We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th stay in five years and it keeps on getting better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The American Colony Hotel
Ranked #11 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“4th stay in five years and it keeps on getting better!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have stayed here four times so far and it's starting to feel like home away from home.
I visited Jerusalem with three cousins of mine and we had a wonderful experience at this boutique hotel. First of all, the staff recognized me from my previous stays. They were all welcoming and gracious. The breakfast staff, especially the lady who does fresh flat breads with zaatar is always smiling and accommodating. The fourth floor that we stayed on is the floor where Lawrence of Arabia stayed. It felt very special. We had dinner a couple of nights in the bistro and it was cozy and good quality. The gardens are very romantic and well kept.
I love coming back to Jerusalem and staying at the American Colony again and again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balzac51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    212
    68
    28
    13
See reviews for
176
385
93
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

One of the loveliest hotels I've ever visited. It's true, the face-to-face service is not always perfect. But the beautiful building and courtyard, extremely comfy rooms and bathrooms, and fantastic food made up for that. The bar (much but not all of which is smoking) was a great place to unwind at the end of a long day, and made for interesting people watching. It was too cold for the pool, but it seemed clean etc. Overall, a wonderful experience in a charming, Palestinian run hotel in old East Jerusalem.

Room Tip: The rooms around the courtyard are the best but can lack privacy as they open onto a communal space
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hdesilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
444 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A stylish old world style hotel - with gorgeous outdoor garden spaces located well away from the maddening crowds of Jerusalem. Lovely rooms - we stayed in the East Wing (annex) instead of the Main Building - and were charmed by the tall ceilings, free-wi-fin and spacious baths. Room decor itself was a bit old- fashioned (not necessarily a bad thing) - but furniture felt a bit too crafty). Front desk staff (and staff in general) were less than ebullient at our arrival - a bit of a turn off that frankly cost them a star in our opinion. Buffet breakfast was first rate - and a real value. We waited quite a bit of time to be served in the charming bar/winecellar - and they DID allow cigar smoking which is a real put off - but the wine/alcohol selection was excellent and the atmosphere was inviting (save the smoke). Pool wasn't open - but you could see how gorgeous it would be in season. The King David would still be our first pick in Jerusalem, but this is a nice, much less expensive (and quieter) alternative.

Room Tip: Ask of a top floor room in the Main Building - you will feel a bit out of place in their annex build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel has a genuine old world charm. The pool and patio areas add kindly to the ambience of this boutique property. The food variety and quality are both good. The remaining essentials with respect to your overall customer experience is less than desirable. The staff appears to have little to no training. The details of a quality hotel operation is void. Lobby and room furnishings are beyond normal wear. Smoking is allowed in the very tight spaced bar so the entire room smells. Ultimately it is a hotel that has a great promise though needs more seasoned management and fairly sizeabe improvements to the physical property.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samuelre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

An oasis of a hotel is busy Jerusalem. When you enter the gates to the hotel you see this low rise colonial style hotel oozing with class (part of the Leading Hotel Group). The check in was very prompt and welcoming. We booked direct and the hotel was happy to give us a free upgrade when asked (to Classic Pasha). The room was spacious - my only quibble would be that I would have expected a separate shower cubicle from the bath (I am tall and I hate having the climb into a batch and have to bend to take a shower) for this high end hotel.

We had B&B only and the breakfast was wonderful. Not only was the food varied and tasty (not just Kosha food), but the setting in the courtyard was a delight.

The swimming pool was closed as the water was still too cold in March (so no comment from me).

Location: The hotel is a 15 mins walk to Old Jerusalem or a quick 5 mins taxi. Easy to get to other restaurants in town.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if negotiating direct with hotel. If they have the ability they may offer you an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I find this hotel to be one of best if not best hotel in Jerusalem. We had very pleasant stay, hotel staff were very kind and helpful, room was very comfortable and very clean, food is excellent all along the day including room service - very difficult point in Jerusalem, and total hotel atmosphere was excellent. Also, Garden is very nice and clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iscogd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Maybe someone can find something not to like here. Not me, this hotel just had everything. A perfect oasis in the dust of the city. A heated swimming pool in April is quite a find. The accommodation is in its own gardens away from the bars and restaurants and very quiet.

Room Tip: 205. But they all looked wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owner-lighthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#10 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,458 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,437 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#3 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,740 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
David Citadel Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Colony Hotel

Property: The American Colony Hotel
Address: 1 Louis Vincent Street, Jerusalem 9720071, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#9 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The American Colony Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The American Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Colony Jerusalem
American Colony Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing