We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical rare find - gorgeous lodging in the Old City”
Review of Austrian Hospice

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Austrian Hospice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We splurged for a 2-person suite. WOW! It was extremely elegant. The location is incredible - in the Old City right on the Via Dolorosa. Outside you are in the middle of the markets - with amazing sounds and smells and calls for prayer, within a short walk, you are at the Western Wall. Inside - beautiful tiling and furniture - elegant and quiet. It is such a contrast - like walking from one time and place to another by just crossing the threshold.

It is a bit strange that the people a the desk do not speak Hebrew, but they are quiet nice.

Don't forget to get the strudel and sit in the beautiful courtyard.

Room Tip: The two-person suite is an amazing luxury, but if you are only there for a night, you won't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SafetyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

Nice, very clean and surprisingly spacious rooms with airconditioning in the heart of Old city. price coresponds to 2** while you'll get nearly 4**** room with fridge.
Wifi.
On the premises is as well Austrian cafe, which serves Austrian food - nice if you are a little bit conservative or just want to change from Arab food on the streets.

So if you are looking for few days in quiet place in the old city, do not look further - if you are able to get reservation..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RomanAlbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Austrian Hospice is like an oasis in Jerusalem. You find the place if you walk down from Damascus gate until Via Delarosa.

It is an ideal starting point for any walking trip in Jerusalem.

The hospice is from around 1830. It has clean rooms. It is not expensive. I rented a double room together with my brother for 114 €/night.

The food is good. I recommend the goulash and the apfelstrudel. Drinks are good and inexpensive.

The service is fantastic. You meet smiles and helpful people everywhere.

I think it is like an oasis in Jerusalem’s old town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lastad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

First of all, you can't beat the history of this building. It is a Jerusalem landmark, and the location is excellent. Sure they have some quirky rules (like seating charts for breakfast), but I've had weirder at B&Bs in the past. The rooms were clean and spacious, the building beautiful, and the gardens extremely relaxing. The wifi worked perfectly, and the roof was quite a treat. I recommend it highly for anyone staying in Jerusalem. You pay the same price as a hostel, but get a much nicer experience. The front desk staff weren't as knowledgeable about about places to eat, etc. or as helpful as we would like. But they were nice enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I read a lot of really nice things about the Austrian Hospice before I came to Jerusalem and was quite excited about my stay here. The rooms are mostly as advertised, even though they first put me in a rather dire three-bed room (booked a single). They moved me to another room the next day, though. Accomodation is overall in line with the price.

What really makes the place a true nightmare is the long list of totally senseless and arbitrary rules and regulation, and the staff that enforce them. Upon entering the (nearly empty!) dining room this morning, for example, I was told that reading books was no longer allowed before, during, and after meals as it disturbs other guests! This includes regular paperbacks and travel guides. This was not a problem perviously, but was added to the list of rules overnight. Another rule seems to say you aren't allowed to drink beer out of a wine or water glass (no reason given here as to why this is, just "Sorry, not permitted!"). I asked for a smaller glass for my Budwiser (bought in the inhouse cafe), as they served it in a overly large Bavarian-style of glass. You are also not permitted to slip out of your sandels when sitting outside in the garden (I am not talking about running around bare-footed or sit through dinner without my shoes on).

The list goes on and it is mostly quite hideous things which I took with a pinch of salt. However, not being able to read in any house, private or hotel, for me makes it a place never to return. I consider this a basic right.

All in all it seems that you as a guest have to sort of justify your stay here and feel sorry about the nuisance and inconvenience you are to the staff. A terrible feeling.

Room Tip: Second floor facing the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank dhirschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

If you're visiting Jerusalem, the charm and the location of the Austrian Hospice are hard to beat. The building is magnificent, its tables in the outside gardens are fantastic and its rooftop offers what many believe to be the best aerial view of Jerusalem. It's indeed beautiful. So nice, in fact, that after a couple of days getting to know each corner of the Old City, we spent almost one full day in the building, enjoying the calm and nice atmosphere of the delicious garden.
The rooms are simple, but clean. The bathroom is tiny compared to the actual room, but nothing to complain about. The personnel is a bit uptight (they tell you where you have to sit during breakfast), but always correct and helpful in our five-day experience. You must remember that you're in what used to be an Hospice for pilgrims, and for some of the staff, that's still the case.
Warning: there are some mosques nearby, and you could be awake when they decide to pray in the early morning. But that would very likely happen to you if you sleep anywhere inside the Old City...

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms get to enjoy Wifi connection from the canteen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eduardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

the entrance to the hotel is allowed for everyone. It is a good destination within itself. the interior is nicely decorated and the view from the roof is great of the entire city. Even if you do not end up staying at this locale, make it a destination on your tour of Jerusalem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitty567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,053 reviews
Notre Dame Guest House
#17 of 102 in Jerusalem
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#54 of 102 in Jerusalem
304 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#27 of 102 in Jerusalem
619 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#40 of 102 in Jerusalem
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austrian Hospice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austrian Hospice

Address: 37 Via Dolorosa | P.O. Box 19600, Jerusalem 9762637, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Muslim Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Austrian Hospice Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing