We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming cosy hotel with lovely staff”
Review of Gloria Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gloria Hotel
Ranked #33 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“charming cosy hotel with lovely staff”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed in a triple share room with my mother and sister for three nights and we all really enjoyed our stay.
The location is fantastic - in the Old City just inside the Jaffa Gate.
The hotel setting is charming in a beautiful old building with a warm foyer area and plenty of space to sit and plan your day.
The staff were all very friendly, especially Charlie who was extremely helpful when we were trying to choose what tours to do. He also advised us on the best way to transfer to the airport, where to get cabs from and making phone calls for us as we don't speak any Hebrew!

Our three single beds were very comfortable and we still had enough space for our luggage and to spread out some more. The heating was very efficient - we actually over heated and had to turn it off and open the window!

The wifi worked very well and was quite fast.
We felt safe in the hotel and it is up a side street that doesn't get too much foot traffic or vehicles so it was nice and quiet.

The only disappointment was the breakfast - rather minimal and the bread tasted like it was a few days old.

I would recommend staying there.

Tip: If you reach the hotel by taxi, get them to drop you off at the cab rank inside the Jaffa Gate at the bottom of the Tower of David. Our cab driver dropped us off on the road telling us that was as far as he could take us, leaving us with suitcases at the bottom of lots of steps! We did find ramps so it was no problem at all, only to discover taxis can enter as far as the inside of Jaffa Gate.

We also arranged a taxi to take us to Tel Aviv airport through the hotel for 85 USD and the driver came to the hotel's door so there was no hassle of carrying suitcases over cobblestones. Just make sure you have enough in cash to pay the driver.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripper1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    155
    43
    7
    10
See reviews for
55
74
54
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Our group of 10 spent two days here. It's a great location in the old city at the Jaffa Gate. It has a nice outdoor courtyard, inviting bar and large seated area where our group met to de-brief at night. My first room had an odd smell but the staff were quick to place me elsewhere. While I had an enjoyable sleep and the room was clean, the rooms do look a bit dated and would benefit from an upgrade. The breakfast included the standard cold selection of cheese and meats but also offered crepes! The dinner choices were limited and uninviting therefore I decided to pass. There is an upmarket shopping mall next to the Jaffa Gate that has dining options. Overall, while I enjoyed the location and found the staff to be friendly, I would be inclined to consider other hotel options.

Room Tip: Ask for the one with the only hotel balcony that overlooks the old walls of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RunnerJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We were really comfortable here, our room was large and well appointed and felt recently renovated. Apart from a slightly wayward shower rail! Which was quickly controlled. Staff were genuinely hospitable especially our favourite Charlie who was super sweet to us and helped us to decide on a tour of Masada. Breakfast I have to say was fairly basic but perfectly adequate. Would definitely recommend especially as its location is just inside the Jaffa gate and unbeatable for access to the old city.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelemmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The reception manager of the hotel was so helpful when we arrived drenched after a 36 hours of travelling - our rooms were allocated with 2 minutes of our arrival and our big surprise was that all our luggage was awaiting us by our doors already. No idea how that happened so quick...

We booked our small group from Sheffield through Lightline Pilgrimages in London. The hotel was perfect in every way and a lot more than what we expected - could not be more central - Just a minutes walk to Jaffa Gate and 7 minutes to the Holy Sepulchre.cash machines and shops just outside the hotel. Food was great, the dinning room was a bit dated, but had amazing views over the old city, but we were told later that a new swish restaurant is under construction but sadly will not have the views of the old city.... All our rooms were comfortable, clean and with full ensuite facilities including air-conditioning and heating. The hair dryer in our room didn't work, but I guess that is about 50% of all hotels in the world...
Overall I would give the Gloria 99% out of a possible 100% - Thank you and we have asked Lightline to repeat our tour in 2015 and the Gloria will be central to our stay in Jerusalem.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms overlooking the main street as it can be a bit noisy, but they are great during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Well it was a fairly average hotel as far as hotels are concerned. Rooms were average but clean, meals were average with not much range though good for a filling before a day tour. All in all our stay here was quite average until they lost all our clothes in their wash. When we went to investigate we had the laundry lady dump a pile of clothes on the table and tell us to find what's ours and leave the rest. Angered by this we demanded an explanation but were instead fed a story about how her children had no Christmas. To summarise, our clothes were gone and we received no reimbursement. Disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ejaytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is a great place if you are looking for something with a bit of character in the Old City. The rooms are fantastic, large and clean. Hotel staff are helpful and the location of the hotel is very good in the Old City near the Jaffa Gate. If you are wanting to stay in the Old City then this is a great option - it is not cheap but nothing is in the Old City. Keep in mind that the Old City is pretty quiet with not much activity at night so you will tend to eat outside of the walls - meaning for many people it may be an option to just visit the Old City during the day and stay outside somewhere cheaper and closer to restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

So happy to have found this lovely hotel. Fantastic location, friendly and helpful staff, and the hotel itself is charming. If you're looking for a glossy international business hotel with a huge breakfast and enormous bedrooms this might not be for you, but if you're on holiday and want a friendly and welcoming experience with free wi-fi, nice bathroom, comfortable room in a beautiful setting, this is the place for you. We were sad to leave!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#51 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
The Sephardic House
#49 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Notre Dame Guest House
#19 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eldan Hotel
#25 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
David Citadel Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Hotel

Property: Gloria Hotel
Address: 33 Latin Patriarchate Street, Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 104

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing