We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too crowded, too dark” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Church of the Holy Sepulchre

Church of the Holy Sepulchre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$104.00*
and up
Jerusalem and Bethlehem Tour from Jerusalem
Ranked #9 of 301 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Built in the fourth century over the site of a Roman Pagan temple, this is considered one of the world’s holiest shrines to Christians, preserving the most important moments of the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Too crowded, too dark”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I did not like this place. I know the historic background of it (even though it might be debateable historic accuracy). I just did not like the mysticism surrounding the place, with thousands of people pushing to get one second or glimpse or a touch of stone, icon, etc. However, I’m sure many like it

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nibu1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,854
    815
    362
    109
    61
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Heart of Jerusalem a Sacred Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Plan to spend a couple hours and or visit at least twice to be able to take in the true spiritual sanctity of the Holy Sepulchre.
We arrived in time for the priests and monks to chant the Stations of the Cross. Moving!
Line or no line, the entrance into Jesus' tomb of resurrection is amazing and walking the steep marble steps to the altar of Jesus' crucifixtion with people from around the world sharing in one body of adornment is breathtaking. Silence and candlelight, kneeling and prayers are understood without a word being said.
The rock upon the entrance where Jesus is believed to have been laid when taken down from the cross is never without a head bowed down. The oils of the world are present as you reach out to touch the stone. Amazing!
Walk full circle around the Church and through the center sacristy to admire the artwork and carvings. Sit and watch as the world admires everything the Holy Sepulchre has to offer. It is truly a sacred place at the heart of Jerusalem

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MCoolBreezeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
132 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Go as early as you can and I mean the crack of dawn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I give 3 stars for a midday visit but if you go early in the morning, it's a 5 star rating.
If you want a peaceful and moving religious experience, go early, early, early. My husband and I went twice, once with a private guide in the middle of the day. It's a madhouse - cramped, crowded and for me unenjoyable. The atmosphere certainly does not lend itself to comtemplation and reverance.
My husband wanted to see the tomb of Jesus but we weren't willing to wait in the line. He decided to get up very early one morning and go back. I didn't go with him but he must have gotten there between 6:30 and 7 am. There were a few people there but nothing like the crowds at midday. This is the time to go for peaceful prayer and to soak in the significance. There will be no line or a very short line for the tomb and you will be able to explore the church without being pushed and tiptoeing to get a look over a sea of heads.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martyk74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must See Place for a Christian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I had visited Israel in May 2014 and has customary for a Christian visited the site of the Burial and Resurrection of Jesus Christ, I found the place to be the Holiest of all the places even though I had to wait for more than an hour to get in the Aedicule. Above all, it is the most memorable visit in Israel. I recommend Christians around the world to see the Holy Sepulchre.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anujajosek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Sad place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

It is an incredibly powerful place.......but it is run over with tourists and overseen by unsmiling, weary and wary priests....go, but dress properly women or you will be kicked out, unceremoniously.
I was amazed by the structure, #1 most amazing place, but...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Church of the Holy Sepulchre also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Church of the Holy Sepulchre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing