We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great stuff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
Ranked #24 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Haifa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location, great stuff”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed 2 parents and a teenager for three nights in a very good looking room. The front desk did their best to meet our needs, breakfast was excellent, parking available and the overall impression is very good.

Room Tip: room with terrace has maximum fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    339
    156
    68
    49
See reviews for
312
257
49
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
108 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This is the former Hyatt Regency, but the luxury from the 80´s in long gone. Large hotel with more than 500 rooms, means that it caters mainly to tour groups and the religious crowd for weekends. The service at the front-desk is typically a disaster, with uninterested staff. The room, though not very modern, had great beds and it was very quiet facing an inner courtyard. The views from terraces are fantastic and public transportation very easy as it is only a five minute walk to the new Jerusalem Light Rail station "Ammunition Hill". Great location if You want to visist the Hebrew University.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gold2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Mr. Yehuda Kraus
General Manager
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem

Dear Mr. Kraus:

Shalom and Happy Hanukkah blessings!

Thank you for hosting us during our Global Leaders Prayer Summit in Jerusalem. You and your staff - Avital, Jack, Bakry - and everyone from the Front Desk, the meeting room, the delicious meals, the clean and comfortable rooms and all the staff and services, made our guests feel welcome. On behalf of The Joshua Generation and our partners in Israel, please accept our heartfelt thanks for making our Leaders Prayer Summit a success.

The comments I received from our participants were chuck full with positive and grateful compliments with the way you and your staff spoke to us and treated us with warm hospitality. For those visiting Jerusalem and Israel for the first time, the personal touch made their visit and experience more enjoyable and meaningful. Your taking time to speak with our guests at the lobby will be memorable.

We wish you a Happy Hanukkah and great success in all you do. We also wish you a blessed and Merry Christmas and New Year filled with hope, peace, wisdom, favor and prosperity.

God's richest blessings to your family and staff. Looking forward to seeing you in the near future. Toda raba - God bless you!

Sincerely with gratitude,

Jose V. Pascua, D. Min.
President, The Joshua Generation
www.thejoshuageneration.org

Room Tip: Get to know the people who serve. They are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear Jose V. Pascua, D. Min,
I would like to thank you for your kind words, and positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Dan Jerusalem.
It was our pleasure hosting you and I am glad that the Summit was a success.
I look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Yehuda Kraus
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Stayed there for a weekend and we were very disapointed from the room. Old furniture , not handled well, far from the old city ,There are much better horels and not more expensive .

Room Tip: Ask for a room that the noise of road wont disturb you/
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlanCohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Sorry to hear of your disappointment, and regret that you did not experience our commitment to service excellence.
Concerning the hotel rooms – there are 505 rooms, all of which have undergone some form of transformation over the past year. These include the furnishings, brand new flat screen TV sets, coffee and tea corners and an upgrade of the amenities to quality Dead Sea products.
In addition, we are proud to announce the opening of our brand new Executive Lounge, located on the 6th floor, offering spectacular views of the Old City.
With regards to travel to the Old City and the centre of town, the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service which departs daily from the hotel's entrance. Additionally, as I am sure you are aware; the new Jerusalem Light Rail has a stop within very close proximity to the hotel, roughly 600m. It is particularly convenient for quick and efficient travel into the city centre.
We would like to be able to regain your confidence in us, and therefore would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Pros: The breakfasts at the hotel are incredible! The rooms are clean and spacious; the view from the lobby is beautiful; there is a tram/ light rail stop 5-10minutes walk away and many buses that will easily take you to top attractions.
Cons: Taxis to the city centre or Old City cost 30-40 NIS each way. The bathroom wasn't great.

Room Tip: If you have to check out before breakfast, they will provide you with a breakfast box to take away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelleystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

The hotel was good in every way. Not over plush, but very, very pleasant. The rooms were nice, the piano bar great, the food the best in Israel, terrace lovely, and helpful & friendly staff. Also the location was better than we thought - high up, slightly out of the centre, but on the new tram line so we could go anywhere easily.

We had a fantastic time in Israel altogether and a great holiday, with Bethlehem the one black spot. The details aren't important except to say our Bethlehem driver and guide were unpleasant in every way and also aggressive. We rang the Concierge in The Dan as we were being shunted back from Bethlehem. Eyal (concierge) was in a meeting, but took the call and by the time we got back to the hotel he was there on our behalf to make sure we paid nothing for the Bethlehem trip. However, we still felt shaken after a bad experience and a shame on our last day in Israel - and after such a great holiday. Later that afternoon we returned to our room to find some chocolates and a nice, and even humorous note from Eyal on the desk. After a bad experience, a small kindness like that can really improve everything.

The only 'warning' I'd give is that The Dan seems to service many of the orthodox community and as such, shabbat was observed in a way I wasn't expecting in a hotel - but maybe that's Jerusalem.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

At the edge of town with a spectacular view of the city of Jerusalem, the hotel was designed and built by an architect who later earned an award for hotel design.
Large rooms but out of date, shower needs upgrading but spacious and complementary accessories. Should be mentioned the meals with a vast selection of dishes from all walks of life.
You can receive charge Wi-Fi in the rooms but the signal is weak and does not provide a good connection. If you want a high level of free internet go to the branch of AROMA - Israeli cafes network just 1 block from the hotel (great coffee too ...).

Room Tip: To enjoy the amazing scenery ask to be on the south side of the hotel, the side facing the Old City...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yifta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#21 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#17 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Jerusalem Hotel

Property: Dan Jerusalem Hotel
Address: 32 Lekhi, Jerusalem 9785622, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#18 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#20 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#25 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dan Jerusalem Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the slopes of Mount Scopus, The Dan Jerusalem Hotel provides breathtaking views of Jerusalem and its tranquil surroundings of the Judean Hills.Hotel guests can enjoy the Largest Spa facilities in Jerusalem with indoor and outdoor pools, Turkish bath, Fitness Centre, Jacuzzi and treatment rooms. Dan Jerusalem offers a newly refurbished Executive Lounge with complimentary drinks and snacks (For Guest staying in Executive rooms and suites), expansive public areas with wide balconies and plenty of room to relax with free WiFi and for our younger hotel guests, children's activities for all ages at Danyland Childrens club.505 guest rooms to suit any kind of traveler, including family units and suites, most with outstanding views over Jerusalem and the Old City. A large conference room and a ballroom available with a capacity to accommodate up to 750 guests for a reception, or theatre style seating. Located close to transport links to Tel Aviv or the centre of town via the New Light Railway or complimentary shuttle service. 24 hour room service and a huge variety of other dining options available all day and night. All rates include Service Charge. Tourists with B2 and B3 Entry Visa stamped in their foreign passport are exempt from VAT. All other (Israelis) must pay VAT . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dan Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Jerusalem
Hyatt Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing