathtaking views of Jerusalem and its tranquil surroundings of the Judean Hills.Hotel guests can enjoy the Largest Spa facilities in Jerusalem with indoor and outdoor pools, Turkish bath, Fitness Centre, Jacuzzi and treatment rooms. Dan Jerusalem offers a newly refurbished Executive Lounge with complimentary drinks and snacks (For Guest staying in Executive rooms and suites), expansive public areas with wide balconies and plenty of room to relax with free WiFi and for our younger hotel guests, children's activities for all ages at Danyland Childrens club.505 guest rooms to suit any kind of traveler, including family units and suites, most with outstanding views over Jerusalem and the Old City. A large conference room and a ballroom available with a capacity to accommodate up to 750 guests for a reception, or theatre style seating. Located close to transport links to Tel Aviv or the centre of town via the New Light Railway or complimentary shuttle service. 24 hour room service and a huge variety of other dining options available all day and night. All rates include Service Charge. Tourists with B2 and B3 Entry Visa stamped in their foreign passport are exempt from VAT. All other (Israelis) must pay VAT . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dan Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Jerusalem
Hyatt Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing