We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the price if you're only going to be in Jerusalem once”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The American Colony Hotel
Ranked #9 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth the price if you're only going to be in Jerusalem once”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Wonderful hotel, great pool and sauna, great gift shop, overall, one of my favorite hotel experiences. It was expensive, but I was in the mood to splurge on perhaps my only visit to Jerusalem. It's so beautiful to have coffee in that garden with the fountain bubbling and watch the taboon bread being made. I wish the staff had explained how easy it was to use the tram - would've saved us some money on cabs. But once we figured it out, we found it very easy to get to Old City, Machaneh Yehuda, Yad Vashem, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    203
    66
    27
    13
See reviews for
167
377
91
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived here on our honeymoon initially aiming to spend three days but within 30 mins we had extended it to 5.
Due to the airline disruptions we had to stay an extra day and the staff could not have been more understanding as to the fluid situation.
The hotel exceeded our expectations in every way.
The tranquility of the pool; the beauty of the surroundings and the professionalism of the staff was unsurpassable.
We have stayed at the KD before but this Hotel is better. Why?
In essence the colonial feel and atmosphere generated by the variety of guests is intrinsic to a unique experience.
Muslims, Jews, Christians and secular all mix with a mutual respect and sometimes engage in stimulating discussions.
All are equal and just like a salad the variety of patrons ensure that a truly different experience is had by all.
The hotel has an intimacy about it, the friendliness of the staff is not in any way false or based upon an expectation of gratuity or reward. It does not suffer from the saccharine 'American' type hospitality but rather is founded upon a real desire to ensure that ones stay is exemplary.
Special mention to Diana, Yehiye and Jihad although it seems bad to mention only a few staff when they were all great.
Unsung heroes are the gardeners who provide the most wonderful tapestry of colours.
No complaints except I wish I could mark the hotel higher.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank dcweymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Gourmet resturant in the hotelgarden. Excellent for a quiet lunch or evening dinner. Nice pool next to the "cellar" bar, and a location in walking distance to the Damascus gate. A perfect "hideaway" spot in Jersusalem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

OK so its been a few years since i stayed and the hotel is still great, staff incredible. . but wow the prices have gone through the roof. All made worse by the NIS strengthening against the US$. .in fact its so expensive it would make me think about staying some place else.

Room Tip: stay away from the Mosque . . the call to prayer at 4am is really cool the first time you hear it (b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdvsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Superb hotel, an oasis of peace and tranquility in an incredible city. Staff were by far the best I'd come across in Israel - friendly, helpful and very professional. Our room was huge and really well fitted out. Although it was in the new wing, it wasn't easy to tell as it had been built in character with the rest of the hotel with the walls were adorned with old photographs from the historical collection the hotel has and odd pcs. of antique furniture. We loved the garden bar and restaurant where the service was excellent and atmosphere excellent. On last night it was too windy to sit out, so we went to the courtyard restaurant witch again had superb setting if a little more formal. Here I have my one complaint, as I ordered what was described as a local dish. It came as described as potato stuffed with minced lamb in a vegetable broth, but wasn't up to much. The potato was under cooked, the minced lamb very bland and well the broth was a broth - bland. Shame, because other than that 10 out of 10 for this unique hotel. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Jerualem if I were to return.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MRA1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had a truly memorable stay with the American Colony in June. First, the manager gave us an upgrade to the suite that we had booked, and the rooms were unbelievable. The hotel itself is an oasis and refuge from the Old City, and gives you the feeling of staying at someone's home while still having all the attributes of a true 5 star hotel. The courtyard in the main building is full of character and ideal for just relaxing with a drink, or having a bite to eat. We ate two nights in the beautiful outside gardens, we recommend the flatbread pizza and a nice bottle of local wine ! A special thanks to the Hotel Manager, to Mr. Shakarneh the Head of Housekeeping and his crew, and we want to specially call out two young waiters, Abu and Mu'Taz for making our stay so wonderful. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex uk and Jordan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Had been told about this hotel from friends. Check in was excellent and we were up grade de from our Pasha classic room to pasha deluxe which was very nice I deed. We decided to go get so e lunch, this was disappointing as we waited for almost 10 minutes and had to ask for the menu, despite saying we wanted to eat we were given the drink menu only. Then asked again for the food menu. Eventually we got a drink and then food, not service we would have expected and other outlets we used were much better than this experience. Pool is great as is outside evening summer drinks. Staff on the reception were all very nice, overall a very nice stay despite the first lunch service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnolds07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#16 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#10 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Colony Hotel

Property: The American Colony Hotel
Address: 1 Louis Vincent Street, Jerusalem 9720071, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The American Colony Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The American Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Colony Jerusalem
American Colony Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing