We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spartan but Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jerusalem International YMCA, Three Arches Hotel
Ranked #35 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Spartan but Great Location”
Reviewed 7 July 2009

My wife and I stayed for three nights in July, 2009. As others have commented, the hotel and the rooms have seen better days. The rooms are in need of paint, cleaning and updating. Two very thin towels for two people; sink that drained slowly; one curtain missing and we had a room at the back overloking a construction site with bright floodlights on all night - we ended up hanging a blanket over the window!! Too bad it is such a beautiful building and a great location. Buffet breakfast was OK. I would recommend but be prepared.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Whistledown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    196
    98
    21
    15
See reviews for
122
134
55
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

We last stayed here in July 2006 and the rooms/hallways appear to have been recently spruced up with fresh paint schemes, carpeting and more. Bathrooms seem improved as well. While still basic accommodation, the rooms are certainly not a place I would steer people away from. Despite a review from last summer which bemoaned the declining condition of the hotel, it seems that things may be looking up after all. The restaurant still serves good and reasonably priced food (for Jerusalem) and is a welcome respite from the kosher fare in other nearby establishments if that is a consideration for you. In the warmer months the adjoining terrace is a lovely place for a meal or just a drink. The location of course cannot be beat and is close to the Old City as well as more modern establishments. It appears that most, if not all ,of the Jerusalem rental car offices are just down the street so it's a great location for picking up a vehicle as we did for the next phase of our trip to the countryside. This is an historic and friendly place that deserves your patronage.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VT76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2009

Stayed here in 5/2008. The location was probably the best aspect of the hotel - about a 10 minute walk to the old city as well as Ben Yehuda. The building itself is amazing, but the rooms are extremely basic. I got sick with some stomach illness and was basically in the hotel room for three days straight, and more comfortable furnishings would have been nice (tiny tv, bedding consisted of two overlapping sheets in order to cover a queen-sized bed, teeny tiny window). For those that are going to spend little time in the hotel room, it would be adequate. Restaurant was very good and reasonable and we ate there two out of our four nights. We had a red-eye flight out and the front desk let us use the locker rooms for the athletic facility downstairs to shower before we left for the airport, even though we had already checked out. Next time, I might consider staying in a different hotel and pay a bit more for a more updated and comfortable room, but again, everything else about the hotel was great.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evayoungney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

The YMCA in Jerusalem, located on King David Street, was a great find at only US$90/night. This beautiful arched building with colorful tiles was build by same architect as built Empire State Bldg. The room ceilings were high, much light, a refridgerator, hairdryer, private shower & tub, internet access, laundry, pool, satellite tv, etc. The food in the restaurant was very good, thoug not kosher. It was nice taking the elevator downstairs at night to buy a drink. Note, this building directly across from the King David Hotel and behind the KDH a great park and Montefiore windmill. It is only a 12 minute walk to the Jerusalem Theatre. The YMCA is easy access to the Jaffa Gate entry to the Old City, and if you like shopping, you can walk thru the new Mamilla shopping center to get to the Old City gate. The near by Kosher Olive & Fish Restaurant has a nice selection of wines and great food. I was alone on this trip and felt totally safe in the area. Though there is construction going on nearby, there is no working due to the Sabbath from Friday to Saturday sundown.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertMonsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

We went on a tour of Israel with a group of 17 people and we stayed at the YMCA for five days at the end of our tour. You need to put things into perspective that this is a country that is emerging, and European standards are not the same as the USA. The room was comfortable with two twin beds next to each other, clean, a full private bathroom, the heater worked but was not needed except to take the chill off. We had family style dinner buffet with normal choices of food to include chicken, beef, and fish. The best food choices and quality of the four hotels we stayed at. The vegetables are a delight, and the salads great, and some fresh fruit. This location allows easy access by walking to the Old City.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4cents-worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeastern Pennsylvania USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2008

Stayed the first week in August 2008. Second floor room, small but serviceable, TV small but serviceable, bathroom ditto. Bed thin, seems to be two beds side by side. Problem is that they use sheets and covers that will only stretch over 2/3 of the bed. So they use 3, one for each side and one in the middle and they aren't quite as long as I am, 6 feet. So by morning the bedclothes are in a complete shambles and one is becoming cold. The good news there, however, is that the air conditioning is quiet, constant, and if you want, cold. There were riotous junior high kids in the hallways at night but the noise didn't penetrate into the sleeping area of the room very much and so that was OK.

The elevator is old, tiny, noisy and scary. I walked downstairs just to halve the chances of claustrophobic failure, but rode up and nothing bad happened. Staff are jaded but not impolite, restaurant pricy and nothing special, free breakfasts are varied enough so you'll find some things you like, although they never change one day to the next.

Timed distance to the Jaffa Gate at a moderate walking speed is 15 minutes, going through the new and upscale and boring Mamilla shopping mall on the way. On the whole, a good place that just needs some wider bedclothes.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bedclothes
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sdavies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

I stayed here for a night, I intended to stay for my entire trip, the air conditioning and elevator were broken and the bed had fleas, I got bitten up, I moved into the Eldan next door immediately, its great

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank lucy_abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Eldan Hotel
#28 of 101 in Jerusalem
714 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#30 of 101 in Jerusalem
601 reviews
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#25 of 101 in Jerusalem
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,019 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerusalem International YMCA, Three Arches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem International YMCA, Three Arches Hotel

Property: Jerusalem International YMCA, Three Arches Hotel
Address: Rehov HaMelech David 26, Jerusalem 91002, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jerusalem International YMCA, Three Arches Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The YMCA Three Arches Hotel, with its 152 ft high central bell tower, is a Jerusalem landmark recognized the world over. Designed by the world famous architect of the Empire State Building, the hotel offers a blend of old world charm, friendly hospitality, art works and architectural wonders, together with modern, comfortable accommodations to ensure a pleasant and memorable stay in this remarkable city. The external facade of the hotel bears intricate sculptures and inscriptions in English, Arabic and Hebrew reflecting the YMCA's historical role as a meeting place and a spiritual haven in this intense and ancient city. The beautiful gardens and lawns, graceful shade trees, and stone pathways around the hotel are open for our guests' strolling pleasure. The hotel's public areas feature high-ceiling halls and walls often lined with colorful modern works of Israeli and Palestinian artists. The elegant Archibald C. Harte Restaurant restaurant serves culinary delights to our guests, with its garden terrace a delightful oasis in the midst of the city on sunny days and mild evenings. That same sense of tranquility pervades the hotel's rooms and suites, where guests may relax and gather their strength for days of sightseeing or meetings in bustling Jerusalem. The ancient Jaffa Gate, main entrance to the fascinating walled Old City, is just a few minutes' walk away, as are shops, vibrant cafes and restaurants as well as the cultural attractions and night life of the modern metropolis. Three Arches Hotel awaits your arrival, at the very heart of Jerusalem, where peace and quiet reigns, with a pervasive sense of welcome and well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Jerusalem International YMCA, Three Arches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerusalem International Ymca, 3 Arches Hotel
Ymca Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing