We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unsettling, but you have to do it”

Yad Vashem - The World Holocaust Remembrance Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$7.00*
and up
Audio Guide Tour of the Holocaust History Museum
Ranked #2 of 304 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The World Holocaust Remembrance Center is a 45-acre campus comprised of indoor museums, outdoor monuments, gardens and sculptures. Entrance to Yad Vashem is free. Entrance to the Holocaust History Museum is for ages 10 and up.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unsettling, but you have to do it”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

A brief history of the rise of antisemitism and how it was eventually expressed by the Nazi killing machine. But a positive end as it showed the establishing of the State of Israel. Easy to spend the whole day there going through the galleries and wandering the grounds.
Not really an enjoyable experience, but one you have to do to understand what can happen if we don't speak out when we see examples of antisemitism.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,274
    645
    122
    24
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Moving and sad. Don't miss it.”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

No details needed. Guide books don't do it justice. Allow several hours for the full treatment. Don't expect to leave happy, though. It's a real downer, but everyone should see it in full detail. Easy to reach by tram and a short walk. Has a cafeteria, if you're still hungry.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank bobandmarieclaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sad, but important”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I had an increible tour guide, Debbie Spero, and she took us through the entire museum in 3 hours and it was fascinating. Afterwards we had a talk by a child survivor. The tour was through the Israel Center-OU Center.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“An incredibly moving experience”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Visiting Yad Vashem can be a very emotional and draining experience especially if you have any personal connection to the holocaust. One of the most moving aspects is listening to the recordings of personal accounts of survivors and horrors they endured. The memorial museum leads the visitor through the history of developments in Germany in the 30s through the horrors of the holocaust to the eventual liberation and the shock for the first soldiers to arrive at the poor few surviving souls they discovered. Although I thought I knew a bit about history I was still shocked at how much of the outside world were either complicit in the events, turned a blind eye to events or refused to do anything to assist those who were trying to escape. It was down to a few very brave non Jews who saved who they could and who are honoured here. We spent most of the day here, either inside the memorial museum or outside in the garden area where there are a number of memorials. It's certainly not a holiday treat, but as an education and memorial it sets the tone perfectly - a very moving and emotional place.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RobertJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must for everyone to see”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Beautiful architecture, spacious and peaceful. The museum is thoughtfully laid out to help the visitor learn and think. I was overwhelmed at one point and a very kind young soldier came to talk to me...very sweet moment. My 14 year old daughter learned so much more than what they had covered at her school, so it was well worth it. We also walked in the lovely memorial gardens.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CKVR1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yad Vashem - The World Holocaust Remembrance Center also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Yad Vashem - The World Holocaust Remembrance Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing