We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not live up to the hype”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, OH
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Did not live up to the hype”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I've stayed here before and at the King David; they are not even in the same category.
Service is a problem. Ask for more soap and wait two days. Approach the front desk and have no one bother to greet you, ask what you need, or try to help.
Rooms are not quiet at all. The hallways are wide and there are many families with young kids staying here, which encourages children to run through the hallways and for parents, teens, etc., to hang out in the hallway and chat at all hours. Our room was on 4th floor right off the lobby and there was a lot of noise that carried up through the atrium too.
Pool area is nice but too small for this hotel given the number of guests; difficult to get a lounge chair.
On the plus side: location is excellent, 20 minute walk to most places of interest in western Jerusalem and to the old city. Very nice breakfast with custom omelets.

Room Tip: Try to get as far away from the lobby as you can; rooms facing the courtyard get the noise from folk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gefilte63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shlomit F, communications and social media manager at Inbal Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Gefilte63 from Columbus OH

Thank you for taking the time and effort to write this post. The Inbal hotel strives for excellence, and our guests' comments invaluable to us. I am sorry that we did not meet with your expectations on this visit. Your comments were taken on board and the necessary adjustments will be made.
I hope you decide to give us another chance, to prove to you that we can do much better.
I will make a note in your profile, so that should you decide to come back to us, you will be allocated the quietest room in the house. In order to enable me to do that , i would be grateful if you could write to me on my personal email with your full name and your room number to shlomitf@inbalhotel.com


kind regard,

Shlomit Ferber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,266
    333
    107
    40
    16
See reviews for
619
486
74
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I have stayed at the Inbal twice...with Precept Ministeries Tour. it is absolutely beautiful beyond words. A dream come true for this girl in Kentucky. The food is delicious , the hotel gift shops are stunning. The staff is superb. Every evening they come to your door , offer you fresh towels and give you chocolate!. A short walk from hotel to Old City....wonderful! I

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The hotel has a special authentic atmosphere , which can only felt in Jerusalem, the proximity to the old city, and the excellence oriental service at the restaurant, were the highlight of our staying.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aviram L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We paid $US530 per night to stay on the executive floor. The room was ordinary.

What idiots we were. It turned out to be a very bad decision.

We stayed here for two nights after staying at the King David for two nights. The King David was full or else we would have stayed there for all four nights.

This hotel does not compare with King David at any level. Full stop. Any of the other majors would have to be better than this.

Why? Most senior staff we came in contact had a bad service ethic to the point that you felt you were lucky to be there.

When you stay here you get one bottle of water when you arrive. That's it. If you want more you buy it outside or you pay for it inside. As an executive floor member you can go to the lounge and consume refreshments but you are unable to take anything to your room.

Well, we came home about 9.00 pm one night and wanted some water for our room. We called room service and they said we would have to pay for it. We explained that we were paying $530 per night, we were on the executive floor and surely they could provide some water. Room service came with some water and the bill came with it. Can you believe that.

We subsequently spoke to the duty manager who defended the policy. but being who we are we did not accept what he said and insisted he provide some water free of charge. They did.

I depend on access to my computer. I trade shares. One early morning I woke up to find the WIFI not working.

I spoke to several people including the duty manager and they all gave me the run around and no commitment as to when it could be fixed. Eventually an hour and a half later I was told it might not be working until the afternoon. I told them I had specific software on my laptop and that I could not use the computer in their Business Center. Were they at all concerned or were they committed to get things done faster. NO.

You make up your own mind. Do these people deserve a bad review? Absolutely.

Would we ever consider staying there again. Absolutely not.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterDAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shlomit F, social media and communications manager at Inbal Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear Peter D from Australia

I thank you for taking the time to write and post your concerns here. I apologize if we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. The Inbal invests money tome and effort to make our guest's stay as co
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We were here for a week and loved this hotel. Its location is not as good as David Citadel - it is a good 15 minute walk to the Old City. However, everything else about this hotel was excellent. The morning breakfast was delicious with too many good options (not as good on Shabbat as expected). Really great breads and croissants, omelettes, humus, salads, pancakes, etc. The dairy/fish restaurant was also very good. The rooms were clean, and the free wifi appreciated.
We really liked Olive & FIsh across the street (had good non-fish options as well). We did not like the pizza & beer place across the street - terrible.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We spent 11 nights at the Inbal in Jerusalem, in an executive room with a beautiful view of the so called "new city" and the view was beautiful. The hotel is close enough to the ancient city, without having to be in the middle of pedestrian and road traffic as on King David Street. It is 15 to 20 minutes walking distance from the Mamila Mall that leads you into the ancient city, ten minutes from the German Colony, and pretty central to most of the sites. For a few dollars more, the executive lounge room was worth it, with an outdoor patio, lite food served 24/7 with the exception of closing one hour each day; great if you didn't feel like dining out ever meal. Breakfast in the main dining room was bountiful. The hotel is very clean and the service is good. It has a really nice workout (gym) facility) and a 25 meter pool, set with lap lanes, but unfortunately management (spa and other) do not enforce their own rules regarding lap lane swim etiquitte. So, if you are a serious lap swimmer adjust your routine and schedule accordingly. The only problem that we had with the hotel, and we would return despite this, is that the service drops a notch on Saturdays. I suppose this is because of the sabbath, and high season crowds. Unless you are traveling in a group, have children, or go during the off or shoulder season, I would avoid the Inbal dining room for the Saturday meal. This meal was expensive, with lesser quality food and only fair service.

Room Tip: Even if you do not have a view of the ancient city, you will be very happy. If you are staying for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Our hotel stay was very good! We traveled as a family of 5 (3 kids ages 10, 14, 16) and had two comfortable rooms with a common door. We liked this feature very much as it made it easy to communicate and check on the kids. The staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was complimentary offering a full buffet spread. I would say it was average/good compared to the buffets we enjoyed in Tel Aviv and Eliat. They have a nice coffee shop and lounge area where we spent the late afternoon and early evening waiting for our late pickup back to the airport for a midnight flight. Wifi is complimentary - another plus. Location, price, quality were positive. Last but not least, I highly recommend the restaurant on the corner called Fish and Olives.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TripsalotFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,003 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#10 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,477 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
David Citadel Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,974 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inbal Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inbal Jerusalem Hotel

Property: Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
Address: 3 Ze'ev Jabotinsky Street | Liberty Bell Park, Jerusalem 9214502, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#2 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#3 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Inbal Jerusalem Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inbal Jerusalem Hotel, Finest Hotel in Jerusalem, situated in the heart of the city offers a luxurious experience with modern amenities and facilities. Built from authentic Jerusalem Stone both inside and out, and overlooking the Old City walls and Liberty Bell Park. Superb dining and luxurious facilities include an Exclusive Executive Lounge, a wide variety of family rooms and Suites,the Sofia Italian Restaurant, a year-round swimming pool, fitness room and free wireless internet access. The Hotel also offers free parking for guests (upon availability). Please note that the swimming pool will not be available from 22 October until 5 November 2017 due to renovation works. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inbal Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inbal Hotel Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel Inbal
Inbal Jerusalem
Jerusalem Inbal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing