We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family trip”
Review of New Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Imperial Hotel
Ranked #51 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great family trip”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is a grand old place. The location is excellent. The building, which like the rest of the Old City, is built from stone. It is a bit run-down but full of character. We all loved exploring it, including our 7 year old daughter. The large lounge areas are very interestingly decorated. Our bedrooms were smallish but clean and the bathroom was good. We did not miss the lack of a TV in the room. The staff were friendly (but had a dry sense of humour that some may mistake for unhelpfulness). They are genuine local people and if you treat them politely they treat you well and are helpful. Do not expect the latest comfort and most modern facilities, but a visit to Jerusalem is special and this hotel is special.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jed1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    104
    55
    28
    16
See reviews for
62
94
47
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Location is EXCELLENT. Staff not so friendly. Breakfast, stale. Got charged more than what I booked online for, then told credit cards not accepted, had to run and find a money changer. Shower barely large enough for a small woman (me), plumbing terrible. Mattress had barely any stuffing. Israeli TV was banned, only Palestinian and Saudi channels allowed. But the location was worth it.

Room Tip: If you don't plan on spending much time in your room, like we, then go ahead and book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chapina17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Despite the fact that the hotel rooms are a bit rundown, the hotel is located in the heart of jerusalem's Old City at Jaffa Gate. The location is great!

Breakfast is included, however nothing special.

I would recommend this hotel if you're not looking for anything fancy.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The New Imperial Hotel is one of the few options if a person wants to stay in the Old City of Jerusalem. This hotel is a mere 100 meters from the Jaffa Gate. A beautiful building dating to the last half of the 19th century, the decorations and ambiance make this a wonderful place to stay. The management is friendly and helpful, and there is a cafe right outside the main entrance, plus many other restaurants (my favorite was Jacob's Pizza, around the corner) offering Middle-East fare. The proprietor is a well-known, well-respected hotelier who adds a great deal to the appeal of the New Imperial Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LakePanorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdynia, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

because if this is the new and presumably improved Imperial, imagining an earlier model is unsavory business. Now, this hotel is not without its advantages: great location just inside Jaffa Gate; modest rates; friendly and agreeable staff. It's the absence of, or flaws in certain basics that induce me to submit a largely negative review. Soap had to be requested. Plumbing failed several times. There was never warm water, despite promises to correct this problem. Mattresses must have been stuffed with bricks. And though I had no interest in breakfast beyond a cup of coffee, I couldn't help but notice the slim, rather unpleasant pickings on offer: stale white bread, a few squashed purple grapes, packaged cereal, and instant coffee. For $70 a night, I certainly expect no luxuries, but do expect basic comfort. New Imperial Hotel cannot provide this.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

As everything in Jerusalem are expensive, imperial is also a little higher than our budget. However, my husband really wanted to stay inside the old city. after checking a few hostels and hotels, imperial seemed to be the best.

The location is awesome. Close to many main attractions and in The Christian Quarter. When I first saw the room, i thought it was dated. Sink in the room instead of the bathroom. Toilet pump was a little tricky but we managed to get it working.

On our first night, we couldn't find the remote to our Air con. So, we went down to the reception. The keeper came and turned it on for us but insisted he had to take the remote back with him. The second night we had to ask again but the keeper this night requested for payment. After a long explanation on how we got the room with AC, he agreed (not very nicely) to turn it on for only an hour until midnight. The toilet behind the breakfast area was dirty. Need a little attention in that area.

Of course the hotel also has it good sides. In fact alot of good factors. First, the owner is super. He ptovided us alot of help around and make our trip to Bethlehem, Dead Sea and Tel Aviv so easy. Million thanks to his guidances.

The hotel is decorated very neatly with plenty characters. Little sitting areas here and there make you feel like a home.

The hotel itselves is pretty good. Good location, decoration etc are good. However, i think a good revamp of staffs' professionalism and attitude will make the hotel much better.

Overall, I like the hotel and if we go back again, I would go back to Imperial.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We arrived on 2 January 2011 and stayed for three nights. It looked like the place has not been cleaned in about a hundred years. The breakfast room was terrible with dirty tablecloths, no serviettes and if you were not early you hardly got breakfast. Rooms were also dirty. The only good thing about this place is the location.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boeksak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
The Sephardic House
#53 of 101 in Jerusalem
137 reviews
Golden Walls Hotel
#49 of 101 in Jerusalem
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eldan Hotel
#28 of 101 in Jerusalem
716 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#45 of 101 in Jerusalem
229 reviews
Notre Dame Guest House
#17 of 101 in Jerusalem
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Imperial Hotel

Property: New Imperial Hotel
Address: Jaffa Gate - Old City | P.O. Box 14085, Jerusalem, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — New Imperial Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your New Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Imperial Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing