We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beit Shmuel Guest House
Ranked #23 of 57 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

The guest house is right in front of the Old City, and is also close to the pedestrian shoping/dining district. It seems that it is a college renting out their dormitory rooms, so we had 3 two-story beds in the roon, but no other people besides us. We also had personal updated shower and toilet rooms. We could hear pretty well the students wandering throught the corridors, but overall the place felt decent and safe because of their educational orientation.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    21
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
22
14
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

We had struggled to find affordable acommodation in Jerusalem. We found Beit Shmuel online and weren't sure what to expect as it's not your standard accommodation option, but it was great. We had a huge twin room overlooking Jaffa Gate with a balcony. Good ensuite (although the shower was noisy - admittedly not a big problem). Staff were OK, but not overly friendly. The location was excellent, easy for walking to old city and shopping/bars/restaurants in the new - next to the new outdoor shopping mall. It has a peaceful courtyard with a small cafe/shop and tables & chairs. Breakfast was decent. There were some american teenagers on a course whilst we were there but they weren't disruptive. I would recommend Beit Shmuel if you want to stay in comfort, away from the backpackers, in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

I'm writing this review mostly to help other travelers with deciphering Beit Shmuel's Room system - their website and several guidebooks lead you to believe that the 'guesthouse' is actually the new section with the nicer rooms. In fact, the guesthouse and hostel rooms are the same, and the hotel rooms (about $25/night more) are the nicer ones (we booked a guesthouse room thinking we were getting a hotel room, but got a hostel room until we pointed out the discrepancy on their website and they upgraded us). Having said that, the hotel room was decent - basic, but relatively clean and a good value. The location is terrific, a 5-minute walk from the Jaffa Gate.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kevkevsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
502 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

We stayed here for 1 night with a family with 2 young children. We came by sherut from the airport and the driver knew exactly where it was. It is in the new part of Jerusalem but has a lovely view of the city walls. We arrived late but were able to eat dinner at a local shopping mall within 5 minutes walk. We had a very friendly welcome by the staff. Jerusalem accomodation was quite expensive in our experience. The room was very clean, but also very basic. They were able to provide a travel cot for our baby which was great. The breakfast was adequate but not great. There seemed to be a lot of construction work going on whilst we were there. We walked the next morning with all our baggage to Damascus gate which was not too far.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank highburychampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2010

this is a very popular hostel. we had large private room, just slightly worn, with small balcony and view of old city. the building is handsome. the breakfast excellent if institutional. there is a small cafe on site but not linked to the hostel billing service (cash only). location is perfect for Jaffo gate and King David Rd. staff is friendly but not too knowledgeable about bus routes (odd for a backpacker and up type clientele). room without carpet, smallish bath room, clean, inexpensive, room key not the never electronic card, luggage is stored in a common room (if that makes you anxious).
caution: we stayed in the "garden" portion; not the hostel, the rooms were perhaps $50 more and worth it. included breakfast.. concerts do occur here.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Beit Shmuel guest house two nights in May. The rooms and facilities were clean and spacious, and we had a great view of the Old City. Beit Shmuel has a lot happening - the hostel, cultural activies, bat mitzvah celebrations at nights (there was some late music coming from the courtyard). Breakfast was quite extensive, with breads, cereals, fruits, veggies, cheeses, and other items. This is not a luxury hotel, but certainly a very pleasant (and less expensive) alternative to downtown hotels. We had been booked at the hostel for two nights as well (more basic accomodations) but the room was not available due to needed repairs. The hotel staff already had us booked at the nearby Eldan hotel, for which we paid the agreed hostel rate (significantly lower than the regular rate). So plusses to them for dealing with a problem (not so much fun to find out about when we arrived at 2:00 AM,) but the arrangements were handled very professionally without any problems when by Beit Shmuel, and there were no problems with the bill.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtaba285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2008

The room was bare and basic (they describe it as luxurious: I dread to think about their hostel if this is luxury). No proper size
towels. Breakfast was basic and breakfast room dreary with dirty chairs. Staff was indiffernt, both reception and breakfast room.
The view was a joke- a new development, and even that was barely visibly behind a tiny, half blocked balcony.
Wouldn't dream of staying again.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Eldan Hotel
#24 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
David Citadel Hotel
#12 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beit Shmuel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beit Shmuel Guest House

Property: Beit Shmuel Guest House
Address: 6 Shamai, Jerusalem 9463106, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Mammilla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beit Shmuel Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beit Shmuel Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beit Shmuel Guest House Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing