We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Breakfast Brunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The American Colony Hotel
Ranked #11 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Edina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Awesome Breakfast Brunch”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a lovely, historic hotel in a great location. Our hotel room was adequate but because the air conditioning was not working/or not turned on our room got hot during the night. We opened the window but because we faced the mosque the call to prayer each morning woke us up at 5:00 am. Unfortunately, I was not able to get back to sleep and spent the next five days sleep deprived. The breakfast brunch in the mornings was extensive and fabulous. There way a wide array of fruit, salads, breads, sweet rolls, eggs, bacon, potatoes, salmon, and cheeses. The hotel staff was friendly and I would recommend staying here but if you are bothered by noise, ask for a room that does not face the mosque.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue, ask for a room that does not face the mosque with its 5:00 am call to prayer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMarieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    213
    68
    28
    13
See reviews for
177
387
93
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
haifa israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

it is an historic hotel with nice buildings and gardens. the location is medium. prices are high.
the main two problems are:
1. we visited a lot of the leading hotels of the world, and this hotel doesn't match the standards
in many different aspects of attitude, sevice and management.
the feeling is of a 4 to 5 stars standard hotel. in jerusalem there are lots of such inexpensive
hotels and some are even better located. of course there are also some high luxury hotels.
2. there is a mosque adjacent to the hotel. the prayers from the loudspeakers are very loud even
through glasses and earplugs. first pray at 5 am in the very early morning.
n.b. a tourist lady from canary islands asked us to mention that her room reservation, through
leading hotels of the world, was not recognised by the hotel and they didn't let her speak
with the manager.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strulovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Magical hotel in a fantastic location. The service is excellent. The rooms are nice and fit the type of hotel it is. They are neither decorated modernly or old. I can't explain it, but it fits the character of the hotel. You will love it. I promise.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face the entry way to the hotel. I think it's a little noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5starhippychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

A group of around 25 of us went for dinner.

We had the NIS 177 dinner menu, the tuna carpaccio was excellent, and the arugula complemented it very well.

NOTE that they discriminate against you if you don't specify your steak: a friend and I ordered rare, whereas everyone else did not specify. It was clear our steaks were far superior, being twice the thickness and twice the juiciness of the other non-specified steaks.

I guess that's how they save money, but even if you don't eat rare steak, it works just as well saying "medium well" (though anything above medium rare you might as well throw the steak in the trash). here's an econ lesson for you readers! Signalling is much more important than you think.

Ice-cream dessert was nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeisterJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Lovely hotel with old world charm. I wished I could have stayed longer. Close to the old city but in a quiet neighborhood. So what if you're next door to the mosque- it is a very quiet prayer and reminds you of the multicultural city that you're in. Breakfast was great--try some of their unique breads. Spend some time in the gift shop. There is a ton of really nice stuff and the owner is very nice and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: I was in room 45, had a corner bedroom with windows on two sides, big bathroom and a nice sitting ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntieMush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This historic boutique hotel is a little oasis in the city with gardens and old manor-style buildings. As we visited Jerusalem just shortly after the new year, it was the only place with a festive atmosphere. There were fairy lights everywhere and lots and lots of Christmas trees!

Hotels in the city are pricey, no matter the category, but I chose the American Colony due to its proximity to the old town. It’s a short 10-minute walk to the Damascus Gate so we didn’t need to bother with transportation. While our room was spacious, it could use some updating. The interior photos on the hotel's website also look more polished than in reality. As for meals, the buffet breakfast offered a variety of options but Val's Brasserie was disappointing (we could hardly chew the lamb and our waiter was not very friendly and attentive). Nevertheless, our meals at the Arabesque restaurant tasted much better.

In general, service also depended very much on the person you’re dealing with. This is quite a disappointment for a luxury hotel. In addition, for the room rate the American Colony charges, you might find better accommodation options in the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byphilosophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I have been coming to this hotel for years and I fall in love with it each time. It is truly magical with old cobbled stones, mosaics and an explosion of colour from the wisteria and bouganvillia. Its what you imagine an old palace would like like in the Middle East.
A fabulous lobby with a reception the right with archways to the courtyard is stunning. For me the atmosphere of the courtyard with its fountain flowers and trees are beyond description. I have spent many hours just sitting drinking lemonade or coffee and people watching.
The best best veal escalope I have ever had is here and in all the years I have come its constantly good. The service is fetidly if a bit haphazard I love the bar downstairs and dining in the restaurant beside it. My favourite room is the middle one off the courtyard that is a sunken suite with arched windows and steps the go up to a huge terrace that overlooks the pool and Jerusalem. I highly recommend it

Room Tip: Everyone has favourite rooms I love the three off the courtyard but the drawback if you want privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monasheaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#10 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,459 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,444 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#3 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,743 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
David Citadel Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Colony Hotel

Property: The American Colony Hotel
Address: 1 Louis Vincent Street, Jerusalem 9720071, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The American Colony Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The American Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Colony Jerusalem
American Colony Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing