We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History, religion, emotions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Western Wall

Western Wall
Book In Advance
More Info
US$80.00*
and up
Jerusalem Daily Half Day Tour from Herzliya
Ranked #3 of 301 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The remains of the Second Temple of Jerusalem and a place of prayer sacred to the Jewish people.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“History, religion, emotions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This place has "that something" but it is not so tangible. When you you just look at it it is pile of rocks, but when you Know the history behind it it brings a whole new dimension. For me it was amazing experience. Oh and one more thing there is a web site that has live web cam on the Wall so I was able to "link" with my wife who was not there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nibu1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,373
    1,141
    310
    44
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's the Western Wall! What else could you want?!?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

You see women and men praying fervently, there is a quiet awe permeating the place. Touching the wall and sliding a prayer into the cracks of the building is like being right in G-d's old home. Nothing less than the most magnificent, powerful place on earth. I felt completely safe, police and soldiers everywhere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“an experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

To visit the Western Wall one must go through security. These folks are checking everything. Very high tech. If you wish to leave a message at the wall there are tables where you can get paper and pen. Don't necessarily expect to get right up to the wall, there are lots of people. But to lean on a wall that Our Lord may have leaned on is a very serene feeling. It can be done. Lots of space for photo opportunity here.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suffieldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An absolute must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you are in Jerusalem, visiting the Wailing Wall is an absolute must! For me it was a very overwhelming, emotional experience, one that I will never forget, I probably spend a couple hours there just taking it all in, the history, the sheer size of it and of course people watching. Please make sure you dress modestly ( no short shorts) out of respect.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LenaG1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, KY, United States
Level Contributor
223 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Don't miss this moving experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

If one is Jewish or Christian, the Western Wall is a must to experience and understand fully our heritage. My visit was on a day of 30 Bar Mitzvahs, so the joy, noise, music, laughter, family intensity was palpable. As a Gentile Christian, to find myself praying next to an Orthodox Jew gave me a sense of fellowship and continuity that transended worldy differences. Then to look around me and see Asians, Africans, Europeans, all colors and dresses in joy, excitement, and experience together was a very uplifting moment.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Western Wall also viewed

 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Western Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing