We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to enjoy a place that you're really not welcome in.”
Review of Dome of the Rock

Dome of the Rock
Book In Advance
More Info
US$48.00*
and up
Jerusalem Half Day Tour: Dome of the Rock and Western Wall
More Info
US$275.00*
and up
Private Tour: Old City of Jerusalem Christianity Tour
More Info
US$176.00*
and up
Jerusalem Bethlehem and Dead Sea Day Tour from Dahab
Ranked #34 of 310 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Old City’s Muslim Quarter, this is the world’s third holiest shrine to Muslims (after the Kaaba in Mecca and the Tomb of the Propher in Medina), which signifies the spot where the Prophet Muhammad is believed to have ascended into Heaven.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Hard to enjoy a place that you're really not welcome in.”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

There is only one access gate for non-muslims to go through to visit the area. We waited in line about 45 minutes so had minimal time at the top before we were told to leave. We had 6 or 7 different men yell at us to leave when it was very clear that we were headed for the exit. I don't know, the whole thing was just rather sad. We were polite, respectful and obeying all rules and yet……..I'd skip this site unless your into that type of treatment.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank 777Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    97
    50
    19
    31
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Amazing place but strict schedule”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I visited Jerusalem for a few hours and could not get in time to see the dome of the rock.When I walked towards the dome an armed guy yelled at me "only muslims!".Muslims can visit the Holy Sepulchre church anytime but christians have strict schedule for the dome,this is unfair for travellers who do not have enough time,thats why I give it one star.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank ADRlAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful Mosque, they don't seem to want you to go there”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Very difficult to access because of the long queues, short opening hours that can be arbitrarily curtailed, and the widespread misinformation. It is possible to visit the Temple Mount complex, and well worth it to see the beauty of the Dome of the Rock up close (it's impossible to appreciate the intricacy from a distance). Entrance to the Mosque is supposed to be for Muslims only, but the site is supposed to be open to all. When we did get in though, the Israeli soldiers were aggressive in trying to get us to leave. Despite all of this, i would recommend a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank davet65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mind the opening hours!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

It's definitely a place worth visiting while in Jerusalem.
Plan your visit there carefully, because the queue is quite long. If you're not there before 12, you probably won't make it in the time-slot 12:30-13:30. It's best to get there around 6:30. And don't forget to have your passport and visa with you.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank HannaPl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must go for Muslims”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The spot where Prophet Muhammad s.a.w. ascended to heaven. Picture was taken in the wee hours of the morning as we arrive for our Fajar prayers. Such an awesome sight! Access is only for the Muslims.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SoephySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dome of the Rock also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Dome of the Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing