We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view (on old city), rooms outdated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dan Jerusalem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
Ranked #21 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Great view (on old city), rooms outdated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

during my stay I liked view, location and size of the rooms
i did not like quality of food, and laid back attitude of employees
I heard that the hotel has improved recently

good price/value as it was quite cheap

Location - nearest to the university. If you have nothing to do with the niversity, better stay closer to the city / old city eg look at Mamila hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valux01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    324
    149
    66
    47
See reviews for
307
250
48
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We have been staying in different hotels through the years. A friend suggested the dan Jerusalem. What a pleasant surprise. Staff members are helpful, food and wines are great. Room comfort and spa was the best I have seen in Jerusalem.
Great value 180 us dollars a night with breakfast. What a bargain.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

The Hotel is situated on Mt Scopus near the Hebrew University and Hadassah Hospital so if your business is there then this hotel is a no-brainer( my time was spent in the old city and beyond). If you want to make your way to the old city, a 5 minute walk away is the light rail train station ( Ammunition Hill) which wisks you by the old city and beyond. One way costs are 6.60 nis. The ticket machine takes coins but I used my visa card. ( on the way to the station is two falafel stands, my fav was French Hill Falafels). Now for the Hotel. It is not the Ritz Carlton in infrastructure, however, the staff is first rate. Everyone was extremely helpful. I wish i could say a bad word but I can't! From the manager, Yehuda Kraus ,on down the echelon of staff members, people were just too nice and helpful. A special word about the front desk. All seem to be adept at solving my problems. I needed an Israeli cell phone. The front desk took care of the problem. Internet access problem fixed with one phone call. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and waitstaff was attentive. health club suited my needs. Also join the Dan club/ Eden club for discounts on your room ect. It takes 5 minutes. In short, getting bang for your bucks the Dan Jerusalem is the place to be.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcupson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Pleasant place to stay if you want to be away from the tourist. My room was upgraded from a bedroom to a suite. Complimentary mineral water, fresh fruits and box of ONEG Dan chocolates nice touch. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Best part - the Israeli breakfast in the main resturant; they put out quite a spread. Hotel in walking distance to the Jet Train - Jerusalem's new transportation system. For about 6 shekels you can get to the Old City (Damascus Gate) or the Mamilla Shopping Mall (City Hall). Beats paying for a taxi. Conceirge, Ejal, very helpful with tours. Staff most helpful. Downside...no free internet/WiFi...you have to pay.

Room Tip: Ground level near 619-625 quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Njoylife141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando/WDW area
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed 5 nights; Jan 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 2012. Nice improvements over former brand and management. Rooms clean. Good housekeeping. Food nice and plentiful. One major complaint: their Internet access fees make no sense, as the time starts when you first log on and runs continuously, even if you log off after, say, 30 minutes of actual use. And the fees are high. I would NOT stay here again until they implement an Internet plan that is not designed to screw the guests. Floor 7 and above are "Executive Level", which are same size rooms with better views and a couple of extra amenities. "Executive Lounge" on Floor 7 is not staffed, meagerly supplied with a few beverages and a few munchies, and rarely refreshed after first set-up.

Room Tip: If you don't mind being abused by their Internet plan and wish to stay here, ask for a room over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celebconsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at Dan Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are very grateful for your favorable review of your recent stay at the Dan Jerusalem.
I would like to take this opportunity to clarify that we have recently opened our brand new and exclusive King David Executive Lounge on the 6th floor. It boasts breathtaking views of the city of Jerusalem and is equipped with the latest state-of-the-art technology. Refreshments are served throughout the day and guests may also order special entrees from 11:00 am from a varied menu. In addition, internet stations with free access are available to guests and for those who wish to read, a library is also available.
We would be delighted to host you in our hotel once again upon your next visit to Jerusalem.
Kind regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Rooms in this hotel are nice... dinner was very good with a nice variety of food!!
friendly staff,and we enjoyed the facilities of the Spa..all together a nice weekend!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

The Dan Jerusalem hotel was great!! we had a very good breakfast, the hotel is big and the Spa is very good!!
staff was helpfull kids loved the kids club!

Room Tip: Pick an old city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#20 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#15 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Jerusalem Hotel

Property: Dan Jerusalem Hotel
Address: 32 Lekhi, Jerusalem 9785622, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#18 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#19 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#25 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dan Jerusalem Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the slopes of Mount Scopus, The Dan Jerusalem Hotel provides breathtaking views of Jerusalem and its tranquil surroundings of the Judean Hills.Hotel guests can enjoy the Largest Spa facilities in Jerusalem with indoor and outdoor pools, Turkish bath, Fitness Centre, Jacuzzi and treatment rooms. Dan Jerusalem offers a newly refurbished Executive Lounge with complimentary drinks and snacks (For Guest staying in Executive rooms and suites), expansive public areas with wide balconies and plenty of room to relax with free WiFi and for our younger hotel guests, children's activities for all ages at Danyland Childrens club.505 guest rooms to suit any kind of traveler, including family units and suites, most with outstanding views over Jerusalem and the Old City. A large conference room and a ballroom available with a capacity to accommodate up to 750 guests for a reception, or theatre style seating. Located close to transport links to Tel Aviv or the centre of town via the New Light Railway or complimentary shuttle service. 24 hour room service and a huge variety of other dining options available all day and night. All rates include Service Charge. Tourists with B2 and B3 Entry Visa stamped in their foreign passport are exempt from VAT. All other (Israelis) must pay VAT . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dan Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Jerusalem
Hyatt Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing