We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramat Rachel Resort
Ranked #40 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed here as part of a trip to Jerusalem and Bethlehem, Comfortable hotel with most rooms having a view of Bethlehem. Rooms very large and spacious.
Location is a bit out of Jerusalem but the reception are happy to organise taxis.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottyljd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    88
    39
    9
    13
See reviews for
68
42
14
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We were in a group on a day tour of Jerusalem from a cruise ship. This hotel was our included lunch break. Part of the dining room had been reserved for us, the tables were all nicely laid out and had water and wine on them. There was a large choice from the buffet, I had boiled beef and carrots, after a salad starter, which was funny considering its a line from a london cockney song, the beef was lovely and tender, everyone I spoke to was happy with the food they chose. There was a shop to buy local nik naks and nice gardens to relax in.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camsreporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Beautiful Hotel . Gorgeous wedding room fit for a King. Spacious rooms for rent clean friendly service. Nice lobby area to meet people from all over the world. If you didnt know better aside from the accents you would think you were in a better quality American Hotel. Would loved to have stayed longer if we could but the party moved to another area of Israel. Next time we will try to stay longer. only reason its not 5 star is because I base it on American Hotels and value. Its expensive and not quite the 5 stars you get in America however the breakfast was out of this world !

Room Tip: Just ask to desk when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This review is by someone who usually stays at the King David in Jerusalem, so as you can imagine I was a little worried when I found out I was staying at Ramat Rachel on a Mother and Daughter tour of Israel. Though I was very pleasantly suprised when I saw our room. It was modern, clean and had everything we needed. I had been pre-warned not to expect a bathrobe or slippers or all the nice smelly stuff you get in luxury hotels but it had a safe, air conditioning comfortable pillows, and even a very nice view of Bethlehem.
The reception area was dated and I believe that not all the rooms were as contemporary as mine. Perhaps they have not completed updating all the rooms so ask for a new room when you book.
The hotel is set in the beautiful grounds of a kibbutz and next to an area of archeological interest. You can walk around or get a guided tour which I found fascinating.
Breakfast was quite good. Israeli hotels really know how to do sumptuous breakfasts, but the Friday night supper was not quite so great.
The big disappointment was the lack of a pool. It is covered by a bubble (I am assuming this is over the winter months) and it had recently blown down. The kids were desperate for a swim but I doubt they will do anything to fix it as the weather will be warm enough to swim without it soon enough. The gym was an excellent size compared to most hotels that I have stayed in but I think it is a commercial enterprise and is used by the kibbutz and local residents as well as hotel guests. When I went to look at it, it was extremely busy on a Friday afternoon. Unforunately I didn't get a chance to use it but it would have been more than sufficient for my needs with the full range of equipment to suit everyone and a variety of classes were on offer as well. The jacuzzi on the other hand was full of men over the age of 65 and did not look inviting for any of the Mothers or daughters on our trip - maybe we just came at the wrong time. It wasn't particularly attractive in any case.
The hotel is situated around 17-20 minutes by cab from the old city and it cost us around 45-50 shekels for most journeys. I have no idea if there is a local bus as we didn't even check.
Would I stay here again? Yes if I was coming on another trip like the one I did with my daughter. It is clean, the staff were friendly and I liked the surrounding views. It is most definitely NOT a luxury hotel as described in the brochure but you get what you pay for and this was perfect for our needs on this occasion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilana613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at Ramat Rachel, located on the outskirts of Jerusalem, overlooking Bethlehem. Our touring group of 25 was easily transported via our tour bus to the center of Jerusalem and surrounding areas. Rooms were lovely, spacious, clean, had large closet and drawer space, but plenty of room to "spead out" in room with extra seating, window bench, large window overlooking Bethlehem. (Christian tourists not able to enter Bethlehem today, so this was the closest we got!) Bathroom large, clean, fully equipped, bathtub and separate shower. Refrigerator, coffee pot, safe, etc. Free WiFi available in lobby-lounge area, comfortable area to visit with fellow travelers and check email, Facebook, keep in touch with family abroad. GiftShop and jewelry shop on main floor. Large restaurant, round tables for visiting, buffet style, lots of variety including delicious desserts and coffee. Lovely grounds with flower beds, scenery, lovely areas to stroll and patio balcony areas for viewing Bethlehem and Jerusalem. Pros: Upscale feel but not overdone, all amenities, great food and helpful staff. Cons: We had no problem with location on outskirts of Jerusalem with our tour bus, but not sure if location would hinder solo travelers (this was mentioned by another reviewer).
Note: secure bomb shelter was down hall from our rooms... this is way of life in Israel, so nice to know it was easily accessible.
Loved our stay!

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking Bethlehem , we stayed 1 level below lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This hotel sits high overlooking Jerusalem and Bethlehem on the grounds of Kibbutz Ramat Rachel. Beautiful gardens and grounds to enjoy. The rooms are comfortable and clean, nothing fancy, not lavish as described in brochure. we did not experience problems with noise. The food was good (kosher) and a lot to choose from buffet. If it weren't for all the walking I did, I would have gained weight. Breakfast and dinner included in cost of room. Hotel services were good. Available were coffee shop, souvenir shop, (tad on the high side), free WiFi in lobby. The front desk was always helpful. The grounds are large and the only thing that I didn't like was one has to walk 2 blocks to get to the pool area.It would be nice for hotel customers to have a closer entrance.There was no extra charge for use of pool. It is quite a bit out of Jerusalem, but there is a bus stop from the hotel. If you are on a tour or group you will not have a problem with travel.

Room Tip: This is a popular place for Jewish weddings. It was nice to watch and listen from respectful distanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Technically, Ramat Rachel isn't in Jerusalem. The hotel lies on the grounds of Kibbutz Ramat Rachel, just south of the city's border. That means you cannot walk to almost any places of interest (remember the first three rules of real estate?).

There is bus service from the hotel to the center of town and then to the central bus station (bus #7), but Jerusalem's famous bad traffic should also be taken into account when trip planning. Leave early (which means a quick breakfast) to avoid being stuck in rush-hour traffic all morning.

Service is average. The rooms have been renovated, but the hotel lobby looks overused (there is free WiFi there).

The hotel food is also average. Be sure to eat out, as dinner here isn't cheap.

I recommend staying nearer to the center of town. For the same money, you can bunk at the YMCA Three Arches Hotel (just across the street from the King David).

Room Tip: Be sure your room faces south and not into the courtyard of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank priest22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Givat Ram
Ramada Jerusalem
Ramada Jerusalem
#58 of 99 in Jerusalem
17 reviews
Mount Zion Hotel
#19 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nachla'ot
21st Floor Hotel
21st Floor Hotel
#2 of 99 in Jerusalem
227 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#6 of 99 in Jerusalem
390 reviews
Hotel Yehuda
#9 of 99 in Jerusalem
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramat Rachel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramat Rachel Resort

Property: Ramat Rachel Resort
Address: Kibbutz Ramat Rachel | D.N Tzfon Yehuda, Jerusalem 90900, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#30 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramat Rachel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramat Rachel Resort offers first class accommodations and a kibbutz experience in the heart of Jerusalem. Situated in a tranquil garden, the hotel features large spacious rooms with views over breathtaking natural surroundings. The resort is surrounded by landscaped gardens, natural flora and large green expanses. The hotel staff offers dedicated personal service to guests. The resort is located just a 15 minute drive from downtown Jerusalem Nearby public transport offers bus connections to the city center every 20 minutes Free onsite parking for hotel guests Conferences and events are available and tailored to guest needs and requirements. Hotel Facilities: The hotel restaurant offers a buffet of Israeli and international cuisine for lunch and dinner, as well as a diverse Israeli-style buffet breakfast. A café and two shops are open to guests in the lobby. Due to scheduling changes in construction of Ramat Rachel's new Sports Center for summer 2017, only one swimming pool will be open this summer. The 1.20-meter pool has designated areas for laps and free swimming. Throughout the summer, guests can enjoy a new inflatable water playground, as well as Jerusalem's longest water slide. A children's pool will not be available for use this summer. Have a safe and happy summer! The Hotel Staff. The Sports Center is open to hotel guests from 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 pm. Entrance to Ramat Rachel's Sports Center-Country Club is free to all hotel guests. The facilities are modern and spacious, and the equipment is state-of-the-art. The Center is the perfect combination of utter tranquility and fitness activities of every type. The facility is equipped with the most advanced machines and equipment available, and experienced trainers are on site throughout the day. The Jacuzzi and dry and steam saunas, also open to hotel guests, are a great way to unwind while on vacation. Swimming Pools: A covered, heated pool is open every season of the year for lap swimming and any type of water exercise. In the summer of 2017, we will inaugurate new pools for the enjoyment of guests. Fitness Room: The fitness room at the Sports Center renews itself constantly to provide the most up-to-date, sophisticated machines and equipment available. It is open free of charge to guests in Superior rooms (age 16 and older), with a modest fee charged to other guests. Along with construction of the new swimming pools, begun this September2016 , we are renovating and upgrading the entire Sports Center. All activities will continue to take place during this time. We apologize for any temporary inconvenience. Adjacent to the hotel, guests enjoy access to diverse family-friendly kibbutz attractions: the Olive Park, Yair Lookout, an archeological site and 'Eyal Farm' - an eco-therapeutic farm that serves as an educational home in the disciplines of sustainability, ecology, environmentalism and animal rights. Nearby Attractions: Kibbutz Ramat Rachel overlooks Jerusalem's numerous historical heritage sites. It serves as the perfect base point for city tours and is also conveniently close to the city's lively nightlife and cultural sites, including the German Colony, The First Station, Chan Theater and Alrov Mamilla Avenue. Guests also enjoy the proximity to Yes Planet movie theaters, the Jerusalem Biblical Zoo, the Bloomfield Science Museum, the Israel Museum and the Hadar and Malcha malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ramat Rachel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramat Rachel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing