We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I visited for the Bar and food only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The American Colony Hotel
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
134 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“I visited for the Bar and food only”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I did not stay at this great hotel, but to use the bar and ate here on one occasion in the bar.
Walking in through the gates you can tell this is a quality hotel, which matches the prices you will pay.
The reception and lobby are immaculate and colonial, which just makes it very impressive.
The bar is reached by walking down a flight of stairs and into a dimly lit room with rooms off it for chairs, or choose to sit at the bar. Sadly smoking is allowed and if you remember the morning after smell of tobacco then you understand how unpleasant that is.
The food served here is not cheap, but is good quality and plentiful, with a fair option
The options as far as drinks go are good, also when you first think your paying over the odds, with a bit of research and seeing what others charge pro-rata for quality/quantity, it is actually fairly priced for this area/Jerusalem
I really would recommend popping in here, even if you cannot stay for a glass of wine and meeting the friendly staff

Room Tip: If you can afford it, it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    208
    68
    28
    14
See reviews for
172
382
93
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Unfortunately we did not stay here on our visit to Jerusalem but we will do next time!
We enjoyed a drink in the garden bar which is very stylish and relaxed. The tables are well spaced out, the service was quick and very friendly (see my review of Metropolitan Hotel, Tel Aviv) and the price of drinks surprisingly reasonable given the hotel's status and reputation.
It is clear that the Swiss management is having a significant impact on the standard of service.
We had already eaten so only saw other clients' food but this all looked good and seemed to be going down well. The wood-fired pizza oven situated near to the bar was used constantly during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOGtravellerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a classic hotel with great service and facilities. We stayed 5 nights. The room, the upgraded pasha suite was beautifully appointed and spacious. Beautiful black and white bathroom. The room was quiet and private. Great staff and service. Great breakfasts.

Room Tip: Pasha suite number 55. Quiet and private with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mkoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Matilda, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A classic hotel. Private, quiet. The room, a pasha suite was spacious and well appointed. Beautiful black and white bathroom. The staff was attentive and very accommodating great experience. . Great breakfasts.

Room Tip: The upgraded pasha suite room 55 was very private and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildernestlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

There cannot be any other lace in the world like the American Colony! Its understated class and charm exude from everywhere. Our room in the Palm House will never be forgotten. We had drinks each evening in the outdoor bar, and cherish that memory even now!

Room Tip: My wife had the BST massage of her life at the hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuincyKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is going to be a bit of a poor review, but when an establishment sets a very high standard, it is by those standards that it is judged. We did not stay so didn't see the rooms; we had a drink next to the courtyard and a meal in the cellar bistro. The site is quite beautiful, an oasis of calm on a side street, away from the frantic bustle of this wide-awake city. As we arrived, there was no greet. We sat and waited in the comfy chairs next to the door to the courtyard which acts as a daytime coffee shop. No one came. We went to fetch someone, who come a good ten minutes later. No drinks menu offered. The drinks - one beer and a pot of tea, took 35 minutes. No apologies. These members of staffs were not English speakers; they struggled. OK, we were in Jerusalem, but this is the American Colony; there is a clue in the name. This is where English speaking people, mainly US citizens and Brits stay. The quality of the food in the Bistro was average; two of us had burgers with indifferent fries and my wife had the squid starter as a main course which was very good. The house red was French (Corbieres) rather than local. All in all, l am glad we went, for the experience. But we wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBfromPateley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Just the nicest hotel I've stayed in. I always stay every time I'm in Israel. Great staff, lovely rooms, nice pool with a decent gym, a good choice of places to eat within the hotel and the summer garden is a very nice place to drink and have great food straight from the grill (on my last visit Woody Harrelson and John Cusack strolled in for a beer)

I can't rate this place high enough. People tell me it was better 10 years ago, well it must have been fantastic because it's doing fine now.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RichieEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#9 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#17 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Colony Hotel

Property: The American Colony Hotel
Address: 1 Louis Vincent Street, Jerusalem 9720071, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#10 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The American Colony Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The American Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Colony Jerusalem
American Colony Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing