We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location - parking is a myth”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Eldan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eldan Hotel
Ranked #24 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location - parking is a myth”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

Hotel advertises parking. We arrived mid afternoon on 13 Dec and told the clerk that the car was right outside in what we thought was the Eldan Jerusalem lot. She didn't say anything and the next morning there was a 100 Shekel ticket since it is metered parking, not Eldan's lot. While we were inside complaining it was ticketed for 14 Dec. I spoke to the manager who assured me that she'd right a letter so that we would not be billed for non-payment of the fines. We also did get a spot in their so-called garage which was so tight that our car incurred $166 USD of damages. Just got billed $22 USDx2 so clearly she did not do as promised. We should have turned in the car and gotten another one 3 days later. Room was good value and with decent breakfast and location is perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty much the same so no real issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travelat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    241
    99
    21
    21
See reviews for
205
188
50
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

Quiet small hotel, which turns out to have great facilities, in a great location and friendly staff. Rooms are comfortable, room service is a bit lacking, but overall a good experience. I was very happy with my stay in this hotel overall. prices were reasonable and i would be happy to go again and to recommend to anyone out there. great hotel, great city. it really enhanced my visit

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eliy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

The Eldan is ideally located within walking distance on the Old City, Jerusalem Great Synagogue, Mamilla Mall and other sites. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food is decent.

However, the rooms and services e.g. Internet, food, etc. are significantly overpriced. The hotel is dated and even though a triple room for three adults was booked a week in advance, we arrived to find two adequate single beds and a smaller fold-up bed with no linen nor duvet suitable only for a child.

We recommend that the hotel rather be advertised for what it is than promise what it is unable to deliver.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

Spent 4 nites at the Eldan--this is my 4th trip to Israel in the past 10 years. Very good location (but most hotels in Jeru are as good). The desk help was VERY nice, the breakfast was the worst i ever had in Israel (it was not that bad, but it is so much better everywhere else). I think you could probably do better elsewhere--I wont stay here again. Also, the place has a LOT of chutzpa not offering free internet

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

We stayed at the Eldan for a week, and while it was clean and in a great location, I will definitely look for an alternative place to stay on the next trip. Rooms were small and frugally furnished and appointed. No place to sit in the room other than the bed or a desk chair. 2 nights while we were here it was quite busy. Adjacent doors slammed most of the afternoon and shook my room. No character; just a clean place to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

The Eldan Hotel is in a wonderful location in Jerusalem, a few minutes walk from both the Old City and downtown Jerusalem.

The rooms are clean and well maintained. They are comfortable even though they are not very large, but after a day's work or touring you don't need more. The staff is pleasant and attentive. Breakfast is plentiful with enough variety of options to suit everyone.

A great place to stay in Jerusalem without spending big bucks.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oreet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

We stayed here a few years ago and enjoyed the stay. The rooms were nice and well maintained. Unfortunately, I can't say the same now. Everything was more drag and dingy. The lobby and room needed a new paint job. The room, while not dirty, could have used a good deep cleaning. The hairdryer in the room was broken, and when I mentioned it, they knew exactly what was wrong, and gave me a different one for the next day. If they knew, why did I have to ask? The double beds are two twins pushed together. It took some re-doing of the sheets and blankets to make it into a double for us.

The location can't be beat, and if you don't mind the lower end of a 3 star, this might be the place for you. The breakfast was great, with a large selection. The staff was fine. With some TLC, I would recommend this place again. As it is now, I just can't.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FayMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Prima Royale
#21 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#15 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldan Hotel

Property: Eldan Hotel
Address: 24 King David St., Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eldan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a magical setting overlooking the old city walls, in the heart of the central tourist area, an intimate boutique hotel awaits you, which only Jerusalem can offer. The hotel rooms feature cable television, air conditioning, a mini-bar, telephone, work area, safe and Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The hotel offers a number of rooms that are accessible for the disabled. The hotel is located in walking distance from Jaffa gate and the Mamila Street, the city’s vibrant shopping and entertainment center. Eldan Hotel, which features 76 spacious and well-fitted rooms, will help turn your visit into an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eldan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing