We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid at all cost! Dirty, smelly, neglected and outdated” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lev Yerushalayim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lev Yerushalayim
Ranked #52 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid at all cost! Dirty, smelly, neglected and outdated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

It’s hard to start a comment when there are so many bad things to say.
Just to put it in a few words, it is the worst place we have ever stayed at. And we’ve stayed in a lot of hotels in every continent over the last 30 years.
The hotel is extremely outdated. Everything looks old, gross and dirty.
As you enter the hotel, the first impression you get is you are in a 70’s badly maintained hotel that has never been renovated. It always smelled awful and was never clean at all. The carpets on hallways were tore down and full of stains, there were marks in each and every wall as well as on every wooden handrail along the hallways.
We were shocked at the state of the rooms, and in particular the bathrooms. The room was sickening and nauseating. It always had a sewer like smell, there were stains all over the place (on sofa, on chairs, on bed covering, on curtains, on walls), the bed sheets were full of someone else’s hair (gross…), the doors were thin and light as cardboard, the windows glasses were paper thin and its frameworks very old, so it felt like being on the street. The mini refrigerator door was broken on the inside and the TV frame too. The TV wall-outlet was broken (I’d say inexistent) and cables where kept together with tape. What a botch!!! As this made me worry about the kids, I called maintenance, and the man who came told us it was because other rooms needed to share the same TV signal... Unbelievable! The bathroom was like…hell. Tiles were cracked and full of holes, with mold in between almost all of them, bathtub and toilet where chipped, mirror was rusty, and the lighting was dated and insufficient. The faucet (mixer tap) was cracked and rusty, and didn’t work well. The shower curtain, which I assume was originally white, was pinkish with mold at the bottom half and yellowish with some holes and tears on the upper half. To make a picture, the kids didn’t want to go back to the hotel even after being literally all day walking up and down Jerusalem.
Every time we went to reception to complain, they acted lazy and unhelpful. And if we insisted, they started to yell at us and making comments in Russian between them, which we found very rude and impolite, since we speak English and Hebrew fluently.
About the location, I can say is quite good, though the area right under the hotel building is not. There is passage under the building (it leads to the hotel stairs you need to climb in order to get to the entrance/reception) that was extremely dirty, always full of rubbish and urine as it’s sort of a shelter for drunk people at nights, and there’s also a very run down department store on one side that make together a really bad impression, particularly at nights, certainly not giving a feeling of safety.
If you want to stay in the area, I can assure there are lots of much better places around (if not all of them) at similar prices (I spent a couple of hours investigating all the nearby hotels, so I know exactly what I’m talking about). I still don’t know why some people say it’s like the cheapest option in the area…
So, for your sake, AVOID this hotel at all cost. You’ll be grateful to follow my advice.

Room Tip: Avoid it, no matter what room you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Luciano D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    81
    33
    24
    19
See reviews for
98
37
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Very good with an excellent cost benefit, and the main hotel is the fact that it is very well located close to everything and where you meet a lot Jerusalem walk.
The only thing that requires care is if the car because the hotel has no parking and is that move with suitcases by a huge courtyard to the entrance.
Spacious and clean rooms worth

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PauloBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The Lev Yerushalayim Hotel was a great hotel for a family with kids.Very close to the Old City,park for kids,and the souk.Hotel was a bit dated but clean.Excellent staff.Great places to eat right outside the front door.Close to Jaffa St. Train.Manager arranged a great trip to the Dead Sea worth every shekel!It was great to have the privacy of a 2 bedroom hotel room with kids for the price...however make sure if you book with kids...make sure the price includes kids or you WILL be charged on the spot for the kids staying there!We didn't eat there so I can't comment on the food other than the street food was abundant delicious and cheap!Had to pay for wi-fi but it wasn't a big deal because we were busy exploring the Holy City Of Jerusalem!Again a huge Mazel Tov to the hotel staff...they were all great...and huge Mazel Tov to the Lev Yerushalayim Hotel perfect for a family on a budget!I would recommend this hotel to anyone with kids!Thank you for everything!The Hollands from Wisconsin!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks. Our experience with the staff from the people who cleaned the room to the people at the front desk was all good. Everyone tried their best to help whether it was directions to get the bus or to provide extra towels or a blanket. The heating in our room worked when we needed it on a few cool nights. We asked for a quiet room and we were placed overlooking the square at the back. We asked for firm beds and we got satisfactory beds relative to the price we paid. We used Neshor shuttle to get to and from the hotel and the airport. The shuttle lets you off on Eliash St behind the hotel on the aforementioned square. This is so you can wheel your bags directly to the lobby on the same level. There are many steps leading to the hotel lobby from King George St. Our room was a mini apartment with a bedroom, bathroom, and sitting room (with table and chairs, couch, TV, mini fridge, sink, and microwave).Bus 38 on King George St goes to the old city, the light rail on Jaffa Rd was a 5 min walk, Machaneh Yehuda Market was a 10 minute walk and Ben Yehuda pedestrian Mall was across the street.
There was a bakery/ eaterie just steps away and many stores and restaurants close by. We could also walk to many points of interest like Ticho House or even the old city. The hotel had a washer and dryer available to guests for a fee. Guests are also able to purchase breakfast or Friday Shabbat dinner if they would like. We brought our own plastic cutlery and plates for light eating in the room. Only 2 glass cups and a few plastic cups were provided.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABDoubleI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I would like to start off by stating the obvious to all new guests,for sheer value for money this hotel is great ! ,great location ,great staff, and most definitely value for money in a great location, I believe it is great value all round .
Firstly, we basically had a suite, kitchen area, dining area, private bathroom, TV lounge with separate bedroom.
It was not fancy, the decor was simple but it was clean and comfortable!
The Secret to this hotel always being full is the personal touch of the staff
I found everyone I spoke with to be polite, attentive and eager to assist you with any problem. Such was the case on the morning before Shabbat when I required a dentist in an emergency and Arkadi the manager went out of his way to find us one, which us which was a great help
At the Lev Yerushalayim you are basically a stone throw from everything you need or want to visit, whether it be gift shops, restaurants, bars, or places of historical interest.
There is even a train rail that runs through the main centre, a short 5 minute walk away.

I feel you have to weigh up everything in perspective when submitting a fair and honest review and sometimes we tend to overlook things, such as value for money and this hotel certainly was that

The lovely staff were very enthusiastic, polite, attentive Arkadi, Svetska, Gal, Eli, Nasser and the rest of the hotel staff, striving to give you the best and proving to be a credit to the Lev Yerushalayim!

Well done and thank you for a pleasant, cost effective stay! We will be back for sure ...

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Marion439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Despite the central location I can't recommend this hotel to anyone. The facets are 30 years old and came with the original construction. The maintenance man Mikhail told us that. He said that his numerous requests to the management to change infrastructure have received the same answer: "The stupid tourists will pay for anything since the come to the Holly land and we'll maximize the profits" They're rusted through and look terrible with the stains all over. On the last day we stored our luggage in the storage room and when we asked to get them back we were told to get into a 3ft high room, find our luggage by moving other luggage around and carry it out. I refused and requested the bus boy to do the owners. We were waiting for 15-20 min for anyone to help us and finally decided to call another reception man for help. This staff attitude is bellow any criticism! Just terrible service and lack of any appreciation for the clients. The entrance to the hotel was full of snow and ice (one in the 100y experience) but no one bothered to clean the snow and ice and make the entrance safe,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed for 1 night, in apartment style rooms, they were basic but comfortable and clean. It was Nothing fancy, but in a great location. Nice Israeli breakfast included. Staff were helpful and friendly,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PTCPEREZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#24 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Shamai Suites
#30 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#37 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hillel 11
#42 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#27 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lev Yerushalayim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lev Yerushalayim

Property: Lev Yerushalayim
Address: Rehov King George 18, Jerusalem 91079, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lev Yerushalayim 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the center of town. Within walking distance of shopping and business areas, historical sites and cultural centers of Jerusalem. All suites and penthouses have one or two bedrooms,a living room, kitchenette, dining area, air conditioning, cable TV, radio and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lev Yerushalayim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lev Yerushalayim Hotel Jerusalem
Lev Yerushalayim Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing