We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“American Colony Nice but expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The American Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The American Colony Hotel
Ranked #10 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“American Colony Nice but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

I spent 7 weeks in the American Colony which was lovely the decor in the hotel is stunning. Found the staff to be lovely and the rooms were kept exceptionally clean. The only thing i found irritating was there never seemed to be any glasses in the room and as i was there for so long it was annoying having to phone to have someone bring glasses every other day as you start to treat your room a bit like home when your there so long. The garden bar is great and when the staff get to know you you don't have to ask for your drink they just bring it and they always made you feel welcom. There's a cool book in reception telling you all the famous people who have stayed ther which is really intresting. The food in the hotel is ok but nothing fantastic concidering the statuS of the hotel being one of the top 100. This is a fantastic hotel to stay in if you can afford it very expensive

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkerbell147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    199
    64
    28
    12
See reviews for
159
368
90
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

The hotel is within 10 minute walking distance from the Old City. The building (especially the famous courtyard) is an oasis of silence in bustling Jerusalem. Personell was very courteous and helpful. Breakfast is of the highest international standards. The rooms are spacious and clean and include all amenities of an international 5 star hotel

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gator2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

We stayed in suite #6. Loved all the grounds of the hotel. It's like an oasis in crazy Jerusalem. Only a 10 minute walk to the Garden Tomb. You will need a taxi at night as there is nothing around for night time. The outdoor cafe is lovely for breakfast or lunch. You can have dinner there too if you like. We chose to eat at the Rooftop restaurant at Mamilla Hotel. If you eat there make sure you get there a few minutes before sunset. It's a very cool/New York vibe kinda place. Ask for a table by the edge. All in all very happy with the American Colony. It's a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodtrips01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

This used to be a great hotel. I have stayed dozens of time over the past 20 years.
It has lost it's mojo. Be particularly careful I'd having your bill padded by the Shinkansen who runs the cellar bar.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FGOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

The American Colony was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. It is a Small Leading Hotel of the World and the service lives up to the title. We had originally reserved two nights at the standard room rate, but decided to go to Jerusalem a day early. There was no standard room available -- only a Junior Suite, which was several hundred dollars more than what we had reserved. However, the manager agreed to give us the Junior Suite for 3 days at the rate of the standard room, since no one had reserved it. Many hotels around the world would not do this, even if business were bad.

The Junior Suite was gorgeous, spacious, and with a private terrace. Bed was very comfortable. Decor was classic and colonial. The bathroom had a rain shower as well as a gorgeous black and white bathtub - in front of a private TV. We took a bath every day after a long day of sightseeing as we watched the news. It was lovely. The hotel decor in general is very historic (part of the reason of going to the American Colony) and lovely.

The breakfast buffet was also great - great variety, top quality in terms of food. The restaurants are great for dinner as well and the Cellar Bar is a "spot" in Jerusalem - where all the diplomats/politicians/NGO people go. Jerusalem is not really a party city, so it helps to have one of the most happening bars in your hotel. Also, there is free internet access at the business center for guests.

The service was great as well - I got sick and called the front desk who sent rose water and hot milk to my room. Location in East Jerusalem is a 10 minute walk from Damascus Gate and the Old City - very convenient for tourists.

The only caveat I would give is this place is a bit stuffy for younger people -- it's not a place to really meet other young travelers, and because it's so nice and comfortable if you are here on a leisure trip, it might mean you stay in your room a little more than doing sightseeing... a good budget option is the Hashimi Hostel in the Old City which we visited and heard many good things about.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cantakavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
374 reviews
358 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 623 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

I was a bit disappointed, having heard so many positive comments about this hotel. For me the American Colony is close to being a tourist trap. The so-called "hotel history" attracts a lot of typical tourists, especially American, so be prepared for a corresponding (lack of) dress code. Although I personally like and seek historic hotels, this place seems to overstretch it's historical relevance. A lot of it's history is just plain boring. The general feeling inside the building is that of a medieval cellar. Not really a place I want to spend several nights in. In summer, this may be different, because you can spend time in the outside areas and they look very nice. The pool was under total reconstruction. This is not the right hotel for a business traveler who should rather opt for The David Citadel (which in turn lacks character and is a faceless could-be-everywhere hotel) or The King David (which is just as cold and dusty as the American Colony, but it has a little more space and grandezza.) A Waldorf-Astoria is currently being built.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

My 3rd stay at the American Colony, in January 2010, was superior to all of my earlier excellent experiences. The staff's attention to my personal care and comfort was wonderful. My room in the newer section was spacious and the beds are very comfortable. In the past I have stayed in the older section and enjoyed the older style with great comfort. The restaurant service is excellent, and the menu is above average. When I was there I met the new consulting Italian chef who was going to work on new menu entries, and I look forward to returning for those new meals.

The only shortcoming I noted was the weak wireless signal in certain places, including my room, but I was able to obtain a cable and get the connection I needed.

The manager is accessible, bright and energetic and committed ot the personal care and comfort of all guests.

I highly recommedn this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfjoyner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#15 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#11 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Colony Hotel

Property: The American Colony Hotel
Address: 1 Louis Vincent Street, Jerusalem 9720071, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#8 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The American Colony Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The American Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Colony Jerusalem
American Colony Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing