We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tourist trap with no service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olive Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Olive Tree Hotel
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tourist trap with no service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2008

The Olive tree is just outside the old city walls (Damascus gate) - 10 min walking.
1) The rooms are clean, which was good.
2) The hotel is a typical tourist trap - huge, unfriendly and offers no service. (Best example: I wanted to order from the room service and called them - they requested me to come down, pick up the mune and then walk up to my room again and order!) I guess they are specialized in older couples and groups who do not complain when they are treated like mass tourists.
3) Do not stay there as a single woman as you have to go through the Damascus Gate, which is in the muslim quarter - very unpleasant experiance.
4) The area of the hotel offers no restaurants or supermarkets - I took refuge in the nearby American Colony Hotel restaurant ever ynicht, as the food in the Olive Tree is poor.


Would I stay there again? NO!

  • Liked — It was clean.
  • Disliked — No service and unfriendly staff.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mynewalias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    273
    101
    33
    13
See reviews for
81
126
24
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2008

I stayed in the Olive Tree Hotel for three nights as part of a tour.

It is difficult to fault the Olive Tree in terms of comfort and service.
The main problem, however, is that there are no non-hotel restaurants or shops nearby. It is part of a block of large modern hotels (Grand Court, Moriah), which would seem more.
in place in Jewish West Jerusalem. The Addar and American Colony Hotels, although nearby, seem like a world away.

One nice touch is that the Olive Tree provides freshly squeezed orange juice for incoming tour groups.

Israeli breakfasts were generally very good. However, the wait staff was constantly trying to seat me with my group even if I preferred to be alone.

While I was there, dining options in the evening seemed limited to a so-so buffet (at $31 per person), or a bar with a limited menu of sandwiches or salads. If you want a greater choice, it is a twenty minute walk to Jerusalem Center, or a relatively inexpensive cab ride.

If I have one recommendation to make if you are staying in this area, it is to check out the gift shop in the Grand Court Hotel for lovely and reasonbly priced gifts and souvenirs (a rarity for Israeli hotels). Also, the Grand Court has an ATM, which is handy in this part of the city.

When I return to Jerusalem, I will stay in the Western part of the city.

  • Liked — Comfort and quality
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Enable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2008

Many memories were created in the Olive Tree Hotel in Jerusalem. The group I was with had a fantastic stay, and the staff was excellent. I also thought the hotel itself was very well designed, and the food and drinks in the restaurant were some of the best I had in Israel. Our room actually had a view of the lobby area, so if you're looking for spectacular views, you may want to stay somewhere else. I could care less, so I was quite pleased.

  • Liked — The food and the lobby bar
  • Disliked — Prices of nearby gift shops
  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VABFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kishinev, Moldova
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2008

I’ve stayed at the Olive with my family and except for the legend of the tree have encountered a very welcoming staff. The bartender and the reception attendee named Shalom (Peace in Hebrew) deserve special recommendations!!! The rooms are ok but the balcony made it amazing, children were in the next room and so we all had our space. I can’t say much about the food as we had only breakfast due to our tight schedule with the tours my wife planed, but be sure that their breakfast is like a full meal.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nasum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2008

Our tour group stayed here just last week and we all had a very nice experience. The hotel is centrally located, the wait staff is courteous, front desk staff were mostly helpful, the food was plentiful and of good variety. Our rooms were nice sized and clean with plenty of blankets, pillows, towels, etc... The gift shops had prices comperable or less than many shops in town. The bar was pretty expensive, but they all are. All in all, I'd stay at the Olive Tree any day.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank smilydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2007

After staying in Olive for the last four visits to Jerusalem I can just say that I hope they'll have vacancy for my next trip. The rooms are comfortable with very efficient cleaning staff. Israeli breakfast is like a meal for whole day especially when it is a buffet. The location was perfect for me, not far from the old city and just a few minutes drive from their city centre. In general I can say that every dollar I left at this hotel was worth it.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank jromi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2007

Some colleagues and I visited over a busy holiday weekend which meant we were paying full price for our rooms -- $220 for two tiny twin beds in a mediocre room with none of the amenities you expect in a room at that price. No mini bar, no view, boring decorations.

The lobby is pretty nice, and overall it's maybe a 3 star hotel. Not worth more than $100 per night, however.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchellwfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Grand Court Hotel
#36 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#15 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#33 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caesar Premier Jerusalem
#7 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#23 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#16 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Tree Hotel

Property: Olive Tree Hotel
Address: 23 Saint George, Jerusalem 9720928, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#17 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#28 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olive Tree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free International calls to over 50 countries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Olive Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olive Tree Jerusalem
Hotel Olive Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing