We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Andrew's Scottish Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Andrew's Scottish Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Mukwanago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We just left the Scottish Guest House. It is a great place to stay.
Walking distance to the old city and close to cosmopolitan places and restaurants in Jerusalem. Clean with a friendly helpful staff.
Thank you to all that work there you made are stay wonderful in many ways!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jherriges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    51
    12
    2
    7
See reviews for
35
52
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Wonderful old building. Staff super friendly & helpful. Great breakfast buffet. Great location to walk to old city and market. An alternative to the super big hotels. Good wifi. Ask for a room NOT exposed to the loud bar nearby. Not luxury or modern accomodations but comfortable and homey.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I spent 5 nights at the guesthouse as part of a large group. We received a warm, friendly welcome. The accommodation was comfortable, clean and spacious. The location is really central - just a few minutes' walk from the the Old City walls. It has a great open aspect with views to Mt Zion, and it's peaceful, with pretty plants growing round a patio area outside. My room had a newly refurbished en suite with a good shower, and it was really tranquil and relaxed. Downstairs there are comfy sofas and refreshments on hand in spacious, stone floored public rooms. The food we were offered was buffet style with varied, fresh ingredients and was delicious. For those who are that way inclined there's a Church of Scotland chapel attached to the guesthouse where there are regular services and a calm space to take some time. I can't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have views out over Mt Zion and the Old City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DivingDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We had a one day stay in Jerusalem concentrating entirely on the old city. We we're recommended the Scottish Guesthouse by a friend and we're not disappointed! The reception was warm and welcoming and the place oozed old fashion charm. The rooms were simply furnished (with no TV - fantastic!) and very comfortable. The location was excellent with a short walk to the old city and plenty of restaurants to pick from. I'd strongly recommend it as a great place to stay when you visit Jerusalem.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Extinguisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
379 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The best feature of St. Andrew's Scottish Guesthouse is its location. One can leave the car in the lot and walk into old town Jerusalem.
We walked down into the valley then climbed the walk to the Jaffa Gate, but it would be much easier to walk through the park to the western side of the city and then to the Jaffa gate. No hills that way.

When we made the reservation, we could only have the Old City view for 2 nights. The third night had the garden view. There was a $10.00 difference in price. In my opinion, it is well worth the $10.00 for the upgraded room.

Our room had a lovely view of the old city. We had to walk up to the third level, but the man at the desk was happy to carry my luggage up for me.

Breakfasts were ample, with fresh fruit, pastries on some days, yogurt, eggs, and various hot foods to eat as well as cheeses. One could make fresh orange juice in a machine which was delightful.

Regarding the rooms:
there is no television, but I do believe that you could watch one downstairs in the library or the very large lounge. This was not an issue for us as we do not watch television, and the lack of it made the room much quieter.
No clocks.

The towels were large but not very absorbent. Our 3rd night, in the cheaper room, found us short many towels which we did not notice until the next morning….after I had already showered and needed to dry off.
No washcloths, which is fairly typical. Be sure to pack your own if you use them.

Shampoo and body wash come in foil packets. Very cumbersome to use. I was happy to have my own to use, as these hardly seemed worth the bother.


A hair dryer was in the room.
A large armor held a safe, but it was not bolted down.
There was a hostess tray with tea and coffee, and coffee available down in the lobby as well.

There was free wi-fi which worked fairly well.

The staff spoke English.
A refrigerator in the office held bottled water and beer, which you could purchase at a reasonable price from the attendant.
Parking in the lot was free.

I'm going to be quite honest here and mention that there was mildew in the bathroom, but nothing overwhelming. Let's face it….mildew happens, and it's not always easy to keep up on it.

But, in the cheaper room, I set an item down on the windowsill, and when I went to pick it up, it was covered with grime. Obviously, someone missed cleaning the room.

There was some confusion the day of our room switch. We had finished eating breakfast, and I went back up to the original room to retrieve some medication only to find that the key no longer worked. It was nowhere near check out time yet.
It took us several minutes to resolve the situation and to get the key working again.

When we returned from our adventure of the day, our luggage had been moved to the new room.

That room had a serious mildew problem in the bathroom in comparison with the first.
I only mention this because I cannot warrant giving the place a 5 star review with mildew in the bathrooms.

I'd like to mention that the 4 star rating is due to the price in respect to location to the old city. It really is the most reasonably priced hotel with a lovely view of the city and within easy walking distance.

Personally, I feel that it is worth looking past the mildew for the convenience, price and fabulous breakfast.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $10.00 for the old city view. It is quieter and we found our room to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed a week at St Andrews Scottish Guest House and were very satisfied with our accommodation. Though the room was simple and unadorned it was very comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent and the staff attentive and friendly at all times. The location is perfect with tremendous views of the Old City. The Guest House is around ten minutes walk through delightful gardens at Yemin Moshe to Jaffa Gate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 31James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the Guest House and enjoyed our stay very much. Rooms were very comfortable and ours was spacious. Breakfast was huge with many choices. This is a quiet, very relaxed place which was very welcome after long days of touring. A great place to relax and reflect on the day's activities and sites.

Great location within walking distance of Old City with a few very good restaurants nearby.

Staff was very helpful and hospitable.

One more thing ... A fantastic panoramic view of the Old City.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter651954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mount Zion Hotel
#18 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Andrew's Scottish Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Andrew's Scottish Guesthouse

Property: St. Andrew's Scottish Guesthouse
Address: 1 David Remez | Off corner of King David and Emek Refa'im Sts., Jerusalem 9354101, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St. Andrew's Scottish Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Andrew`s Scottish Guesthouse Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing