We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a unique experience”
Review of Austrian Hospice

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Austrian Hospice
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's a unique experience”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Austrian hospice is a jewel in the old city. It is a monetary and a hospice - nothing fancy but soooo unique. It's a bit of a walk, so travel light, but when you are there it's magical!
Enjoy the garden and climb to the roof - it's a spectacular view like no other!
Two words of advice: Night strolling outside the convent walls, on the old city streets is a bit donating... Not the most safe-feeling experience. Breakfast is ridiculously bad, it's a kind of a youth hostel experience.
All considered one of the most unique places I ever stayed in anywhere in the world and I recommend it dearly!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomer_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    108
    34
    13
    12
See reviews for
35
106
65
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We shared a triple room and were extremely happy with the wonderful location, the attentive staff and the cleanliness of the premises. Our beds and pillows were comfortable and the bedlinen and towels were impeccably white and fresh smelling. Breakfast was very nice. We also had great coffees and strudels in the Viennese Café. It exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josemi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I traveled alone and been offered a double room for 2 nights, room was clean and spacious with good bathroom. Staff are quite nice and professional. Location is incredible, just right on the Via Dolorosa. Opposite are some OK arabic style restaurant. Easy to travel to anywhere in old city within 15 mins. Roof good for me to take good pictures. Quite relaxed enjoying cups of beers in the open bar area. I will definitely stay there if i have chance to visit Jerusalem in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dqian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I didn't stay here, but did go up to the roof for the amazing views. I am also told that this place is known for its great streudel and clean bathrooms.
You are allowed to go up to the roof for no charge, and the views of Jersualem are great. You can get a 360 degree view of the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank RivaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We splurged for a 2-person suite. WOW! It was extremely elegant. The location is incredible - in the Old City right on the Via Dolorosa. Outside you are in the middle of the markets - with amazing sounds and smells and calls for prayer, within a short walk, you are at the Western Wall. Inside - beautiful tiling and furniture - elegant and quiet. It is such a contrast - like walking from one time and place to another by just crossing the threshold.

It is a bit strange that the people a the desk do not speak Hebrew, but they are quiet nice.

Don't forget to get the strudel and sit in the beautiful courtyard.

Room Tip: The two-person suite is an amazing luxury, but if you are only there for a night, you won't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SafetyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Nice, very clean and surprisingly spacious rooms with airconditioning in the heart of Old city. price coresponds to 2** while you'll get nearly 4**** room with fridge.
Wifi.
On the premises is as well Austrian cafe, which serves Austrian food - nice if you are a little bit conservative or just want to change from Arab food on the streets.

So if you are looking for few days in quiet place in the old city, do not look further - if you are able to get reservation..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RomanAlbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansund
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Austrian Hospice is like an oasis in Jerusalem. You find the place if you walk down from Damascus gate until Via Delarosa.

It is an ideal starting point for any walking trip in Jerusalem.

The hospice is from around 1830. It has clean rooms. It is not expensive. I rented a double room together with my brother for 114 €/night.

The food is good. I recommend the goulash and the apfelstrudel. Drinks are good and inexpensive.

The service is fantastic. You meet smiles and helpful people everywhere.

I think it is like an oasis in Jerusalem’s old town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lastad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,005 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#34 of 99 in Jerusalem
648 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#51 of 99 in Jerusalem
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austrian Hospice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austrian Hospice

Property: Austrian Hospice
Address: 37 Via Dolorosa | P.O. Box 19600, Jerusalem 9762637, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Muslim Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Austrian Hospice Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing