We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but location is quite far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
Ranked #33 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The hotel was nice, old but complete. Problem was location, since it was far from everything and taxis are expensive in jerusalem. STaff was actually very helpful (they seem not helpful at the beggining, but once you start asking for things they are very helpful). Don;t get a room with a "view" we got charged extra for this an the view was internal, seeing the city VERY far away after some buildings. By the way, the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regular-traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2011

We were staying at Dan for 3 days to visit the old town and the dead sea. The room was very nice and clean with a great view. After the sightseeing the pool area is a good opportunity to relax. Finally the hotel staff was also a highlight. Especially Eyal the concierce did everthing to provide us a very nice stay in jerusalem (tipps for tours, restaurants in the city, clubs etc.)

The Dan Jerusalem will be our first choice for the next trip to Jerusalem

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

we stayed at the suite very nice view, the breakfest and dinner were excellent, we l-o-v-e-d the kids club(daniland) the crew was kind and professional
very recomended!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netzahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This is a nice hotel which was recently taken over by the Dan chain after being a Hyatt and then the Regency. The new owners seem to have a keen eye for what required replacement (the old TVs, some of the carpeting, the 4th floor furniture, the kids playroom) and a good sense of what was great at the hotel and should be maintained (e.g the food service, run with warmth and professionalism by Mr. Nidal, the executive lounge). There is still some work to do and do not expect every room to look like the gorgeous pictures in the profile. Some areas are super nice and some need work but they are on the right track.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debra_h68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed here in June 2011 for one night only. We were on an escorted tour as part of our cruise holiday of the Holy Land. The hotel is unique as you walk into reception at level 6 and go down to your relevant floor to access your bedroom. Once in the room we went out onto our balcony and fabulous views of Jerusalem. The food was lovely, the staff very pleasant and the room was comfortable and clean. Would stay here again anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for a room just overlooking Jerusalem without overlooking the roofs of other bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weetwoodLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Looking forward to a beautiful hotel as depicted on their website, we received anything but ...!!! Broken bedroom balcony door, old food left in fridge, broken airconditioning that only has one speed and one temperature- so you wake up freezing in the middle of the night. Spa is a gym, no relaxation- spa pool is a gym pool. Jacuzzi at spa occupied by 15 men. RUDE reception staff, RUDE managers! Dirty breakfast table, over an hours wait for a simple meal in the lounge. Pictures and description in website is misleading. PS. We stayed in an 'executive room'

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nstaracek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

We are sorry that the guest did not enjoy the stay at the hotel; we have studied the comments and steps were taken to improve our service.

It is worth noting that the hotel receives many compliments especially the Spa, large indoor pool and fully equipped fitness center. This is the largest Spa center of any of the Jerusalem hotels and offers extensive treatments and facilities.

We believe that our guests are always right; however that being said, we believe that in this case the guest's comments were exaggerated and do not reflect the general high standard of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I visited the Dan Hotel as the base for the first part of our Pilgrimage from Chester Diocese along with 149 others. The hotel's arrangements for such a large party were excellent. and the breakfast and evening meal buffets were sumptuous. Had it not been for the amount of walking we did on our many visits to and around Jerusalem,I would certainly have gone home heavier !
The view from the bedroom across the city was panoramic, with the Golden Dome glistening in the distance. The only disappointment was that the room itself was in need of some re-furbishment. The beds were very comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean.
This is a very large hotel with an emphasis on personal service, and staff were very helpful and responded to any request promptly and with good grace.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems ask for a room on the same floor as the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mediaconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#26 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,715 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#12 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,507 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#18 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,362 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#19 of 102 in Jerusalem
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Jerusalem Hotel

Address: 32 Lekhi, Jerusalem 9785622, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#18 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#25 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#25 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: £113 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dan Jerusalem Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the slopes of Mount Scopus, The Dan Jerusalem Hotel provides breathtaking views of Jerusalem and its tranquil surroundings of the Judean Hills.Hotel guests can enjoy the Largest Spa facilities in Jerusalem with indoor and outdoor pools, Turkish bath, Fitness Centre, Jacuzzi and treatment rooms. Dan Jerusalem offers a newly refurbished Executive Lounge with complimentary drinks and snacks (For Guest staying in Executive rooms and suites), expansive public areas with wide balconies and plenty of room to relax with free WiFi and for our younger hotel guests, children's activities for all ages at Danyland Childrens club.505 guest rooms to suit any kind of traveler, including family units and suites, most with outstanding views over Jerusalem and the Old City. A large conference room and a ballroom available with a capacity to accommodate up to 750 guests for a reception, or theatre style seating. Located close to transport links to Tel Aviv or the centre of town via the New Light Railway or complimentary shuttle service. 24 hour room service and a huge variety of other dining options available all day and night. All rates include Service Charge. Tourists with B2 and B3 Entry Visa stamped in their foreign passport are exempt from VAT. All other (Israelis) must pay VAT . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dan Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Jerusalem
Hyatt Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing