We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique style hotel in Jerusalem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The American Colony Hotel
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Boutique style hotel in Jerusalem”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

An oasis of a hotel is busy Jerusalem. When you enter the gates to the hotel you see this low rise colonial style hotel oozing with class (part of the Leading Hotel Group). The check in was very prompt and welcoming. We booked direct and the hotel was happy to give us a free upgrade when asked (to Classic Pasha). The room was spacious - my only quibble would be that I would have expected a separate shower cubicle from the bath (I am tall and I hate having the climb into a batch and have to bend to take a shower) for this high end hotel.

We had B&B only and the breakfast was wonderful. Not only was the food varied and tasty (not just Kosha food), but the setting in the courtyard was a delight.

The swimming pool was closed as the water was still too cold in March (so no comment from me).

Location: The hotel is a 15 mins walk to Old Jerusalem or a quick 5 mins taxi. Easy to get to other restaurants in town.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if negotiating direct with hotel. If they have the ability they may offer you an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    212
    68
    28
    13
See reviews for
176
386
93
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I find this hotel to be one of best if not best hotel in Jerusalem. We had very pleasant stay, hotel staff were very kind and helpful, room was very comfortable and very clean, food is excellent all along the day including room service - very difficult point in Jerusalem, and total hotel atmosphere was excellent. Also, Garden is very nice and clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iscogd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Maybe someone can find something not to like here. Not me, this hotel just had everything. A perfect oasis in the dust of the city. A heated swimming pool in April is quite a find. The accommodation is in its own gardens away from the bars and restaurants and very quiet.

Room Tip: 205. But they all looked wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owner-lighthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Beautiful old hotel, comfortable rooms, nice atmosphere. We had dinner at Val's Brasserie and that was a disappointment with dull occidental food. Big disappointment. Breakfast was fine although the couryard was packed and we had to eat indoors at the Arabesque. Nice gym and pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a lovely, historic hotel in a great location. Our hotel room was adequate but because the air conditioning was not working/or not turned on our room got hot during the night. We opened the window but because we faced the mosque the call to prayer each morning woke us up at 5:00 am. Unfortunately, I was not able to get back to sleep and spent the next five days sleep deprived. The breakfast brunch in the mornings was extensive and fabulous. There way a wide array of fruit, salads, breads, sweet rolls, eggs, bacon, potatoes, salmon, and cheeses. The hotel staff was friendly and I would recommend staying here but if you are bothered by noise, ask for a room that does not face the mosque.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue, ask for a room that does not face the mosque with its 5:00 am call to prayer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMarieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haifa israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

it is an historic hotel with nice buildings and gardens. the location is medium. prices are high.
the main two problems are:
1. we visited a lot of the leading hotels of the world, and this hotel doesn't match the standards
in many different aspects of attitude, sevice and management.
the feeling is of a 4 to 5 stars standard hotel. in jerusalem there are lots of such inexpensive
hotels and some are even better located. of course there are also some high luxury hotels.
2. there is a mosque adjacent to the hotel. the prayers from the loudspeakers are very loud even
through glasses and earplugs. first pray at 5 am in the very early morning.
n.b. a tourist lady from canary islands asked us to mention that her room reservation, through
leading hotels of the world, was not recognised by the hotel and they didn't let her speak
with the manager.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strulovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Magical hotel in a fantastic location. The service is excellent. The rooms are nice and fit the type of hotel it is. They are neither decorated modernly or old. I can't explain it, but it fits the character of the hotel. You will love it. I promise.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face the entry way to the hotel. I think it's a little noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5starhippychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,458 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,438 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#3 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,741 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
David Citadel Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Colony Hotel

Property: The American Colony Hotel
Address: 1 Louis Vincent Street, Jerusalem 9720071, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The American Colony Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TravelUp, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The American Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Colony Jerusalem
American Colony Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing