We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Hotel with Great Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
Ranked #23 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic Hotel with Great Spa”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

My boyfriend surprised me at the end of a working trip to Israel and we booked at the Dan Jerusalem. Our view faced the Old City and at night was drenched in warm sun. The hotel is gorgeous and incredibly personal for such a large place. We didn't see any tour groups, so maybe we came at the right time of year...

I would love to come again. We spent a whole day doing nothing in the spa and the reception staff had some wonderful recommendations for nights out. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Highgatecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    344
    156
    69
    49
See reviews for
312
262
49
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2011

This is a nice hotel, good location, lots of space and an open and friendly atmosphere. Food is good, breakfast is excellent. Overall service is very friendly and helpful (though safes in the rooms still do not work). The problematic point as previously mentioned, is that the bulk of the guests come with package tours (Holy Land Tourism etc.). Once busloads arrive or depart it gets very noisy and staff is totally occupied with them. Thus, 5-9 pm and 6-8 am is not a good time to hang around. Although groups spend the whole day in the bus together, they have to sit together in the evening as well, dragging chairs and furniture through the bar. If you happen to have a room facing the parking, be aware that buses are loaded as early as 6:30 and the screeching of the luggage carts certainly wakes you up.
The pool is nice and clean, though it was not clear what is Spa (and costs) and what is outdoor (and free). Most of the peaople in the spa and pool are local residents who are members.
All in all, good if you need hotel close to the Hebrew University or Haddassah Hospital, not recommended for individual tourists.
WLAN costs, but works very well (at least on the executive floors); laundry and minibar is quite expensive.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank udomisrati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2011

The hotel is very nice, comfortable, and welcoming. The staff was very helpful and eager to serve. The food was fresh and tasty. This is the first time I traveled abroad and didn't miss american food! I would recommend this hotel when traveling to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teaneck, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed at this lovely hotel for the third time this past April. The management went out of its way to accommodate me, as I was suffering a foot injury and needed special attention. They upgraded our room and were solicitous in their attention. The Dan motto of service excellence was very much in evidence. Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Firstly, I want to apologize for being long winded. There is a lot to say about this hotel. When my husband booked this hotel, he was told this was a 5 star hotel. My husband and his work colleagues went to a training symposium located in the hotel for work. We were at the hotel 8 days.
The staff: We arrived at the hotel in the early afternoon. We were so tired we went straight to bed and ended up waking up around midnight starving. I went down to the lobby to find some room service and quickly found out there was none. The front desk, Vicky and Anna apologized and told me about a deli that was open that delivered, and they used it all the time. They printed out a menu, recommended the food, and helped me order. While waiting for the food, she told me about some great tours I could go on while my husband was in training all day. She suggested I go see Eyal, the concierge tomorrow. I walked away, with food in hand, thinking what wonderful staff the hotel had.
Next day, I went to see Eyal while my husband went to work. He was a very nice helpful man. He hooked me up with several inexpensive tours, maps of the old city and helpful cultural tips to help me navigate smoothly through the city (being a lone woman traveling in Israel).
After a long 7 hour day walking around the old city, I was so tired and sore. Eyal inquired about my day and then suggested I go see Daniel the masseuse. The man was magical. If you want to have the best massage you’ve ever had. Go see him. I booked him 3 more times!
When I got back to my room, I noticed water all over the bathroom counter. Actually, it all over everything I had on the counter. I cleaned it up then used the facilities. The toilet wouldn’t flush correctly. My husband got it to flush fine and laughed at me for not being able to use a foreign toilet. We called that deli (again, room service was closed) ate dinner and went to sleep.
Next day, great buffet breakfast (actually, every morning was a great breakfast.( Wonderful staff who worked their tail off to serve you.) Back in the room, there was water all over the counter again and the toilet wouldn’t work. I wrapped a hand towel around the facet and took off for a tour.
Every tour I went on that week (4 of them) was perfect except for 1. The tour it’s self was great. After the tour, I was harassed into buying stuff at a souvenir shop. I don’t want to get into details but it was so bad I was shaken up over it when I got back. Eyal, asked me how my day was, as he did every day and I mentioned it to him then headed to my room. A couple hours later he called me and told me he spoke to the owner of the tour and souvenir shop and he was refunding my money for the tour. I didn’t expect that. I didn’t expect him to call tour at all. He really went out of his way to fix a problem I had mentioned in passing. Again, great staff!
The hotel: To make a long story short… The toilet was broken and “dripped” all night. The heater fan was so loud that it drowned out the loud dripping toilet but the heat was almost unbearable. The AC was busted and there was only one setting that worked; High heat. We fixed that problem by propping the patio door open. The leaking facet was fixed by either not using it at all or wrapping a towel around its base. We didn’t tell the hotel because.. Frankly, I didn’t have the heart too. The staff were so nice, I felt guilty because I had already complained about something else. In the hotels defense, they had just purchased the building. There was a lot wrong with it. All the carpets were stained, the walls are in despite need of a coat of paint, the furniture in the lobby needs to be burned and the lovely pool was closed. And last but not least... The Noise from the construction was terrible. My husband said that the conference of 200 people had to be stopped several times because of the noise level. On a happy note, the bed was really comfortable. The hotel really needs a lot of work. It’s far from the 5 star that it claims to be. I think, in another year, the hotel will be the beauty it once was and I can’t wait to see it. Until then… Management, thank your lucky stars for your always smiling, eager to help staff.

Room Tip: Check the room before you pay for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tishla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Manager at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
Dear Dan Jerusalem Guest,
Firstly, thank you for your detailed review and for taking the time to forward your comments.
Much appreciated are your favorable evaluations of the level of service, including courtesy and consideration from the Front Desk, Concierge and Spa teams.
Please be assured that had we been notified of the maintenance issues at the time, our staff would have made every effort to gladly deal with them speedily and efficiently. Guests are always encouraged to openly approach the staff members during their stay in order to ensure an enhanced guest experience.
We would be delighted to welcome you back amongst our guests in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Being our first visit to the Holy Land we were not sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised with the staff and their willingness to help us enjoy our visit. The hotels consciere "Elay"was extremely helpful and his english was excellent! Their breakfast selection was impressive to start the day. The rooms were clean but you need to request fresh towels at times.Though there were many tour groups staying at the hotel the rooms were very quiet and we rested well.Over all our stay was adequate and our memories were pleasant while staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: be sure to request a room over looking the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank higginsaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Manager at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Dear Dan Jerusalem Guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review.
As you are probably aware, the Dan Jerusalem is the newest member of the Dan Hotels chain. Since the beginning, we have been focusing on upgrading and enhancing our guest experience, to a level that one expects from a Dan Hotel. It is therefore delightful to read that our efforts to improve our services are indeed being recognized and proving fruitful as suggested by your favorable evaluations. We are pleased that you enjoyed our rich breakfast buffet as well the serenity provided by the surroundings hills and unique panoramic views of the Old City. Thank you for your acknowledgment and compliments of the high level of service provided from our courteous members of staff throughout your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Dan Jerusalem in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

stayed for one night (which is enough)
i got a room which the view from the window was the inside corridor of the hotel
you can not leave the drapes open because the room is in the corner of the floor and facing the inside corridor
so when you stay in the room you don't get to see the sunlight and you you leave the drapes close
when eating breakest ' there are a lot of groups so that you feel like eating in a market
the service in the lobby i could only describe as chaos.
the hotel is situated far from the center of jerusalem' so at night its diffuclt even for an israelian to leave and get back to the hotel
i' for one will never return to this hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeevIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Manager at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Dear Dan Jerusalem Guest,
I would like to thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write a review.
Please be assured that we have acknowledged your comments and they are being thoroughly examined. In response to your comments, please allow me to explain that there are 505 luxuriously appointed guest rooms in the hotel, including 62 suites and 45 executive rooms. Some rooms have spectacular and unique panoramic views of the Old City, and some enjoy views of the hotel's lavish grounds.
Being the newest member of the Dan hotel chain, the utmost is being done to upgrade the hotels services to a level that one expects from a Dan Hotel. This includes the level of the rooms, facilities and courtesy from our entire staff.
With hope to transform your impression of the hotel I look forward to the opportunity of hosting you at the Dan Jerusalem in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,307 reviews
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#22 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,663 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#17 of 99 in Jerusalem
2,053 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#27 of 99 in Jerusalem
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Jerusalem Hotel

Property: Dan Jerusalem Hotel
Address: 32 Lekhi, Jerusalem 9785622, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#18 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#20 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#25 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dan Jerusalem Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the slopes of Mount Scopus, The Dan Jerusalem Hotel provides breathtaking views of Jerusalem and its tranquil surroundings of the Judean Hills.Hotel guests can enjoy the Largest Spa facilities in Jerusalem with indoor and outdoor pools, Turkish bath, Fitness Centre, Jacuzzi and treatment rooms. Dan Jerusalem offers a newly refurbished Executive Lounge with complimentary drinks and snacks (For Guest staying in Executive rooms and suites), expansive public areas with wide balconies and plenty of room to relax with free WiFi and for our younger hotel guests, children's activities for all ages at Danyland Childrens club.505 guest rooms to suit any kind of traveler, including family units and suites, most with outstanding views over Jerusalem and the Old City. A large conference room and a ballroom available with a capacity to accommodate up to 750 guests for a reception, or theatre style seating. Located close to transport links to Tel Aviv or the centre of town via the New Light Railway or complimentary shuttle service. 24 hour room service and a huge variety of other dining options available all day and night. All rates include Service Charge. Tourists with B2 and B3 Entry Visa stamped in their foreign passport are exempt from VAT. All other (Israelis) must pay VAT . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dan Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Jerusalem
Hyatt Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing