We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A deeply spiritual place, no matter what your religious beliefs.”

Church of the Holy Sepulchre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$104.00*
and up
Jerusalem and Bethlehem Tour from Jerusalem
More Info
US$145.00*
and up
Full-Day Trip of Jerusalem and Bethlehem from Tel Aviv
More Info
US$80.00*
and up
Jerusalem Daily Half Day Tour from Herzliya
Ranked #9 of 310 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Built in the fourth century over the site of a Roman Pagan temple, this is considered one of the world’s holiest shrines to Christians, preserving the most important moments of the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.
New York, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A deeply spiritual place, no matter what your religious beliefs.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is one of, if not THE holiest site for Christians. Within the church is the Stone of the Anointing, the place said to be where Jesus was prepared for burial. The rock upon which Jesus is said to have been crucified, and the Edicule,, upon which Jesus is said to have been placed after the crucifixion. There are other spiritual items in here as well; they are too numerous to mention.You walk around and are awe stricken by the clear adoration of those all around you. The feelings of the believers exude into the space and uplift anyone's spirit, whether that person be Christian or not. If you are in Jerusalem, you must go.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clifford K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,157
    914
    397
    124
    65
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Big crowds, but amazing to see the devotion & people”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

So this is on everyone's itinerary, so it is packed. They try to move you through and some of the steps are tough for some folks, but part of the experience is seeing all the different nationalities of church groups converging to experience this special place. Don't count on getting a special picture without tourists in it. Just enjoy the experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lemur_chica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A disappointing experience”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The significance of this church is the historical understanding that it has been built on the site of Jesus` execution and burial, which has been challenged by the discovery by General Gordon, I believe, of a rock formation resembling a skull with nearby tomb (now known as the garden tomb). The latter being located just North of Jerusalem`s present outer wall. Whatever may be the truth, it must be accepted that the Church represents a holy site to many visitors which results in severe and in my opinion, highly unpleasant overcrowding. Also, I cannot say that I found the Church to be "attractive" as a building from any point of view and whereas I would not wish to deter anyone who believes in the historical understanding from making a visit; for many tourists I believe that there are other sights of interest in Jerusalem which would prove to be more rewarding.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tydur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Visited to rub the Slab Jesus was prepared upon”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We visited to rub items we purchased on the slab Jesus is said to have been prepared for his ascent for Christian friends. We also brought some candles to light there and extinguish so our friends would have a special spiritual gift from Jerusalem.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AdventurerJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Where we were redeemed by the Blood of the Lamb”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Church of the Holy Sepulchre contains the Tomb of Christ and also Golgotha, the place of the crucifixion. It is truly an experience of a lifetime for believers.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Church of the Holy Sepulchre also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Church of the Holy Sepulchre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing