We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exciting View of Bethlehem from Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramat Rachel Resort
Ranked #43 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hotel room was comfortable & there was a even an underground shelter to withstand Atomic Bomb blast. The shelter was like a bank vault. Food spread from Breakfast to Dinner were good.Staff were friendly & self service on Sabbath day as it was a rest day for staff.
There was a pool in the next building & a beautiful gym where the locals did their workout.
We were fortunate to witness an Israeli wedding at the hotel ground. As we are Asians, the Israeli came & touch & feel us if we were real . Some has not seen Asian before.
Our stay there was memorable,

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carsam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

My sister and I spent the entire Passover holiday at Kibbutz Hotel Ramat Rachel. It's been more than 50 years since I spent a Passover at a hotel and have ugly memories of it, so I didn't expect this Passover to be much better. Boy, was I surprised! It was truly AWESOME! The staff at Hotel Ramat Rachel must have been professionally trained to be courteous, helpful, pleasant, knowledgeable and patient. The food was excellent. It was not overly salty nor overly spicy. It was, in a word, DELICIOUS. The variety was unsurpassed and the quality, perfect. The dining room staff went out of their way to make you feel special. The rooms were clean and orderly. There wasn't much in the way of amenities, but that is a minor minus, considering how good everything else was. There was some entertainment at night, but the music was too loud so we didn't stay. Those who did, said it was excellent. Movies started at 11 p.m. The grounds surrounding the hotel are a garden of Eden, with myriads of roses and other flora, and benches and lawns for relaxing. There is a swimming pool and a gym, but we didn't use them. Those who did, looked "happy". Three tours were offered and for those who opted not to go on them, there were talks and lectures in Hebrew and in English. On Saturday there was a walking tour of the Kibbutz, especially to its Archeological Park. From beginning to end, this was a memorable holiday at Ramat Rachel. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helmet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We came to ramat Rachel on Saturday with kids. The room was not ready until 9:30. I understand that it is Shabbat but isn't check out at 10:30 AM? Shabbat was done at 7:30. The room should have been ready earlier. Other than that breakfast was good rooms were so so. I would probably not stay again unless my family insisted on staying there. It was expensive for the location and the quality.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Hammy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Ramat Rachel Hotel, which is part of the kibbutz of the same name, is a country like resort in proximity to Jerusalem.We could see the pool and water facilities from our window, even though we didn't use it since the weather wasn't that warm (also not sure that it's open yet). the surroundings are very green, and from them is the amazing view of the many scenic mountains on the south of Jerusalem.the lobby is large and totally accessible tohandicapped/carriages.
Archaeological findings from the area with explanations are mounted on the walls. In addition, a cache from the Independence War of Israel was found in this place and is exhibited with ptide under the lobby floor, illuminated under your feet! In general, this kibbutz (Ramat Rachel) is very connected to Jerusalem's battles for survival in 1948, year of the Independence of Israel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanramati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is one of the few Kibbutzim in Jerusalem. The resort is well maintained inside and out. The rooms are spacious and clean with a spectacular view of the City of Bethlehem. The food is very good and plentiful. I highly recommend this resort for those traveling to Jerusalem.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The plus: Well situated, friendly staff, good breakfast, good size room, good bar. Swimming pool with gym at 5 minutes’ walk. Good parking.
The minus: no Wi-Fi in the room (minimum those day), beds and duvet too short if you are tall. Room cleaning could be better.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Batrottet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The hotel is owned by the kibbutz of the same name. It is situated on the edge of Jerusalem with the no7 bus terminus located in the grounds of the kibbutz (most useful!) .A bus journey of 20-30 minutes takes you to the centre of Jerusalem and is a very frequent service, with the last bus from the city returning about 11pm
There is a large swimming pool - enclosed and roofed over in winter.
The breakfasts are excellent....buffet style and such a variety - changing somewhat on a daily basis.
Lunches and dinners looked very good although I never ate those meals there.

The bedroom was very clean and very pleasant although not indulgent,and the bathroom was modern ultra clean and very pleasant to use. I didn't use room service.
Reception staff are very friendly and helpful and the dining room staff are most attentive - mostly local Israeli Arabs.

I would return without hesitation

I recommend asking the reception staff to buy a day-voucher at the Crowne Plaza Hotel on the beach at Ein Bokek - Dead Sea, where you have access to loungers, swimming pool and spa but you really need to hire a car to get there. The voucher includes luch and afternoon coffe and cake. Well worth it

Room Tip: Possibly best to request a room looking towards Bethlehem.... you are looking over the local open t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Yehuda
Hotel Yehuda
#8 of 102 in Jerusalem
794 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
#39 of 102 in Jerusalem
472 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jerusalem International YMCA, Three Arches Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#19 of 102 in Jerusalem
2,114 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mount Zion Hotel
Mount Zion Hotel
#20 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,143 reviews
1.7 mi away
Arcadia Ba'Moshava Jerusalem
Arcadia Ba'Moshava Jerusalem
#3 of 102 in Jerusalem
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramat Rachel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramat Rachel Resort

Address: Kibbutz Ramat Rachel | D.N Tzfon Yehuda, Jerusalem 90900, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#30 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: £87 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramat Rachel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramat Rachel Resort offers first class accommodations and a kibbutz experience in the heart of Jerusalem. Situated in a tranquil garden, the hotel features large spacious rooms with views over breathtaking natural surroundings. The resort is surrounded by landscaped gardens, natural flora and large green expanses. The hotel staff offers dedicated personal service to guests. The resort is located just a 15 minute drive from downtown Jerusalem Nearby public transport offers bus connections to the city center every 20 minutes Free onsite parking for hotel guests Conferences and events are available and tailored to guest needs and requirements. Hotel Facilities: The hotel restaurant offers a buffet of Israeli and international cuisine for lunch and dinner, as well as a diverse Israeli-style buffet breakfast. A café and two shops are open to guests in the lobby. Due to scheduling changes in construction of Ramat Rachel's new Sports Center for summer 2017, only one swimming pool will be open this summer. The 1.20-meter pool has designated areas for laps and free swimming. Throughout the summer, guests can enjoy a new inflatable water playground, as well as Jerusalem's longest water slide. A children's pool will not be available for use this summer. Have a safe and happy summer! The Hotel Staff. The Sports Center is open to hotel guests from 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 pm. Entrance to Ramat Rachel's Sports Center-Country Club is free to all hotel guests. The facilities are modern and spacious, and the equipment is state-of-the-art. The Center is the perfect combination of utter tranquility and fitness activities of every type. The facility is equipped with the most advanced machines and equipment available, and experienced trainers are on site throughout the day. The Jacuzzi and dry and steam saunas, also open to hotel guests, are a great way to unwind while on vacation. Swimming Pools: A covered, heated pool is open every season of the year for lap swimming and any type of water exercise. In the summer of 2017, we will inaugurate new pools for the enjoyment of guests. Fitness Room: The fitness room at the Sports Center renews itself constantly to provide the most up-to-date, sophisticated machines and equipment available. It is open free of charge to guests in Superior rooms (age 16 and older), with a modest fee charged to other guests. Along with construction of the new swimming pools, begun this September2016 , we are renovating and upgrading the entire Sports Center. All activities will continue to take place during this time. We apologize for any temporary inconvenience. Adjacent to the hotel, guests enjoy access to diverse family-friendly kibbutz attractions: the Olive Park, Yair Lookout, an archeological site and 'Eyal Farm' - an eco-therapeutic farm that serves as an educational home in the disciplines of sustainability, ecology, environmentalism and animal rights. Nearby Attractions: Kibbutz Ramat Rachel overlooks Jerusalem's numerous historical heritage sites. It serves as the perfect base point for city tours and is also conveniently close to the city's lively nightlife and cultural sites, including the German Colony, The First Station, Chan Theater and Alrov Mamilla Avenue. Guests also enjoy the proximity to Yes Planet movie theaters, the Jerusalem Biblical Zoo, the Bloomfield Science Museum, the Israel Museum and the Hadar and Malcha malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ramat Rachel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramat Rachel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing