We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of New Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Imperial Hotel
Ranked #48 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Grover Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. Great location. Breakfast was excellent, friendly and professional service. The hotel was beautiful and nicely appointed. Great value. I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lori l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    95
    51
    25
    14
See reviews for
55
84
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed at the New Imperial Hotel for four months while studying in Jerusalem. If you're a traveler looking for an awesome location and indifferent to special amenities - this could be your place. But, if you are looking for a more western-world resort type locale inside the ancient city you will be sorely disappointed. It's cleaned, but not too much. Plumbing is only functional. Get up early if you are looking for a hot shower. Rooms are not all alike - so there's no telling what you may get. And, you may have to try a couple of rooms before one passes your inspection.

This hotel is a cultural experience, inexpensive, and puts you inside the Jaffa Gate of the Old City of Jerusalem. You can have a great time staying here, but it is not for everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side face into a sometimes noisy alley. Offer a tip and ask politely to look at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
906 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Location, location, location, and the price is right. There were no $50 rooms available, I was told, but hotel did not seem at all booked, and since it was approx the same price for booking a single in nearby hostel, it seemed ok. This hotel has seen way better times, and could really use a good cleaning--for instance, I know pigeons poop, but there is no reason to leave it on the tiny window balcony, unless you're in the guano business. I'm used to less than Hotel 6 Formica cleanliness, but the balcony and bathroom could have/should have been much better.
What everyone says about the breakfasts is true, get there early or do without. Each day there was something not there that was there the day before, one day no eggs, next no halvah, next no olives. There was always milk and cornflakes, if that's what you eat.
The proprietor is old world courtly, and walking down that wonderful staircase, I almost expected to greet Freya Stark, or possibly General Allenby. This hotel has a definite charm, but not as good as it should be.

Stayed May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriahm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

After three days of no room service and our supply of toilet paper running perilously low we discovered you have to leave the room key at reception if you want a visit from the staff. Breakfast selection is very good, salads, humous, cheeses, bread, zattar, halva, egg and fruit. But please wash those tableclothes. Rooms can be quite noisy at night because of building work and traffic. Superb location in the old city. We've stayed here three times.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wernerschweizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is a grand old place. The location is excellent. The building, which like the rest of the Old City, is built from stone. It is a bit run-down but full of character. We all loved exploring it, including our 7 year old daughter. The large lounge areas are very interestingly decorated. Our bedrooms were smallish but clean and the bathroom was good. We did not miss the lack of a TV in the room. The staff were friendly (but had a dry sense of humour that some may mistake for unhelpfulness). They are genuine local people and if you treat them politely they treat you well and are helpful. Do not expect the latest comfort and most modern facilities, but a visit to Jerusalem is special and this hotel is special.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jed1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Location is EXCELLENT. Staff not so friendly. Breakfast, stale. Got charged more than what I booked online for, then told credit cards not accepted, had to run and find a money changer. Shower barely large enough for a small woman (me), plumbing terrible. Mattress had barely any stuffing. Israeli TV was banned, only Palestinian and Saudi channels allowed. But the location was worth it.

Room Tip: If you don't plan on spending much time in your room, like we, then go ahead and book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chapina17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Despite the fact that the hotel rooms are a bit rundown, the hotel is located in the heart of jerusalem's Old City at Jaffa Gate. The location is great!

Breakfast is included, however nothing special.

I would recommend this hotel if you're not looking for anything fancy.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
The Sephardic House
#51 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#24 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Notre Dame Guest House
#22 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Walls Hotel
#45 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#31 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Imperial Hotel

Property: New Imperial Hotel
Address: Jaffa Gate - Old City | P.O. Box 14085, Jerusalem, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — New Imperial Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Imperial Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing