We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but spotty cleaning”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Olive Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olive Tree Hotel
Ranked #19 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
las vegas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food but spotty cleaning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in the Olive Tree for four nights. The location is terrific and the food is excellent ( the best we have had during our 9-day visit. Our room was not very clean. The bathtub was grimy and there was dust on tables and on the telephone. We had to ask for clean towels, coffee cups and shampoo. I had selected the hotel based upon Tripadvisor's high rating and we were disappointed. Having said that, the location and food were good enough to offset the bad qualities.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethcotner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    277
    102
    33
    13
See reviews for
82
129
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Watauga, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here a week with a group on a tour. Very clean room, and the buffets were fantastic. So much food, some catered to American tastes, and some local ethnic dishes. Service was great, everyone was polite, and friendly. I would definitely stay here again if I ever go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsMouse2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I just stayed in the hotel for two weeks with my two daughters.... absolutely loved it!!!
i will return, breakfast was great, the service was great, friendly staff, clean rooms, ac worked great, very clean!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isaac B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is a good place to stay when you are in Israel. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast buffet is excellent. It has most of the things you need in the room, good AC, TV, refrigerator, blow drier (a must for my wife), etc.

Cost is a bit on the high side but hotels in Jerusalem are really expensive. There is no free wi-fi internet for this hotel despite of its pricey rate, most other hotels in Jerusalem offer free wi-fi. The hotel staff are not as friendly and accommodating but the cafe staff are. There are no drinks in the ref so best to bring some as there are no stores nearby. Location is ok and near the old city which is which is just one stop by train (a short walk from the hotel). There are no nearby restaurants so you will need to go to the downtown at Jaffa Center, 3 stops by train.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandellTiongson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

The room was very clean (a theme in Israel it seems) as was most of the rest of the hotel. I take the stairs and they store cleaning products in the stairwell. Not an issue for me, but perhaps for others.
The food was excellent as was the service.
While the wifi did work well, it was not free (even in the lobby).
LOCATION! A ten-minute walk to the old city. A two-minute walk to the American Colony hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prof_KP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We loved the food they served buffet style for 2 meals. the chefs were standing by stirring or just teling you what the ingredients were.I liked the pastry chef. He made wonderful desserts.
He would be so happy when you complimented him. the rooms were very nice. It was neat and clean. Beds were made every day.They brought our luggage to our room.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator as it gets very noisy there when people gather there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinger76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATHENS GREECE
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel from Juin 28 till July 3. The hotel was situated near the Old City, but in a safe place.Is the second time I choose this hotel.The check in was very qwuick. The hotel offered us a cold drink to wellcome us at our arrival.The room was very confortable ,with a large bed.In the room there was a refrigerator and a safe box.The bathroom was big and very confortable.In the restaurant there was a very big choise of foods, cheeses, salads, fruits and sweets.The personnel was very polite and helpful.In the front door there was always security, so the guests feeled safe.I shall stay again at"Olive Tree" and i SUGGEST TO ALL PAOPLE THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARISTEIDIS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#16 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#9 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Court Hotel
#35 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Tree Hotel

Property: Olive Tree Hotel
Address: 23 Saint George, Jerusalem 9720928, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#17 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#28 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olive Tree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free International calls to over 50 countries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Olive Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olive Tree Jerusalem
Hotel Olive Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing