We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it much”
Review of The 7 Arches Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The 7 Arches Hotel
Ranked #71 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Liked it much”
Reviewed 27 December 2009

We have to remember that we are in another country, different culture for those that gave it less than great scores.
Actually, it wasn't 2006 that I stayed there, it was twice before, one in 2000-01 and 2003-04. Those dates weren't an option to pick.
The staff was very nice, the food was great, along with the wonderful view of what we came to see in the first place..... Israel.
I could have slept on a blanket in the street because I was thrilled to be in the land. I am glad we had the hotel instead. I think it was a very nice place and would love to go back. Also, the land is not called Palestine. It is Israel....... the land of Israel.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serdlc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    24
    14
    17
    8
See reviews for
13
14
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lee, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Spent a few nights at the 7 Arches over Christmas. It's a fine place to stay, BUT travelers must know exactly what this hotel is. First - it's the former Inter Continental built on a Jewish cemetery during the time Jordan was in control of East Jerusalem. Second - it hasn't been touched since that time - furnishing are all from the mid- 1960's - clean but old. Third - it's in an Arab section of town and very difficult to get to the Western sections of the city. Fourth - the staff is terrific and very accomodating. Fifth - the food and restuarants are not kosher - the food is very good, but just be aware that Jewish dietary laws are not observed here. Sixth - no pool. Seventh - a fine place for Christian pilgrims - but a very poor choice for anyone else.

As I said - as long as travelers know what they're getting this can be a fine hotel and make a terrific base for a good trip to the Holy Land.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eilat59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington (near Manchester)
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2009

I only stayed in Palestine for 2 days but I enjoyed my short stay there very much and it was mirrored by my time spent at the 7 Arches Hotel. I was satisfied with the standard of the hotel however I think that the service could have been improved.

I was told that you could recieve free two-pin adaptors from the reception but when I asked to recieve one inorder to charge my phone, I was told that it was too late at night and that I should try in the morning. When I did so in the morning, they told me they had run out of the adaptors! I was told by the Reception staff that I couldn't buy any in the local area and would have to go into the Old City. But because we had a tour planned for the day, I was not able to go into the Old City to buy myself an adaptor! The day after that was Friday and all of the shops in the Old City were closed! So I had walked around with a dead battery for 2 whole days and unfortunately couldnt record any videos of The Temple Mount or any of the other Sites I visited in Palestine.

However, despite the Adaptor Crisis, the staff of the hotel were very friendly and welcoming. But the most spectacular thing about the 7 Arches Hotel was it's location with magical and inspiring views of the Dome of The Rock and Masjid al Aqsa!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AccyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogotá
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2008

OK.... so far the hotel isn't that bad, but the customer service is TERRIBLE.

For starters, who ever heard of charging $ 1 dollar a minute for calling a toll free line?!!?!!? God!! That simply made me mad. If you take this into account and the condecending tone of the shift manager, you get one horrible experiencie.

Yes, you have to take into consideration that for USD 70 (that's what I paid per night), you can't expect much. But after looking into the other prices within the hotel, that's where they hit you! Not in the accomodations but in everything else you might want to try.

Anyway, if your planning on staying (just to sleep in), its marginaly decent. Either way, please, do try to avoid it.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The fact that they want to charge you an arm and a leg for everything else.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling-guama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

INDIANAPOLIS
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2008

Not a luxury place to stay at all. however, room is at least comfortable with great views. breakfast is pitiful and the service mediocre. overpiced.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nogoodscallywag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2007

While traveling through Jerusalem, I booked the Seven Arches Hotel by mistake and spent two nights there rather than at the Three Arches YMCA. The Seven Arches occupies a prominent location on the Mount of Olives, overlooking the Old City. However, one needs public transportation or a car to access the Old City or other parts of Jerusalem. A former Intercontinental Hotel, the present hotel is in decay and survives through budget tour groups, mainly from eastern Europe. While there is evidence of new paint and wallpaper, the carpets, plumbing and furniture do not appear to have been updated. The tennis court may qualify as an antiquity.

The hotel is three-story but has only stairs, not elevators. Our room had a queen bed, chair and desk. The breakfast buffet was included with the room and was quite filling. Fast wireless internet is available in the lobby. While the buffet is available for all meals, it is possible to order ala carte in the Bistro.

Even with the issues described above, the price is low and it is possible to have an enjoyable stay at the Seven Arches.

  • Liked — Low Price
  • Disliked — Not Well Maintained
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
398 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2007

The 7 Arches Hotel in Jerusalem is on the top of the Olive Mountain and offers a magnificent view on the Old City of Jerusalem.

The 7 Arches Hotel has 196 rooms. It was offered to me as an alternative hotel, as the place I intended to go was fully booked. My first impression confirmed my feelings that this is not the place where I want to stay, but as it was only for one night and the bill was already paid, I went for the experience.

Unfortunately the hotel has been run down. When approaching; it is strange to find the hotel gardens full of weed, then by entering I noticed that not only the gardens but the property as well needs badly to be looked after.

The long gangways to the rooms are full of dust. The roomI stayed #606 ismelled mouldy. The furniture is old and partly ruined. The bed sheets and the towels were clean, but one of the bed sheet had a big whole. I complained at the reception and the room was cleaned during the time I was visiting the Old City.

The TV did not have any remote control and the picture was unclear. The bathroom was clean but the sanitary installations were old and full of stains, calcite deposits.

The breakfast was OK, nothing fantastic but acceptable.

The visit to the Olive Mountain should be part of a visit in the Holy City. If you want to stay on the Palestinian side of Jerusalem, I recommend the Ambassador Hotel, or as an alternative the Meridian (near Salahuddin Street), the Golden Wall known as Pilgrims Hotel (former Golden Tulip at Damascus Gate) or even with some reserves the Knights Palace in the Old City. Don’t spoil a memorable stay in this unique place by a mediocre hotel.

  • Liked — The beautiful location
  • Disliked — The hygiene, cleanliness and the over lack of maintenance.
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Riesst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#57 of 99 in Jerusalem
123 reviews
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#77 of 99 in Jerusalem
163 reviews
Mount of Olives Hotel
#75 of 99 in Jerusalem
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#55 of 99 in Jerusalem
185 reviews
Commodore Hotel Jerusalem
#52 of 99 in Jerusalem
166 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#34 of 99 in Jerusalem
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 7 Arches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 7 Arches Hotel

Property: The 7 Arches Hotel
Address: Mount of Olives Place | PO Box 19585, Jerusalem 91190, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The 7 Arches Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Seven Arches Jerusalem is the southern slopes of the Mount of Olives, not far from the Mount Scopus and looks out from the west, at the Old City of Jerusalem with perhaps one of the more beautiful, most inspiring views of living ancient history in the world. To the north, the hotel overlooks the backdrop of the hills of Bethlehem surrounded by large Green Garden. In an effort to better serve our guests, Hotel Seven Arches is proud to announce that our renovation project is now in its final stages, and will be completed in one month. Your stay will now be even more enhanced by the upgraded rooms, restaurants, and lobby area. Our rooms freshly renovated in 2016, few of them with the best view of Jerusalem, now offer modernized, convenient features. Rooms are completely refurbished from carpet to curtains, furniture to fixtures, while the bathrooms are newly refreshed with all new bathroom hardware, lighting and mirrors. Hotel Seven Arches is a short distance from the ancient historical and religious sites of the Holy City and is the perfect base for excursions to Bethlehem, Jericho, Masada, Galilee and beyond. Transportation from Ben Gurion International in Tel-Aviv to the hotel is 50Km (31-60 min. by taxi), and from the hotel to the city center of Jerusalem is 3 km (2-5min. by taxi). Official languages are Arabic and English, Hebrew is widely spoken, and many speak French, German, and Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The 7 Arches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Arches Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing