We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful. Didn't want to leave.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Andrew's Scots House Hotel
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I stayed 2 nights here and it was the best 2 nights if my week long stay in Israel. The views are breathtaking, the atmosphere is so peaceful, Jacob, Ala, Ibriham and Peter the reception staff and Wadi the chef couldn't be more friendly and helpful, the rooms are basic but modern, clean and comfortable, any meals were lovely, the building it's self is beautiful and the location is ideal for sight seeing in the old town without being too close. It was just perfection and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yvonne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at the St Andrew's guesthouse in Jerusalem. The hotel is in a spectacular setting with breathtaking views of Jerusalem. The rooms are somewhat minimalistic but more than adequate. The staff is very friendly and make you feel at home. We enjoyed the hearty breakfasts and how the hotel provides easy access to most places of interest in the city. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDR47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

great little place! great location very central and the view is breath taking. The staff are so lovely and nice :) everyone got a big smile on there face. def go back ,if u not a fun of generic hotels this is the one.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This might seem an unlikely place for a Scottish guesthouse, but it is excellently sited just outside the old, walled city of Jerusalem. With the atmosphere of a gentleman's club, library, terrace and comfortable bedrooms, this is a wonderful place to stay. The tariff includes an extensive buffet breakfast. Bedrooms are large, clean, airy, air conditioned and without TV (a small blessing). Free wi-fi is available. A small 'fridge would be a useful addition to bedrooms although the staff are happy to put drinks, etc in the Guesthouse 'fridge. The German Colony, with its array of restaurants, is walking distance from the Guesthouse. Even closer is the old railway station complex that has been converted into restaurants, souvenir shops, and a small food market.

Room Tip: If you choose St Andrew's Scottish Guesthouse, ask for a room with a balcony facing the old city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Area21a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and loved the proximity to The Old City, but soon realized that we had a room whose proximity near the hotel central staircase, and with the building's efficient accoustics, we heard every person coming and going, and especially those guests muddling around the entrance lobby. Their conversations, laughter, etc. all reverberated up! There are also restaurants to the left or directly in front of the hotel for lunch, dinner or take out.

Some pros and cons:

Cons:
No lotion
No kleenex/tissue
Cheap Paquettes of shampoo/conditioner in one
Cheap soaps
Shared balcony (with four other rooms)
Noise from first floor - A LOT
No paper or pen for note taking
No artwork on the guest room walls, TV or radio
Basic accomodations
Abrasive evening front desk help
Ants in the bathroom

Pros:
Amenable staff
Breakfast bar with espresso, fresh orange juice, etc.
View from rooms on first floor facing the old city were great
Not too far from Jaffa Gate (15-20 min walk)
Hot water
Bathroom adapter
Hair dryers
Extra pillows and blankets in room


Hint: get a room away from central staircase but facing the old city. Also, many waiters only live off tips, i.e. no base wage, so 10% tip is customary.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank CreateSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our four night stay here very much. The staff is really helpful and the breakfast is quite good. The terrace view of the old city is fantastic, especially at night. Wonderful history of the church and guesthouse property. The lounge area is comfortable and inviting. Limited dining options within a five to ten minute walking distance and it's a guest house not a full service hotel. But a very nice guest house and highly recommended if you're looking for a quiet, comfortable stay in Jerusalem near the old city.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank miandho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at St Andrews for 5 days in October 2013. It was an excellent experience. We loved the lack of TV, the austere and very clean environment. The breakfast was plentiful and idiosyncratic. One can eat outside with a view of the Old City and the walk is about 20min to Jaffa Gate - but through an interesting residential and parkish route. The guesthouse has been recently renovated and is good value. In one part of the guesthouse we found that the lights were on all night and this meant that we slept in not total darkness but after changing rooms there was no issue at all. We would definitely return if ever back in Jerusalem.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the rooms with glass panels above the doors which front onto the internal staircase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cecibennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mount Zion Hotel
#20 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,141 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#18 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,788 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,053 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#15 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Andrew's Scots House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Andrew's Scots House Hotel

Address: Rehov David Remez 1 | Off corner of King David and Emek Refa'im Sts., Jerusalem 9354101, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range: £121 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your St. Andrew's Scots House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Andrew`s Scottish Guesthouse Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing