We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience”
Review of New Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Imperial Hotel
Ranked #55 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The staff was kind, adn respectful!!
When we went to sleep at night, we forgot the key outside the door. No one touched it all night. During breakfast we woke up late, and the staff was very kind in bringing us more food even though breakfast time was over.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for New Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

If we had been traveling during a warmer season, I might have given this hotel a higher rating. But I wasn't. I traveled in February. And it was about as cold inside as it was outside. And frankly, comfort matters. After a long day of sight-seeing and learning, it would have been great to go back to the hotel room, warm up and rest. During the winter, find another place. During regular travel season, this place will do.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The location is excellent, although the entrance a bit hard to find. Nothing wrong with the cleanliness, but everything is old and ramshackle. The room was freezing cold in January, possibly partly because the air condition couldnt be turned off. Couldn't get warm water on the tap, so I didn't even attempt showering. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. Wifi worked most of the time. This is a cheap place, staff is friendly, for 1 night stay everything was fine. Maybe I would give a worse review if I had to stay longer and actually take a shower in the tiny cupboard.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Helinela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

They cover the necesseties without a lot of frills. We had a room on the street, which led to some noisy interruptions in the night, on occasion. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tvlrs_from_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Its about $100 nightly for a room with air conditioning. The location could not be better! Its just within Jaffa Gate in the Christian quarter. The entrance is hidden down an alley. We were right near it but couldnt find the entrance. I asked a man who pointed us in the right direction and then we had no problem. The area was plenty safe and contrary to what we heard, we were able to stroll around in the evening (after dark). The local shop/restaurant owners will solicit you but they seem harmless (just a bit pushy). Avoid eye contact and keep it moving if you dont want to be bothered. There is a little ice cream shop and some eateries right in the area. There is music playing in the area from a nearby attraction and lots of people/tourists.
We chose this hotel because of the price, location, air conditioning (you have to request a room with air conditioning/they dont all have it), and free breakfast. It was a good value because of the location but nothing about it was a steal. The old building is really cool but its dusty (large and old; not unsanitary). The room was the same way. The bathroom did not look nice with all sorts of weird patchwork. However, the room was large and plenty sufficient.
The breakfast was good enough for our purposes. I just ate cereal and/or toast. There is not a lot of selection. The hummus and other items just freaked me out a little because of the general feeling of the place. I wondered how fresh the items were. But my husband ate some of it and said it tasted fine. Again, it was not filthy, just a bit dusty and an old building.
The decor is really interesting! Its a Greek Orthodox place. The walls are hung with old pictures of "Palestine." There are manikins and other kitchy stuff. This was kind of fun for us.
You have to carry your luggage up several flights of stairs (there is no elevator). The front door will only upon upon being buzzed in by the front desk so it is secure. We only had to wait a few minutes to get buzzed in once (presumably b/c the front desk person was busy). The front desk staff is very nice and accommodating. You have to get the hair blow dryer from the front desk (not one in room).
It was a great view out of our room window but a little noisy outside with the people traffic. But it didnt bother us one bit while we slept.
It wasnt easy to make the reservation in advance or get questions answered. I had to email several times to get it all done. But eventually we did. We would probably stay there again because its a good value due to the great location.

Room Tip: You have to request a room with air conditioning. They do not all have them.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trav3llov3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Had some doubts after seeing the reviews, but Jerusalem doesn't offer you lots of choices for good price in a good location. This definitely happen to be the one!

- The location couldn't be more perfect, just next to Jaffa gate, 10 min walk to Western (Wailing) wall, 5 min to Church of Holy Sepulchre and 10-15 min walk to the new city with all the bars. Just amazing!
- Staff is very nice and helpful
- You can purchase day trips via them to Bethlehem or Masada will be cheaper than in Tourist Centre nearby. One to Bethlehem was excellent
- Breakfast is nice

Yes, the rooms are worn out and need renovation, furniture is old, shower is tiny, but if you spend most time exploring the city, then this place is for you.

Had no problem in winter as we had heater. Internet wasn't 100% stable but was fine. There're channels in Russian and English.

For people who love comfort, may be, it's not the choice, but for younger couple who doesn't want to stay in hostel with 10 other people, it was an excellent choice!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Viktor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This hotel is excellently located at the entrance to the Old City in Jerusalem. Nothing could be closer. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. They treated us well when we were stranded by the snow - was the worse snowfall in fifty years but we had electricity, hot water and heating. Wifi only worked on the ground floor - ask for a room there if this important to you. Also if you don't like walking up lots of stairs ask for a room on the ground floor. Breakfast was a good selection. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor do not have wifi. There are a lot of stairs unless you get a room on the gro...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuneDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
The Sephardic House
#53 of 101 in Jerusalem
142 reviews
Golden Walls Hotel
#48 of 101 in Jerusalem
231 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#45 of 101 in Jerusalem
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eldan Hotel
#33 of 101 in Jerusalem
733 reviews
Notre Dame Guest House
#18 of 101 in Jerusalem
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Imperial Hotel

Address: Jaffa Gate - Old City | P.O. Box 14085, Jerusalem, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: £73 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — New Imperial Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your New Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Imperial Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing