We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Review of a 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
Ranked #25 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Brookline, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Review of a 4 star hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I am giving this hotel 5 stars because it is excellent for a 4 star. I requested a recently renovated room which was just as nice as our room several months ago David's Citadel at several times the price. The hotel lacks charm or glamour but remember, it is a 4 star. The common areas are tired, and the first room I was shown was also not great, so if you can afford an upgrade, I strongly recommend it. Breakfast buffet more than ample, service excellent. A lot of tour groups stay here. Good value because it is not in the center of town but light rail makes it convenient, however, I would be careful about walking back from the rail in the dark; I took a taxi from town which was approx. $15.00 - $20, still making the hotel price extremely reasonable for what it is. I would not have been happy, however, in a room which had not been recently renovated.

Room Tip: Get a recently renovated room, the one I had was excellent. Cleaned very well every day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorenR771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    331
    153
    68
    49
See reviews for
309
254
49
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The room was large and comfortable, and very important - quiet - but the furnishings are dated and worn. Could use some freshening up. Hallways look like they were once elegant.

Breakfast was quite good. I even talked to the chef to ask how he prepares some of the vegetable salads. Colorful, tasty and fresh. Portions are plentiful. Had one dinner at the hotel and found it to be a typical hotel catering kind of meal.

The pool is beautiful. Wish they could do a better job of enforcing the no smoking rule in the pool area. Too bad some of the guests don't respect others and smoke elsewhere.

The location is less than desirable. It is a nice walk to the light rail to get you to most of the sites. Taxis are always available.

The gym is on a fee for service basis. Never seen this before in a highly rated hotel that guests are charged extra to use the fitness center. This would probably be the main reason I would not choose this hotel for my next stay.

I found the service to be spotty. Seems many of the clerks flunked the course in hospitality. They just seem aloof and uninterested; a little dose of warmth and careful attention could go a long way. Perhaps this hotel attracts so many groups that they are not interested in individual guests, just tour operators.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyTraveler18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Benefits: We had a lot of fun. kind and quality service . Comfortable and pleasant rooms, large swimming pool.

Disadvantage: No service ordering food at the swimming pool. if you want to buy food or drink while you are in the swimming pool area , you should go up to 3# floor to the restaurant inside the hotel, then order and wait .. and then, you should take the food with you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giliber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

i stayed 2 night at this hotel.. very nice service , breakfast was delicious with real croissant. Staff are friendly and professionel. View are amazing. Rooms are clean. nothing bad to say .. i will come back

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nath1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Towards the end of May I once again I had the distinct pleasure of staying at the Dan Jerualem hotel in Jerusalem. Once again I was thoroughly satisfied with every aspect of my stay. Most of all, the staff of the hotel, from those who man the front desk to those who assist in the restaurants, are consummately dedicated to the comfort of their guests. The staff is excellent and courteous giving you the best customer service. The staff made me feel special. The breakfast is delicious. The rooms in which I stayed were comfortable, neat, and clean, and the facility itself is well-maintained. I highly recommend this hotel! I plan on staying here again the next time I am in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv District, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Wonderful hotel , superb rooms, excellent pool and tremendous food and very good breakfast. The rooms here are so comfortable. Ours had a terrace with a remarkable view of the old City
We highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moran_adar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel was fine. It is defiantly showing age. This is my 3rd time here in the past 5 years. The place was fine for my trip. I would like to try a different place next time. I would have liked t see this hotel when it was brand new. Had to be impressive. Locker rooms in fitness center along with pool and whirl pool showing aging and starting to fall apart.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#20 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#16 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#9 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Jerusalem Hotel

Property: Dan Jerusalem Hotel
Address: 32 Lekhi, Jerusalem 9785622, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#18 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#21 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#25 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dan Jerusalem Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the slopes of Mount Scopus, The Dan Jerusalem Hotel provides breathtaking views of Jerusalem and its tranquil surroundings of the Judean Hills.Hotel guests can enjoy the Largest Spa facilities in Jerusalem with indoor and outdoor pools, Turkish bath, Fitness Centre, Jacuzzi and treatment rooms. Dan Jerusalem offers a newly refurbished Executive Lounge with complimentary drinks and snacks (For Guest staying in Executive rooms and suites), expansive public areas with wide balconies and plenty of room to relax with free WiFi and for our younger hotel guests, children's activities for all ages at Danyland Childrens club.505 guest rooms to suit any kind of traveler, including family units and suites, most with outstanding views over Jerusalem and the Old City. A large conference room and a ballroom available with a capacity to accommodate up to 750 guests for a reception, or theatre style seating. Located close to transport links to Tel Aviv or the centre of town via the New Light Railway or complimentary shuttle service. 24 hour room service and a huge variety of other dining options available all day and night. All rates include Service Charge. Tourists with B2 and B3 Entry Visa stamped in their foreign passport are exempt from VAT. All other (Israelis) must pay VAT . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dan Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Jerusalem
Hyatt Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing