We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation, good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beit Shmuel Guest House
Ranked #20 of 60 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Basic accommodation, good price”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My husband and I and another couple stayed in the King David apartment for one night in November. The apartment is actually located in an adjacent building to the HUC campus. This meant no wifi. Also, there is no breakfast included with this unit. The furnishings were spartan, but otherwise it was reasonably clean and adequate for a short stay. As others have said, the location is excellent and the cost very reasonable compared to other accommodations in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shir Hayam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    25
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
23
16
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Basic but nice, large room. Very dark as there is not enough lighting; we had to move a floor lamp over to the desk just to see our computer. Nice bathroom although the plug did not work so I had to dry my hair without a mirror in the bedroom. We heard "thumping" every evening. Upon exploring we discovered that there are parties (weddings, Bar Mitzvahs) almost every night on the top floor. Having said all of that we would definitely stay at the Guest House again as the room is very reasonably priced, the staff is friendly and helpful and the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crlleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

To be a 10 minute walk from the Jaffa Gate, made this a good choice. The rooms were a bit pokey, and not always as clean as we'd like (one room had mould in the bathroom). The actual building was cleaned randomly, and the smell of cat pee at the guest house entrance was very off-putting. The breakfast was prepared "on the cheap" - the rates are not exactly bargain basement, but it would help if they used orange juice instead of lemonade, and used the espresso machine instead of giving us Nescafe - part of the property included a small cafe where decent coffee was available - for a price. We realize that prices in that area of Jerusalem are exorbitant, but for a minimal amount of effort, this could have been far more pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buznog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Staff was helpful. Rooms were very basic and not as clean as we would have liked. Typical uncomfortable Israeli beds. Fabulous location. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karmel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2010

The guest house is right in front of the Old City, and is also close to the pedestrian shoping/dining district. It seems that it is a college renting out their dormitory rooms, so we had 3 two-story beds in the roon, but no other people besides us. We also had personal updated shower and toilet rooms. We could hear pretty well the students wandering throught the corridors, but overall the place felt decent and safe because of their educational orientation.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We had struggled to find affordable acommodation in Jerusalem. We found Beit Shmuel online and weren't sure what to expect as it's not your standard accommodation option, but it was great. We had a huge twin room overlooking Jaffa Gate with a balcony. Good ensuite (although the shower was noisy - admittedly not a big problem). Staff were OK, but not overly friendly. The location was excellent, easy for walking to old city and shopping/bars/restaurants in the new - next to the new outdoor shopping mall. It has a peaceful courtyard with a small cafe/shop and tables & chairs. Breakfast was decent. There were some american teenagers on a course whilst we were there but they weren't disruptive. I would recommend Beit Shmuel if you want to stay in comfort, away from the backpackers, in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I'm writing this review mostly to help other travelers with deciphering Beit Shmuel's Room system - their website and several guidebooks lead you to believe that the 'guesthouse' is actually the new section with the nicer rooms. In fact, the guesthouse and hostel rooms are the same, and the hotel rooms (about $25/night more) are the nicer ones (we booked a guesthouse room thinking we were getting a hotel room, but got a hostel room until we pointed out the discrepancy on their website and they upgraded us). Having said that, the hotel room was decent - basic, but relatively clean and a good value. The location is terrific, a 5-minute walk from the Jaffa Gate.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kevkevsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Eldan Hotel
#27 of 99 in Jerusalem
683 reviews
David Citadel Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,939 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#10 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beit Shmuel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beit Shmuel Guest House

Property: Beit Shmuel Guest House
Address: 6 Shamai, Jerusalem 9463106, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Mammilla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beit Shmuel Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Beit Shmuel Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beit Shmuel Guest House Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing