We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Over-priced travel lodge” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramat Rachel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramat Rachel Resort
Ranked #41 of 96 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Over-priced travel lodge”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2008

This is expensive for what it is. We paid US$200 a night. It's billed as a kibutz but you don't get a sense of that when you stay. It's like a giant, run-down, motorway hotel. It's full of tour groups and is on Jerusalem's outskirts.
The worst thing was the staff. Miserable, unhelpful and reluctant. Big thumbs down.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate-Adie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    82
    34
    9
    12
See reviews for
64
41
14
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
106 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2007

We were invited along with 30 other families for a family bar mitzva to Ramat Rachel. This is a perfect venue for having a quiet weekend such as a Bar Mitvza, Sheva Brachot, or family get-together. Ramat Rachel has multiple dining rooms and event halls such that 4-5 events can be going on at the same time and none will interfere with the other.

Our room was clean yet minimal. Soap and shampoo was via a wall dispenser, which I hate. Bring your own shampoo and soap if you don't like wall dispensers. The shower was hot with excellent pressure. No mini-bar or room safe. There was TV with HOT cables. Pillows were lumpy and uncomfortable and the extras in the closet were the same.

Food was plentiful and well above par for a 3-star hotel.

As I said, the room was minimal yet adequete for a quiet weekend with friends.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — Wall soap dispenser in shower
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hankn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metro manila
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2007

The swimming pool is good. The bedsheets are too old and never changed in our 4 days of stay. Staff can't express themselves in English. This is the worst hotel out of the 26 countries I'd been in terms of service. I had a buffet dinner in their restaurant. I first took an appetizer, and seat on the vacant table near the table occupied by 2 people. On my second bite, the restaurant manager grabbed my knife and fork from my hands and scolded me "breakfast only! breakfast only!" then he removed my plate and transfer it to another table. I was shocked! I just composed myself and left the place to avoid a bigger scene, thinking I have to deal with this in a civilized manner. I tried to complain in the Reception Area but they just ignored me. The following morning my husband and I talked to the hotel manager and he was very apologetic about it. They're giving us free lunch but we don't need it. His explanation: I was on the table which is supposed to be used only on breakfast - - I said the table besides my table was occupied and there's no signage stating so. He said, the fork and knife I was using was only for breakfast - - Why did they placed it there during dinner time along with the plates and how would I know, there's no signage that it's not allowed to use those utensils. Plate note that other diners are using these as well and the tables in the "breakfast" designated area was being used that night as well. Uncivilized people in what they call holly land! I won't go back to Israel again.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank raquelbrouwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2007

After traveling around Jordan and Israel, it was a wonderful surprise to pull up to this hotel - part of a Kibbutz. The service was gracious, the amenities very nice (loved the excellent laundry service!) and the setting beautiful with well-tended flower beds, pool setting, etc.

  • Liked — It was very clean, spacious and beautiful. It was a welcome change from some of the other places we'd been.
  • Disliked — location from downtown
  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BgC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2005

Not as convenient or pastoral as we thought it would be. You need to walk around the hotel to get to the pool, even though our fenced in patio was right next to it. The desk staff were freindly enough, but not very helpful or knowledgeable. We needed information about the EL AL Office in Jerusalem (12 Hillel St.) and were told the closest one was in Tel-Aviv. We asked for help in arranging a tour in the Old City (a service they imply they can provide on the website) but they shrugged and tried finding a guide in the yellow pages. The breakfast was OK, but why they had canned fruit at at he buffet is beyond any reasonable explanation.

Finally, even with security considerations, there was no reason for the emergency exit nearest our room to have a padlock on it so it couldn't be opened from the inside.

Helpful?
12 Thank kaplanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
A Little House in Bakah
#36 of 96 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
#29 of 96 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 96 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 96 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Nachla'ot
21st Floor Hotel
21st Floor Hotel
#2 of 96 in Jerusalem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramat Rachel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramat Rachel Resort

Property: Ramat Rachel Resort
Address: Kibbutz Ramat Rachel | D.N Tzfon Yehuda, Jerusalem 90900, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#31 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramat Rachel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramat Rachel Resort offers first class accommodations and a kibbutz experience in the heart of Jerusalem. Situated in a tranquil garden, the hotel features large spacious rooms with views over breathtaking natural surroundings. The resort is surrounded by landscaped gardens, natural flora and large green expanses. The hotel staff offers dedicated personal service to guests. The resort is located just a 15 minute drive from downtown Jerusalem Nearby public transport offers bus connections to the city center every 20 minutes Free onsite parking for hotel guests Conferences and events are available and tailored to guest needs and requirements. Hotel Facilities: The hotel restaurant offers a buffet of Israeli and international cuisine for lunch and dinner, as well as a diverse Israeli-style buffet breakfast. A café and two shops are open to guests in the lobby. The Sports Center is open to hotel guests from 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 pm. Entrance to Ramat Rachel's Sports Center-Country Club is free to all hotel guests. The facilities are modern and spacious, and the equipment is state-of-the-art. The Center is the perfect combination of utter tranquility and fitness activities of every type. The facility is equipped with the most advanced machines and equipment available, and experienced trainers are on site throughout the day. The Jacuzzi and dry and steam saunas, also open to hotel guests, are a great way to unwind while on vacation. Swimming Pools: A covered, heated pool is open every season of the year for lap swimming and any type of water exercise. In the summer of 2017, we will inaugurate new pools for the enjoyment of guests. Fitness Room: The fitness room at the Sports Center renews itself constantly to provide the most up-to-date, sophisticated machines and equipment available. It is open free of charge to guests in Superior rooms (age 16 and older), with a modest fee charged to other guests. Along with construction of the new swimming pools, begun this September2016 , we are renovating and upgrading the entire Sports Center. All activities will continue to take place during this time. We apologize for any temporary inconvenience. Adjacent to the hotel, guests enjoy access to diverse family-friendly kibbutz attractions: the Olive Park, Yair Lookout, an archeological site and 'Eyal Farm' - an eco-therapeutic farm that serves as an educational home in the disciplines of sustainability, ecology, environmentalism and animal rights. Nearby Attractions: Kibbutz Ramat Rachel overlooks Jerusalem's numerous historical heritage sites. It serves as the perfect base point for city tours and is also conveniently close to the city's lively nightlife and cultural sites, including the German Colony, The First Station, Chan Theater and Alrov Mamilla Avenue. Guests also enjoy the proximity to Yes Planet movie theaters, the Jerusalem Biblical Zoo, the Bloomfield Science Museum, the Israel Museum and the Hadar and Malcha malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramat Rachel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramat Rachel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing