We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet enclave within chaos”
Review of Austrian Hospice

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Austrian Hospice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Hospice looms high over the main street. Good food and beer a reasonably prices be eaten on a terrace, with views over the main sites, or on pedestals two floors above the main gate, with good but safe view of the main street. Our favorite place to eat in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank no9e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Austrian Hospice
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Sitting in the courtyard with the delicious iced coffee and Apfelstrudel was a nice change from the buzzling outside. Prices are quite ok, you can also pay in Euro. The small garden is very relaxing and relatively calm, although the Imam was shouting his prayers nearby; very nice mixture! Staff in the "Kaffeehaus" was friendly. The view down into the street was great. Make sure to ring the bell to enter. We did not stay at the Hotel but it might be a good choice if you are on a pilgrimage.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Nadja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

You can buy a beverage and cool off in the front in the shade. What you really need to do is go inside and wind all the way to the top so you can go outside and see the views of the city. Especially impressive during the Muslim call to Prayer eerily echoing from a nearby tower

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MamaG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We visited this place because it is famous for the best apple strudel, but sorry to disappoint you, I was there today, had an apple strudel, but it was mostly crust and hint of apple taste . Apart from the view, and indeed the clean toilets that we appreciated, forget the apple strudel ! Your better off enjoying the local desserts all over jerusalem .

Room Tip: Please disregard comment on swimming pool and fitness, it's a typing error .
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adelaida Gigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Austrian hospice is a jewel in the old city. It is a monetary and a hospice - nothing fancy but soooo unique. It's a bit of a walk, so travel light, but when you are there it's magical!
Enjoy the garden and climb to the roof - it's a spectacular view like no other!
Two words of advice: Night strolling outside the convent walls, on the old city streets is a bit donating... Not the most safe-feeling experience. Breakfast is ridiculously bad, it's a kind of a youth hostel experience.
All considered one of the most unique places I ever stayed in anywhere in the world and I recommend it dearly!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomer_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We shared a triple room and were extremely happy with the wonderful location, the attentive staff and the cleanliness of the premises. Our beds and pillows were comfortable and the bedlinen and towels were impeccably white and fresh smelling. Breakfast was very nice. We also had great coffees and strudels in the Viennese Café. It exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josemi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I traveled alone and been offered a double room for 2 nights, room was clean and spacious with good bathroom. Staff are quite nice and professional. Location is incredible, just right on the Via Dolorosa. Opposite are some OK arabic style restaurant. Easy to travel to anywhere in old city within 15 mins. Roof good for me to take good pictures. Quite relaxed enjoying cups of beers in the open bar area. I will definitely stay there if i have chance to visit Jerusalem in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dqian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,041 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame Guest House
#17 of 101 in Jerusalem
498 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#37 of 101 in Jerusalem
674 reviews
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#53 of 101 in Jerusalem
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austrian Hospice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austrian Hospice

Address: 37 Via Dolorosa | P.O. Box 19600, Jerusalem 9762637, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Muslim Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Austrian Hospice Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing