We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still amazing after all these years...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. George's Cathedral Guest House
Ranked #3 of 57 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Still amazing after all these years...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

I've stayed here twice, once twelve years ago and again last May. It hasn't changed a lot, nor would I want it to.

It is, at heart, a pilgrim guest house, though there is nothing overt about its religious background other than its setting in the courtyard of the cathedral. But it has the architecture of a cloister (which is what it was), and the calm that you expect from a retreat house. Furnishings are basic but perfectly adequate, the breakfast is good (lovely hummus), and the staff are friendly but not intrusive. The cathedral congregation come in to the garden after the service on Sundays and you can meet some interesting people.

The one thing that has changed is that the view from the garden is now over to three massive hotels, but that leads (as much does in the Holy Land) to a political discussion irrelevant here. What it does pay to realise is that this guesthouse is in East Jerusalem, which means different buses - and different beer! The guesthouse serves a Palestinian beer, Taybeh, which was a real revelation. Drinking a cold one in the garden as the sun set was heavenly...

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking the garden is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    53
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
30
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

Well, they got some things right: a good heater, good shower, and a decent (Arab) breakfast. The bed was OK though the pillows were rather massive and uncomfortable.

My main issue was the snoring. The walls were so thin that the snoring of the guy in the next room (not a guest I think, but someone who lives on the grounds) came through loud and clear. Even after I took a sleep aid and played some music on my laptop I still had a hard time falling asleep, which is rare for me. And in the end, if you can't sleep, it's not a good place to stay.

Service was cold. No one ever asked how things were or if I needed anything. I felt like the man at the desk thought he was doing me a favor by letting me pay $110 for one sleepless night. I much prefer the Syriac Catholic Guesthouse which is affordable and closer to the Damascus Gate, and has better service.

I have stayed in many places in Jerusalem throughout the years because business takes me there once or twice a month from Nazareth, and I will certainly not stay at St George's again, even though I am an Anglican and St George's Cathedral is my bishop's church.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Xphilosopherking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Stayed at 'The Cathedral' for three nights in October 2012 at US$110 per night (no taxes) and was given room #1. This is a quaint , basic place to stay but it is kept clean and orderly. They do have a bar in the basement that expats meet at. When they run the A/C at this bar the whole wing becomes noisy but they close the bar at midnight.

Room Tip: Rooms over the bar can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiliyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
244 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

This guest house is not for those who want US style accommodations typically found @ properties like Marriott, Hilton and the like. This hotel is a charming large stone structure, reminiscent of the middle ages Churches. The enchanting courtyard garden in full bloom is an oasis amid the heat and congestion of the city. It was especially delightful to sit under the large umbrella next to the Peace Pole and listen to the daily calls to prayer.

There's coffee and tea available around the clock. The breakfast is typical middle eastern - various olives, yogurt, cheeses, pickles, hummus, pita breads, and a different variety of eggs served each morning. There's also a different juice served daily and granola and cereal.

The rooms are spartan but cleaned and mopped daily. The mattresses are a little thin and hard. Each room has two twin beds, night stands, bathrooms, air conditioned and flat screen TV. TV is in Hebrew or Arabic so we never bothered to watch; plus we were seldom in the room. Bring a wash cloth - none are provided. The towels were changed daily.

We chose a room on the second floor based on the recommendations of other Trip Advisor reviewers. We never heard any noises. One wonderful service - Laundry can be done for $10 US. Fill the white plastic bag with dirty clothes, deliver to the front desk and its returned freshly laundered and folded by 2 pm.

There are two computers in the large lounge area with adequate but slow connection speeds. Wi-Fi does not reach the bedrooms well. I recommend travelling with your own laptop or Ipad which should get better reception than the pc's in the lounge. We had to constantly reboot the router to clear the cache.

The hotel is conveniently located near the Damascus Gate, one of the entry points to the old city of Jerusalem. The St George Cathedral is worth a tour as is the smaller chapel off the courtyard. Flowers abound throughout this property.

The Guest House is safe. The heavy gates are locked at night and the front desk has closed circuit TV watching the front door and perimeter. Some rooms have wall safes so ask for a room with a safe.

I would definitely return to this guest house the next time I visit Jerusalem.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room. Also, be careful when walking the corridors. The step up or down are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FLTraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
105 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

This b n b was an awesome surprise. They had a lovely garden and tea and coffee 24/7. The breakfast was great and if they ran out of anything they would bring it right out. The rooms were adorable but as I was on the ground floor I could hear alot of comings and goings. There was a pamphlet explaining the very interesting history of the guesthouse. The location was great and it was a short walk to everything. they also served dinner downstairs in the alumni club and it was very nice. The cathedral on site was very nice as well. All in all a very nice welcoming place.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gijadenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Great location near Damascus Gate and near lots of street life.

The rooms near the dining hall are quite noisy...hence the no sleep. Not only are people coming and going at all hours, but the set up for breakfast meals starts early. There are nice rooms on the second floor with less noise so request those!

Food can be very good.

Staff was friendly and helpful...and patient.

There are 2 computers for use of the guests and WIFI is available at no charge.

Felt safe and secure within the walls.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the Dining Hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank LisboaUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Located behind thick stone walls and a gate closed/locked at night, St. George's Guest House on Nablus Road--near the intersection with Saladin-- felt very safe, comfortable and cosy to me after a long flight from Miami to Israel. My single room was located on the ground floor across from the apartment of the cathedral's Dean. It was more than adequate in size for me and I found it simply but neatly furnished and very clean. No complaints at all.
Breakfast was served in the loggia of the courtyard and eaten in the guesthouse garden. It was a fine meal in a lovely location. I highly recommend St. George's.
Cost for single twin room with breakfast was 110.00 USD.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pippilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#9 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#16 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#31 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
City Center Jerusalem
#26 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Cathedral Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Cathedral Guest House

Property: St. George's Cathedral Guest House
Address: Nablus Road 20 | St George's Anglican Cathedral, Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. George's Cathedral Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George`s Cathedral Guest House Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing