We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware ... if you have allergies or chemical sensitivities”
Review of Gloria Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gloria Hotel
Ranked #36 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Despite the excellent location in the Old City steps away from the Jaffa Gate, and the attentive front desk staff and management, the use of scented laundry products and the spraying of a sickly sweet perfumed air freshener in the rooms and hallways made it almost unbearable for my companion and me. With increasing numbers of travelers suffering from allergies and chemical sensitivities to environmental pollutants, it's incomprehensible how some hotels continue to allow the use of scented detergents.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

Right at the Jaffa Gate and close to everything worth seeing and doing in Jerusalem. Helpful and friendly personel, good, service. Desent restaurant and comfortable rooms. There is also a roof terrace from which you have magnificent viuw over the city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The best part about this hotel is its location just next to the Jaffa gate inside the wall. From here you can easily walk to all sights. The rooms were clean, the heating worked well and the windows could be opened. Breakfast was good and there was a buffet dinner available at night, but we did not try it. A taxi or small van can drive to the entrance to the hotel. It is worth going up to the roof for views over the city especially for sunset. It was quiet here during the winter. The staff were helpful and friendly. While we were there we could see some renovations going on especially in the halls. There was not much provision to hang towels in the bathroom an extra towel rail would be a big improvement.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greynomad16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The pros:

Good location, in old Jerusalem, right beside the Jaffa gate and very near Mamilla shopping area. Great.

In general, clean and decent rooms and premises.

What I disliked the most:

Poor breakfast in a very outdated hall. Awful coffee, awful scrambled, undrinkable juices.

No staff attending the bar three out of four times I went there for a coffee. On top of this, breakfast served until 9,30 am only...

The exchange rate they apply if you do not pay in USD, unacceptable. Make sure you pay the bill in the same currency you made the reservation.

Apart from this, ok place...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iamfreetodowhatever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed here because our original booking was cancelled at the last minute by a hotel in Tel Aviv! It was a public holiday and to be honest it was the first place we walked into with availability. I thought that it was going to be too pricey considering its excellent location and really unique stone lobby but we were pleased that it was reasonable. The location really is special and whilst we were accommodated in an annexe to the hotel it was still a lovely spot. It is a little dated and the rooftop needs work as does the breakfast room but the staff were really friendly, room was clean and service was great.

Room Tip: Don't be put off if you are put in the annexe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosyspex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This was my second stay at the Gloria Hotel. My first stay was about 2 years before this. Overall a solid hotel. The location is absolutely unbeatable--right within the walls of the Old City by Jaffa Gate. The hotel has made a few improvements since the last time I was there--most notably, they now have a keyless entry system as opposed to the big keys they use to give guests. Rooms are large and decently kept. Hotel is very nice on the inside and in general fairly clean. Some of the rooms could really use a new coat of paint though. A fairly good value for the location and type of hotel. I would recommend to budget travelers and solo travelers.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
3  Thank hdt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't find much to complain about. The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect, right at the entrance to Jaffa Gate and is very close to some good restaurants (about 3 within 30 seconds walking distance). My room was simple but functional, a TV, heater/aircon and a good bathroom. Breakfast was pretty average, but at the same time tasty (random option of yoghurt with olives mixed in it!).
The only downside was the young lady who checked me out was a bit dim and did'nt really want to go out of her way to help (i needed USD change) and she also didn't know who I should pay for my tour. I would definitely stay at this place again though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaAngel001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#56 of 102 in Jerusalem
303 reviews
The Sephardic House
#53 of 102 in Jerusalem
145 reviews
Notre Dame Guest House
#18 of 102 in Jerusalem
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eldan Hotel
#30 of 102 in Jerusalem
750 reviews
Golden Walls Hotel
#52 of 102 in Jerusalem
232 reviews
Nachla'ot
Bezalel Hotel Jerusalem - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Hotel

Address: 33 Latin Patriarchate Street, Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: £83 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 104

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing