We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this dump unless you have absolutely no other choice.”
Review of Hotel Prima Kings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Prima Kings
Ranked #27 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Rooms: We stayed at this hotel twice in the span of three weeks and had three different rooms. One was a very expensive "Suite", the other two were standard rooms, so we got a good sampling of the Accommodations. The beds were not very comfortable. Even the "The bathrooms are slightly larger than an airplane bathroom. If you are sitting on the toilet and your spouse opens the bathroom door, you are going to get smacked in the knees. In every room we stayed in, the moldy smell of bathroom permeated the tiny rooms and your only option was to open the windows, at which point you are assaulted by noise and exhaust fumes from the busy street outside. The central air system is Heat Only and no cooling was available during our visit. So, if you are staying there in the summer, you should inquire about that. The problem is not that the rooms are small, that's fine, but they are badly designed and have not been properly cleaned in a long time. Add to that the dust, debris and noise going on in the lobby, and forget about having a clean room.

Lobby/Public Areas: Small, dirty and crowded. And because the WiFI is free in public areas, everyone crowded into the dirty and broken furniture that appears to have been purchased right after the independance war in 1948. During our second stop at the hotel, they had finished part of the lobby renovation but still had the same dusty furniture that had been sitting in the construction site and covered in new dust on top of the old dust. If Ehud Olmert was still alive, he could probably find King Herod artifacts in the layers of dust on this furniture. Lucky for him, he passed away before being subject to this indignity. The elevators were tiny, about the size of a phone booth, and would be filled to capacity with four people, or two with any sort of luggage. In order to get to rooms on the fifth floor, you have to actually walk up a flight of stairs from the lobby o where the third, and slightly larger elevator landed.

Staff: With very few exceptions, the staff were indifferent to the point of being rude. I was not expecting American-style faux friendly service, just basic courtesy, and was deeply disappointed. The front desk staff were dismissive, the dining room staff looked like they were kidnapped and forced to work there against their will and their normal mode of communication was monosyllabic barks, and the other hotel staff basically ignored the guests unless you got in their face. Again, there were a few good ones, but for the most part, the staff appeared to have much more important things to do than to be inconvenienced by guest queries and requests.

Food: It is impossible for me to overstate how bad the food experience was at this hotel. With few exceptions, the staff acted more like prison guards than servers. The food items looked suspiciously the same from day to day, and the actual items were made as cheaply as possible from the cheapest components available. To make matters worse, the guests acted like they had just escaped from a refugee camp in South Sudan and going anywhere near the crappy food was a full-contact experience. The first night we stayed there was Saturday and we had just travelled by plane and car about 12 hours to get there. We scoured the neighborhood for anywhere else to eat dinner, but everything was closed for the Sabbath until fairly late, so we had the Shabbat Buffet at the hotel, and vowed never to eat there again, and we did not. The breakfasts were not much better. The cook who ran the omelette station was grumpy and rude and took every single opportunity to abandon his post. All the other stuff seemed left over from dinner, and the crowd was in full "Hunger Games" mode. We found out later that due to Jewish dietary laws, they only serve "Dairy" items during breakfast. So dairy-like items, for example Ice Cream, served at dinner are made not with milk, but with soy oil. I am all for keeping Kosher, but a little heads-up to the rest of us would have been nice. After that first night, we ate at local neighborhood restaurants that were quite good and within easy walking distance.

The example that best encapsulates our food experience came at breakfast on the last day when we noticed water dripping from the ceiling onto our group's table literally a meter away from the guy at the podium who checks your room number when you come into the dining hall. He just stood there and looked at water dripping and the rapidly forming puddle on the floor and did absolutely nothing. He did not get a mop, call anyone, or anything else. Just stood there and watched who-knows-what water was dripping next to our food. Eventually, one of the people from our group got out and grabbed a bunch of paper placemats and put them on the expanding lake, still nothing. It was not until I got up and started taking photos of the leak and puddle that podium guy exploded into action and got a mop and bucket. (See photos below)

If they are that blase about water leaking on food in the dining room, I would hate to see what goes on in their kitchens. Keeping Kosher is admirable, but keeping clean is really fundamental.

Bottom Line: The only good thing about its hotel is the location. There are a lot of great restaurants, shops, and even a large supermarket right around there. Everything else about it is terrible.

Room Tip: The best tip I can give you is: Get a Room in a Different Hotel. If you have to stay here, get a r...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LexFugit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avi b, Manager at Hotel Prima Kings, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your in depth report on our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay at the prima kings hotel.
Please contact me directly at kingsrecmgr@prima.co.il that we could talk about your stay.

Tzvika Berman
Reception Manager
Prima Kings Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Prima Kings
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

This hotel has excellent dining room food for breakfast and dinner. The rooms are small but adequate. The service could have been better in keeping the room stocked with basic items such as lotion and toilet paper. The front desk was very helpful, but occasionally their customer service was below average.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avi b, Manager at Hotel Prima Kings, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Jeannie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your in depth report on our hotel. All comments help us provide the best service and amenities for our guests. I will forward your review to the staff as they are trained to provide helpful and friendly service. Additionally, We will look into what happened with the front desk as your experience is unusual, Prima kings receptionists are trained to be kind and helpful to our guests and to provide the best customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Booked by Road Scholar/Keshet. Great location, but noisy at night - wore earplugs. Staff were very good. Food was excellent and service was great even when the dining room was full. Room was clean and reasonable. Bathroom was terrible. Room 615 bath/shower faucet had a continuous leak (water torture). Had to put hose in the bath to deaden the noise. Leak must have been there for weeks or months because the hose was rusty - waste of precious Israeli water. Toilet seat had one broken bracket - dangerous. Sink had slow running drain. No plugs for the sink or bath. Reported all these to front desk, and the only one to be fixed was the drain.

Disappointed by the lack of response, and will report this to Road Scholar. Have picture of the leaking/rusty hose which will be sent to the hotel. Why didn't housekeeping report these issue to maintenance weeks ago?

Room Tip: Don't go to 615 until the maintenance issues are fixed.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avi b, Manager at Hotel Prima Kings, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience with our hotel.
We are taking your comments about the housekeeping and the maintenance seriously.

We have forwarded your review and comments to the relevant personnel as your concerns are very unusual.
the bathroom in room 615 has been fixed (the shower faucet and the toilet)
We do apologize for the inconvenience that you had and we hope that you give us a another chance to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the prima kings hotel few days ago and we had a great time. The hotel looks very clean and the new lobby is beautifull, the room we got had a very nice view of the city, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull. Great hotel, we will come back to the prima kings again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank puente1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avi b, Manager at Hotel Prima Kings, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear guest,

Wow!

Thanks so much for your kind words and for taking your time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy that you liked your stay at the Prima Kings hotel.
We are glad that you enjoined your stay, hotel staff service and the amanitas of the hotel.
We are at Prima hotels are doing the best to make our guest fell at home away from home and are glad that you have returned to stay with us for the second time.

Hope to see you again in one of Prima hotels throughout Israel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Prima kings is an excellent hotel.
It placed in a very good area in Jerusalem. The rooms are amazingly clean, I wish my wife could clean our rooms as good as their rooms.
The breakfast was excellent and I enjoied it alot. The service is excellent. There was not anything I asked for and havn't got.
I strongly recommend to everyone to visit Prima Kings, I guarantee you will enjoy your time staying there.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank avis8200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avi b, Manager at Hotel Prima Kings, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear avis8200

Wow!

Thanks so much for your kind words and for taking your time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy that you liked your stay at the Prima Kings hotel.
We are glad that you enjoined your stay, hotel staff service, the food and beverage and amanitas of the hotel.
We are at Prima hotels are doing the best to make our guest fell at home away from home.
Hope to see you again in one of Prima hotels throughout Israel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

I had a wonderful stay at the Prima Kings hotel. Superb location. Reception staff are very warm and welcoming and very helpful. The food was excellent. There was a large variety at the Buffet and it was very tasty. The room was great, very clean and inviting. Will definately return on my next visit to Jerusalem.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank glendaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avi b, Manager at Hotel Prima Kings, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear glendaron

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your in depth report on our hotel 
It is always nice to hear such nice and warm full compliments about our hotel and service.
We are very happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay at the Prima Kings hotel and in Jerusalem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

STAFF- rude bordering on hostile (pretty common experience in Jerusalem)

ROOMS- old, smelly, no A/C, bathroom flood from shower and smell of sewage, WIFI (pay) does not work

HOTEL COMMON AREAS- smelly, over crowded, low ceilings, low lighting, decor is from the 1950's and dirty/worn out, WIF (free in common areas) barely works

FOOD- The buffet food is NOT EDIBLE even if it was edible the people who stay at this hotel are so aggressive with the buffet ?? I did not understand what was happening- maybe a refuge camp from a food insecure nation was being housed at the Prima Kings by the UN ???

The whole situation was mind blowing and incomprehensible.

The tour I was with will be getting a LARGE complaint about this Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank venusbirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avi b, Manager at Hotel Prima Kings, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your in depth report on our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay at the prima kings hotel.
Please contact me directly at kingsrecmgr@prima.co.il that we could talk about your stay.

Tzvika Berman
Reception Manager
Prima Kings Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prima Royale
Hotel Prima Royale
#22 of 101 in Jerusalem
856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
0.3 mi away
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
Dan Panorama Jerusalem
#24 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Prima Palace
Hotel Prima Palace
#51 of 101 in Jerusalem
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eldan Hotel
Eldan Hotel
#32 of 101 in Jerusalem
733 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#18 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prima Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prima Kings

Address: 60 King George St, Jerusalem 9426224, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#21 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#24 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: £116 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prima Kings 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prima Kings Hotel is a landmark hotel in the Center of Jerusalem. The Glatt Kosher Mehadrin Hotel is situated in the Rahavia district, meters from the Great Synagogue, a 15 minute walk to the Old City, Mamilla mall area, and central to the large variety of museums; like Yad VaShem; Restaurants, Shopping, a walk to Ben Yehuda St. Mall and much more. Additionally, the Prima Kings has just renovated the public spaces including the Lobby, elevators and Dining areas, plus built a brand new Spa and Fitness Center. With 214 rooms, of a variety of types to suit your party of 1 or 4, perfectly, we offer modern amenities such as FREE WI-Fi in all guest rooms and Public Area, tea and coffee making facilities in room, mini refrigerator in room, flat screen TV, complimentary bathroom amenities. For business guests, we have built a brand new Executive Lounge, serving snacks, drinks and newspapers, execrated wifi and more. Our Lobby is a comfy place to hang out, near our Cafe Paris, overlooking the Paris square. Prima Kings additionally boasts an on-site synagogue. spa &fitness facilities, and a variety of conference and meeting rooms. For everything a Hotel in Jerusalem can offer, choose Prima Kings, inspired by the heritage and mosaic of cultures you will see throughout Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Prima Kings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prima Kings Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing