We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dome of the Rock.. Overlooking the city of Jerusalem”
Review of Dome of the Rock

Dome of the Rock
Book In Advance
More Info
US$48.00*
and up
Jerusalem Half Day Tour: Dome of the Rock and Western Wall
More Info
US$275.00*
and up
Private Tour: Old City of Jerusalem Christianity Tour
More Info
US$176.00*
and up
Jerusalem Bethlehem and Dead Sea Day Tour from Dahab
Ranked #34 of 310 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Old City’s Muslim Quarter, this is the world’s third holiest shrine to Muslims (after the Kaaba in Mecca and the Tomb of the Propher in Medina), which signifies the spot where the Prophet Muhammad is believed to have ascended into Heaven.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Dome of the Rock.. Overlooking the city of Jerusalem”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

As i entered Jerusalem i looked out for the dome of the rock.. as the driver came to one of the roads heading to my hotel i saw the dome of the rock on my left and my heart literally sank. Despite being jet-lagged and interrogation of hours at check point I found myself rushing to the Haram to pray in the mosque.. my sole purpose of my visit!

Most people mistake this as the mosque, which isnt the case. The masjid al-aqsa is actually opposite this. Allaah says in the Glorious Qur'an (interpretation of the meaning):

“Glorified (and Exalted) be He (Allaah) [above all that (evil) they associate with Him]. Who took His slave (Muhammad) for a journey by night from Al-Masjid Al-Haraam (at Makkah) to Al-Masjid Al-Aqsaa (in Jerusalem), the neighbourhood whereof We have blessed, in order that We might show him (Muhammad) of Our Ayaat (proofs, evidences, lessons, signs, etc.). Verily, He is the All-Hearer, the All-Seer” [Surah al-Isra’ 17:1]

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank akhiabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    100
    50
    20
    31
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brussels
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“outrageously intolerant for non muslims.”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I thought that the Old town was a place where all religions were respected but no. If you are not muslim better not to go to Haram Al-Sharif. You have only limited hours to get into the complex and you will not be able to enter any of the important places there. I found my time wasted although it is a nice place to see the surroundings of the old city and the mount of olives etc. I find the attitude of local authorities of the place totally discriminatory and unfair since i was also in the Holy sepulchral and i saw Arabs inside which is not a problem for anybody. Therefore why from one side there are no barriers to observe so-called holly places and unesco world heritages and from the other side there is this total apartheid ...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank carlosmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
231 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 573 helpful votes
“A Contentious Site”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Background: This beautiful building complex was built in the 7th century as a rival to Mecca. It encloses the Foundation Stone, a rock wich according to Muslim tradition is the site that Muhammad made his ascent to heaven.

PROS: The site is a well-known landmark; it is easy to find. Entrance is free and made through the Wailing Wall Plaza.

CONS: There is a security check with x-ray amchines at the entrance. And non-Muslims are prohibited from enetring the mosque itself.

Verdict: Definitely worth a visit for its aesthetic and historical reasons, if nothing else. Grade A-minus.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Beautiful mosque”
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

Hi everyone
The tomb of the rock is one of the most beautiful mosques. Situated in the large area that it is accessible to non muslims from only one entrance next to the western wall. The timings are also extremely tight as it opens from 0730 in the morning to 1130 and one hour in thr afternoon. The mosque is not open to non muslims however u can roam around the compound and absorb all the sights for good. Please go fully covered from ur head to ur toes else u may be barred.You may exit from the other open gates and merge into the market.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank amitwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Breathtaking, peaceful, a stunning peace of architecture”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I'd gotten up early for the 7.30am opening. There were not many tourists about and it was so peaceful & stunning. There were women praying, and men reading the Quran. I paid an old man to explain the history of the building & especially the architecture as I have a great interest in the subject. I spent over an hour there, absorbing in the details, sitting & reflecting. I would have liked to go into the Mosque but was told it was only for Muslims. You need to access the Dome of the Rock via a ramp near the Western Wall. It was open only in the mornings for tourists when we were there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PriyaRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dome of the Rock also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Dome of the Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing