We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel. Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The American Colony Hotel
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Charming hotel. Excellent service”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We loved this place. We visited on our honeymoon so had the benefit of staying in a number of the finer hotels this region has to offer. I have to say the American Colony in unique. Set in a charming building with a fantastic courtyard bar, it is emaculately finished and the service is first class. We could not fault it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canihavearewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    208
    68
    28
    13
See reviews for
172
382
93
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We recently stayed in Jerusalem at the American Colony and the stay was excellent. The staff, from reception to the restaurants, were all very friendly and helpful. When we arrived, we were offered a welcome toast of champagne which was a nice touch. The room was well appointed and had a nice balcony to relax on. They included a note welcoming us to the hotel in the room, again another nice touch. We had lunch in the courtyard and while a little on the expensive side, was good. It was also nice to be able to get a beer here as it was during Passover and many other places in Jerusalem were not serving alcohol. The hotel is close to the Light Rail (about a 5-7 minute walk) which will take you to most places of interest in the city. We were a little concerned based off of some reviews about it being based in East Jerusalem but found this to be no problem. The breakfast buffet in the morning is one of the better that Ive had and is included. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattyC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I've been at the American Colony hotel with my wife and baby for one night on April. The hotel is a 19th century building with some newer extensions that bring the levant experience to life. The public zones are magnificent and there is no better experience then sitting in the patio and drinking a capuchino.

The front desk was very polite, friendly and helpful, they have agreed to upgrade our room if we post about the hotel on facebook, so we did that and got a superior room, with a balcony.

The room was designed beautifully in colonial style and was very clean. The bed was wide and very comfortable, the closet was sufficient for all our belongings.

We used to hotel's gym and pool, which were really nice and we enjoyed them very much.

The breakfast buffet included good bread, many kinds of cheese, salads, fruits, juice, coffee, eggs and much more which made it one of the best I've seen.

The hotel is located need other Israeli hotels, but on the arab side of Jerusalem, 15 minutes by foot from the old city and near the Tram station.

There were only one things that annoyed me, the first is that as an Israeli, the prices are not displayed in local currency and don't include VAT. This made me feel very uncomfortable with ordering food and extras. It would be very helpful to have a menu for Israeli guests, with prices in the local currency including VAT.

I would recommend this hotel to any one because of the unique facility and superior staff that make this hotel a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Check out the tripadvisor coupon. Ask if there's an option to upgrade the room if you share you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

As an israeli if you want to fill like a tourist in jerusalem,that is the place.
International atmosphere,beatifull suroundings.
Very good and large room,we took the standard room,good and very comfortable bed.
Very clean.
Nice and reach breakfeast.
A lot of parking place in the hotel.
10 minutes by foot to Damascus gate on the old city.

Room Tip: drink the arabian coffe in the garden retaurant. thake the taxi service from the hotel,don't dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shlomoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a recent trip to Israel and we would give the hotel five stars if it weren't for one problem.

The hotel and grounds are beautiful. The service was first rate. The breakfast buffer was awesome and our meals in two of the hotel dining venues were excellent. The hotel was once the home of a Turkish pasha and many of the furnishings are authentic period pieces. There is a central courtyard with a lovely garden and fountain. Having breakfast or a drink in the courtyard is a bit of heaven. Hardly less delightful is a drink sitting on a lounge chair around the swimming pool.

In sum, a lovely hotel with top-notch services. So what is the problem?

A display case in the lobby features some of the most anti-Israel books ever written--all for sale in the hotel. Granted the hotel is in not in the Jewish quarter of city. The hotel is not kosher and does not cater to a Jewish clientele. We are Jewish and at no time were made to feel unwelcome or uncomfortable--except when passing that book case with its exhaustive display of anti-Israel books.

I will give the hotel four stars and would add a fifth star if that bookcase were removed. For all that, we probably would stay here again on a future trip to Jerusalem.

Room Tip: You do want a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Luckysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Though a little taxi drive away from the old city, hotel grounds are an oasis, well maintained period feel to it. Book one of the sultan wives' rooms - these are wonderful 19th c settings.
Food is great, wine selection is perfect, staff is beyond attentive.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sotola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We were offered an upgrade when we checked into the hotel to one of the Pasha Rooms-Room 5 which was a huge ornate room on the second floor of the main building and overlooked the pool area. We never went to look at our orginal room-it was so nice. So, if you get a chance to upgraded to one of the Pasha Rooms we highly reccommend it. The whole hotel retains its late nineth century charm and made our visit special not that you really need to make a trip to Jerusalem more special, but it was a bonus. The hotel is located in the former area of East Jerusalem so it has an Arab flavor to it, but if you are comfortable with that, you will enjoy this hotel. There is a minerat close to the hotel so the call to prayer can wake you at 4:30 in the morning.

Room Tip: We highly recommend Pasha Room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravels18_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#17 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Colony Hotel

Property: The American Colony Hotel
Address: 1 Louis Vincent Street, Jerusalem 9720071, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The American Colony Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The American Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Colony Jerusalem
American Colony Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing