We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Hotel inside the Old City Walls”
Review of Gloria Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gloria Hotel
Ranked #32 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel inside the Old City Walls”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Our group of 15 retired military from the US and Russia stayed at this interesting hotel in the Christian Quarter converted from a 19th century Greek Hospital. The thick walls with arched passages in the hotel reminds you that you are in the old city. The staff, led by Samir, is polite, professional and helpful. Rooms were quiet, clean, modern, and comfortable, with bath, TV (English, German, Russian, and other languages), and wifi. Breakfast was included in our arrangement and it was quite good: buffet of eggs, sausages, fresh fruits, olives, tomatoes, breads, cheese, salads, etc.

Because we held daytime meetings in the sister hotel, Knight’s Palace, a 5 minute walk from the Gloria, we ate our lunches there. The buffet was very good with beef, potatoes, pasta, salads, desserts etc. You could eat all your meals in the hotel if you wanted but, there are several nearby restaurants that we ate at instead. We ate at Nafoura, Burghoulji, and the Armenian Tavern – all quite good.

Our group has met in several other cities (Istanbul, Larnaca and Lisbon) and we found the level of service and quality here to be equal to those or better - very good. Samir and the staff helped with guides, taxis, and other recommendations for our time in Jerusalem. I highly recommend the Gloria Hotel and its sister – the Knight’s Palace – for a stay in the Old City of Jerusalem.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    155
    43
    7
    10
See reviews for
55
74
54
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I stayed for 4 nights with a large group on pilgrimage. The location couldn't have been better; the praises others heap upon the hotel's position are well-deserved. Buffet breakfasts were substantial and evening meals plentiful (although beware the volume of salt in the soup!). The staff worked hard to make the stay as pleasant as possible, from the bell boys to the over-stretched bar staff (we were a thirsty lot).

The hotel's helpfulness didn't end when the tips were paid on departure. One couple in our group, on arriving home, realised they'd left some souvenirs behind in their room. They emailed the hotel, the gifts were found, posted on the Monday and arrived in the UK by Friday. That's service.

The building is charming, with some comfortable public spaces. Our room was delightful, the bathroom excellent, and the general atmosphere very pleasant. Although we were in the Old City, there was no noise to interrupt our sleep (apart from trolley cases being wheeled past by those with very early departures). I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Specify that you don't want a room in the Annexe. It's across the road. Rooms are good (alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bienypense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stayed here during the last week of February in anticipation of the Jerusalem Marathon on March 1. The location is great. West Jerusalem is just beyond the Jaffa Gate. The Holy Sepulchre is easily accessed through quiet streets. The owners are friendly and accommodating as they allowed me a late check out. Breakfast was always good and the view from the room is a great start to the day. It's a short walk to the light rail giving you access to all of Jerusalem. With its location just inside the gate, you can avoid most of the invitations to "come into my shop" that can become tiresome after a few days. Even walking into the lobby you sense this hotel is unique and not part of an international chain.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Ideally located just inside the Jaffa Gate and convenient for all of the historic sites in this exciting City, this hotel is well run, comfortable and good value. Breakfast and Dinner are both Buffet style with very fresh fruit and vegetables and a great selection of main courses. Staff are helpful and friendly and there is a good bar on the ground floor. Our room overlooked part of the old City wall and was quiet and well appointed. Take a bath plug with you as in spite of two requests to the front desk one was never provided and they seem difficult to obtain in Israel.The shower was quite adequate though. The money exchange nearby although convenient is owned by the proprietor of the shop selling 'precious' stone bracelets and necklaces opposite and neither provided pleasant or even fair experiences to naive tourists so avoid them!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Ideally situated as a base for exploring the Holy City of Jerusalem. My wife and I were part of a 20-strong group and enjoyed our time at the Gloria very much indeed. Staff are friendly and service-oriented - front desk is efficient and effective - everything 'works' as it should - meals are tasty and plentiful - food is of a good standard and wines and beers etc are of good standard and good value. Location is top-notch - you can virtually 'walk everywhere'' in Jerusalem from this convenient base.

Room Tip: We occupied room 171 on first floor - away from lift and 'passing traffic' - quiet and comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeromeBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Just inside the Jaffa Gate the location is great for exploring the old city. The Hotel itself is refurbished and comfortable, front of house staff were excellent and extremely helpful less so in the restaurant but certainly a great place to stay in Jerusalem. If you read the Lonely Planet guide there doesn't seem much to chose between the Gloria and the New Imperial, that's not the case the Gloria is a much more comfortable option.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roisn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan USA
Level Contributor
427 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I have stayed here several times. If location is everything... this is the place. Just inside the Jaffa Gate in the Old City. It just minutes from any location. The hotel has an old world feel. Rooms are simple but clean. Meals are simple but good. Book early it seems very popular.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#51 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
The Sephardic House
#49 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Notre Dame Guest House
#19 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eldan Hotel
#25 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
David Citadel Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Hotel

Property: Gloria Hotel
Address: 33 Latin Patriarchate Street, Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 104

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing